Skip to Content

Humane Euthanasia Technician

Occupation Humane Euthanasia Technician
Agency IDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation
Phone 217.782.8556
Job Description A person who is employed by a licensed Humane Euthanasia Agency or works under the direct supervision of a veterinarian who administers euthanasia drugs to euthanize animals.
Statute The Humane Euthanasia in Animal Shelters Act (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 2002 72/1-72/180 inclusive) 68 Ill Adm. Code 1248
Type of Regulation License
Number Regulated
Age 18
Education/Experience None
Exam Certification as a technician from American Humane Association; National Animal Control Association
Exam Type Written
Administered When available via local organizations
Exam Fee
Passing Criteria Set by testing provider
Repeats Yes
Continuing Education No
Citizenship No requirement
Other Verification of fingerprint processing from the Illinois Department of State Police or its approved vendor.
Note Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.
Application Fee NA
License Fee $150.00
Renewal Fee $50.00
Reinstatement Fee $20.00 plus all lapsed payments not to exceed $300.00
License Period Two years (All licenses expire April 30 of even numbered years.)
Reciprocity/Endorsement Certification from original state of licensure and verification of fingerprint processing.