Skip to Content

Illinois & Chicago Metropolitan Area Unemployment Rates

Data Revisions as of February 2014

  • Seasonally adjusted data for years 2009-2013
  • Not seasonally adjusted for years 2009-2013
  • Annual average data for years 2009-2013

Monthly, Annual Data for Illinois

Monthly, Annual Data for Chicago-Joliet-Naperville Metropolitan Division

The Chicago-Joliet-Naperville Metropolitan Division includes Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, McHenry and Will Counties. The Chicago-Joliet-Metropolitan IL-IN-WI Metropolitan Statistical Area includes the Chicago-Joliet-Naperville Metropolitan Division, the Lake County-Kenosha County IL-WI Metropolitan Division and Gary, IN Metropolitan Division. Not seasonally adjusted data for Lake County-Kenosha County IL-WI Metropolitan Division and the Chicago-Joliet-Naperville IL-IN-WI Metropolitan Statistical Area will be available at the LMI Source Web page the day of the IDES sub-state news release (usually one week after the release of Illinois and Chicago-Joliet-Naperville Metropolitan Division data). Data for the Gary, IN Metropolitan Division may be obtained from either the State of Indiana or the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Web site

The area title for the Chicago-Naperville-Joliet Metropolitan Division changed to the Chicago-Joliet-Naperville Metropolitan Division, effective December 1, 2009. However, the geographic definition for this area did not change. For more information, view the U.S. Office of Management and Budget bulletin No. 10-02 at

 Additional Information