Skip to Content

Veterinarian

Occupation Veterinarian
Agency IDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation
Phone 217.782.8556
URL www.idfpr.com
Job Description An individual who directly or indirectly diagnoses, prognoses, treats, administers to, prescribes for, operates on, manipulates or applies any apparatus for any disease, pain, deformity, defect, injury, wound or physical or mental condition of any animal or bird or for the prevention of, or to test the presence of any disease of any animal or bird.
Statute The Veterinary Medicine and Surgery Practice Act of 2004, (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 2004 115/1 - 115/28, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1500
Type of Regulation License
Number Regulated 3,935
Age No requirement
Education/Experience
  1. High school graduate;
  2. Have received at least two (2) years of pre-veterinary collegiate training;
  3. Have graduated from a four (4) year school of veterinary medicine and surgery or its equivalent, approved by the Department of Professional Regulation (DPR);
  4. Applicants from a non-approved veterinary school are required to acquire certification from the Education Commission on Foreign Veterinary Graduates of the National Board of Veterinary Medicine Examiners (ECFVG) or the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE).
Exam North American Veterinary Licensing Examination. Given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc., P.O. Box 100, LaGrange, IL 60425, 800-359-1313, www.continentaltesting.net.
Exam Type Written
Administered Computerized
Exam Fee Contact CTS for dates and fees.
Passing Criteria Set by testing entity
Repeats NA
Continuing Education 40 hours of continuing education required during pre-renewal period.
Citizenship Must be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.
Other
Note Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.
Application Fee NA
License Fee $100.00 by examination; $100.00 by endorsement
Renewal Fee $100.00 every two years
Reinstatement Fee $10.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees (five years or less), $300.00 if lapsed more than five years
License Period Two years (All licenses expire January 31 of each odd numbered year.)
Reciprocity/Endorsement Yes.
  1. Have an active veterinarian license in U.S. jurisdiction;
  2. Must be of good moral character;
  3. Requirements for licensure in the U.S. jurisdiction of original licensure must have been substantially equivalent to the requirements then in effect in Illinois;
  4. If applicant is licensed in more than one U.S. jurisdiction, a certification of licensure must be submitted from the original jurisdiction of most recent active practice;
  5. Have fulfilled appropriate educational requirements as verified by certifications of education; 
  6. Have successfully completed substantially equivalent licensure examination and passing scores verified by Interstate Reporting Service or by certification of license from U.S. jurisdiction in which examinations were completed; 
  7. Graduates of non-approved programs of veterinary medicine must have obtained an ECFVG certificate and submit a copy.