News and Announcements - Article

Federal Disaster Assistance to Help Unemployed


For Immediate Release | Greg Rivara, Media Contact: (312) 793-9635 

Residents in 11 Illinois Counties Might be Eligible

CHICAGO - Individuals and business owners out of work as a direct result of severe rain storms and flooding between April 16 and May 5 might be eligible for federal disaster unemployment assistance, the Illinois Department of Employment Security (IDES) said today.

The disaster unemployment assistance is part of a series of programs available after President Barack Obama agreed to Gov. Pat Quinn's request of a federal disaster declaration in the wake of rain, flooding and straight-line winds that destroyed at least 41 homes and severely damaged 761 others in an 11 county area. Damage assessments continue and additional requests for federal assistance are expected.

The counties declared disaster areas are Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will counties. Individuals whose employment or self-employment was lost or interrupted as a result of the rain and flooding might be eligible for financial assistance. The federal disaster declaration enables people in the area to access temporary housing, grants or loans to help with flood-related losses. Businesses might qualify for low-interest loans.

Applications are available at IDES offices. Office locations are below. Office locations also are available by calling IDES at (800) 244-5631 and at Internet access is available at Illinois libraries and WorkNet centers. Deadline to apply is June 19.

To apply, individuals will need their Social Security number; the name and address of their employer; and proof that flooding interrupted the opportunity to work. A copy of the most recent federal income tax forms or check stub might also be required. Self-employed individuals also should provide Schedules SE and Schedule C or Schedule F from their tax returns.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency designated this disaster FEMA-DR-4116. Individuals generally can receive benefits as long as their unemployment continues to be a result of the disaster. Eligibility for benefits will be determined on a week-to-week basis. Maximum eligibility is 29 weeks.

IDES supports economic stability by administering unemployment benefits, collecting business contributions to fund those benefits, connecting employers with qualified job seekers, and providing economic information to assist career planning and economic development.

Applications for DUA must be filed by Wednesday June 19. Details above.

To be eligible for DUA benefits under Presidential Disaster Declaration FEMA-DR-4116, individuals:

  • Must be an unemployed or self-unemployed whose unemployment was caused as a direct result of the major disaster declared by the President;
  • Must be a U.S. national or a qualified alien; and
  • Must not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits from any state; and
  • Must have worked or were self-employed in, or were scheduled to begin work or self-employment in, one of the counties listed above; and
  • Must establish that the work or self-employment they can no longer perform was their primary source of income.

Also eligible to apply for DUA are individuals who

  • Can no longer work or perform services because of physical damage or destruction to the place of employment as a direct result of a disaster; or
  • Cannot perform work or self-employment because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster; or
  • Became the breadwinner or major support of a household because the head of the household has died as a direct result of the disaster; or
  • Cannot work or perform self-employment due to a closure of a facility by the federal government.

Individuals will need their Social Security Number and the name and address of their last employer or prospective employer to file for DUA. Applicants are required to provide proof (at the time of filing or within 21 days of filing their DUA claim) that they were employed or self-employed at the time the disaster occurred or were scheduled to begin (or resume) a job or self-employment when the disaster occurred. A copy of the most recent federal income tax forms or check stubs may also be required (self-employed individuals should also provide Schedules SE and Schedule C or Schedule F.)

Applications filed after June 19, will be considered untimely unless the individual provides good cause. Individuals generally can receive up to 29 weeks of DUA benefits as long as his/her unemployment continues to be a result of the disaster. Eligibility for DUA benefits will be determined on a week-to-week basis.

Individuals who might be eligible for assistance must file a claim at their nearest Illinois Department of Employment Security office. Residents of the above counties are served by the following IDES offices, which are open from Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

IDES Office Locations:

2444 W. Lawrence Ave., Chicago

715 E. 47th St., Chicago

1700 W. 18th St., Chicago

1515 E. 71st St., Chicago

4931 W. Diversey, Chicago

837 W. 119th St., Chicago

5608 W. 75th Place, Burbank.

1010 Dixie Highway, Chicago Heights

16845 S. Halsted, Harvey

35 S. 19th Avenue, Maywood.

321 Quadrangle Drive, Boilingbrook

250 N. Chicago St., Joliet

723 W. Algonquin, Arlington Heights

800 Lancer Lane, Grayslake,

30 DuPage Court, Elgin

2 Smoke Tree Plaza, North Aurora

500 Russel Court, Woodstock

837 S. Westmore-Meyers, Lombard

1550 First Avenue, South Towne, Ottawa

406 Elm Street, Peoria

Other IDES offices can be found at

Five Federal/State Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) have been opened thus far.

They are operated jointly by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency. They will operate from 9 a.m.-7 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

DuPage County

Lisle Police Deparment

5040 Lincoln Avenue

Lisle, Ill. 60532

Grundy County

Morris Fire Department

2301 Ashton Road

Morris, Ill. 60450

Fulton County

Fulton County Health Department

700 E Oak St

Canton, Ill. 61520

LaSalle County

Marseilles Fire Department

205 Lincoln Street

Marseilles, Ill.61341

Cook County

Forest View Fire Department

7010 W. 46th St.

Forest View, Ill. 60402