News and Announcements - Article

Federal Disaster Assistance to Help Unemployed


For Immediate Release | Greg Rivara, Media: (312) 793-9635  PDF version​

Residents in Eight Additional Illinois Counties Might be Eligible

CHICAGO - Individuals and business owners out of work as a direct result of severe rain storms and flooding between April 16 and May 5 might be eligible for federal disaster unemployment assistance, the Illinois Department of Employment Security (IDES) said today.

The disaster unemployment assistance is part of a series of programs available after President Barack Obama agreed to Gov. Pat Quinn's request of a federal disaster declaration in the wake of rain, flooding and straight-line winds. U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL), Mark Kirk (R-IL,) and Illinois' entire congressional delegation supported Governor Quinn's request for federal assistance.

The eight counties added to the earlier lists are Brown, Calhoun, Clark, Douglas, Henry, Pike, Whiteside and Winnebago. Fourteen counties added to the initial list are Bureau, Crawford, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Peoria, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell and Woodford. The 11 counties initially declared disaster areas are Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will counties. Individuals whose employment or self-employment was lost or interrupted as a result of the rain and flooding might be eligible for financial assistance. The federal disaster declaration enables people in the area to access temporary housing, grants or loans to help with flood-related losses. Businesses might qualify for low interest loans.

Applications are available at IDES offices. Office locations are below. Office locations also are available by calling IDES at (800) 244-5631 and at Internet access is available at Illinois libraries and WorkNet centers. Deadline to apply for the 11 counties in the initial declaration is June 19. Deadline to apply for the 14 counties in the second announcement is June 23. Deadline to apply for the eight counties in the third announcement is July 12.

To apply, individuals will need their Social Security number; the name and address of their employer; and proof that flooding interrupted the opportunity to work. A copy of the most recent federal income tax forms or check stub might also be required. Self-employed individuals also should provide Schedules SE and Schedule C or Schedule F from their tax returns. The Federal Emergency Management Agency designated this disaster FEMA-DR-4116. Individuals generally can receive benefits as long as their unemployment continues to be a result of the disaster. Eligibility for benefits will be determined on a week-to-week basis. Maximum eligibility is 29 weeks.

Applications for first DUA announcement must be filed by Wednesday June 19. Details above.

Applications for second DUA announcement must be filed by Sunday June 23. Details above.

Applications for third DUA announcement must be filed by Thursday July 11. Details above.

To be eligible for DUA benefits under Presidential Disaster Declaration FEMA-DR-4116, individuals:

  • Must be an unemployed or self-unemployed whose unemployment was caused as a direct result of the major disaster declared by the President;
  • Must be a U.S. national or a qualified alien; and
  • Must not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits from any state; and
  • Must have worked or were self-employed in, or were scheduled to begin work or self-employment in, one of the counties listed above; and
  • Must establish that the work or self-employment they can no longer perform was their primary source of income.

Also eligible to apply for DUA are individuals who

  • Can no longer work or perform services because of physical damage or destruction to the place of employment as a direct result of a disaster; or
  • Cannot perform work or self-employment because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster; or
  • Became the breadwinner or major support of a household because the head of the household has died as a direct result of the disaster; or
  • Cannot work or perform self-employment due to a closure of a facility by the federal government.

Individuals will need their Social Security Number and the name and address of their last employer or prospective employer to file for DUA. Applicants are required to provide proof (at the time of filing or within 21 days of filing their DUA claim) that they were employed or self-employed at the time the disaster occurred or were scheduled to begin (or resume) a job or self-employment when the disaster occurred. A copy of the most recent federal income tax forms or check stubs may also be required (self-employed individuals should also provide Schedules SE and Schedule C or Schedule F.)

Applications filed after June 19, will be considered untimely unless the individual provides good cause. Individuals generally can receive up to 29 weeks of DUA benefits as long as his/her unemployment continues to be a result of the disaster. Eligibility for DUA benefits will be determined on a week-to-week basis.

Individuals who might be eligible for assistance must file a claim at their nearest Illinois Department of Employment Security office. Residents of the above counties are served by the following IDES offices, which are open from Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

IDES Office Locations and at

  • 2444 W. Lawrence Ave., Chicago
  • 715 E. 47th St., Chicago
  • 1700 W. 18th St., Chicago
  • 1515 E. 71st St., Chicago
  • 4931 W. Diversey, Chicago
  • 837 W. 119th St., Chicago
  • 5608 W. 75th Place, Burbank.
  • 1010 Dixie Highway, Chicago Heights
  • 16845 S. Halsted, Harvey
  • 35 S. 19th Avenue, Maywood.
  • 723 W. Algonquin, Arlington Heights
  • 207 E. Hamilton Road, Bloomington
  • 321 Quadrangle Drive, Boilingbrook
  • 23111 Hoffman Drive, Effingham
  • 30 DuPage Court, Elgin
  • 800 Lancer Lane, Grayslake,
  • 250 N. Chicago St., Joliet
  • 837 S. Westmore-Meyers, Lombard
  • 2 Smoke Tree Plaza, North Aurora
  • 1550 First Avenue, South Towne, Ottawa
  • 406 Elm Street, Peoria
  • 107 N. Third St., Quincy
  • 500 42nd St., Suite 1, Rock Island
  • 500 Russel Court, Woodstock

Five Federal/State Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC) have been opened thus far. They are operated jointly by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency. They will operate from 9 a.m.-7 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Cook County

Forest View Fire Department

7010 W. 46th St.

Forest View, Ill. 60402

1486 Miner St.

Des Plaines, Ill. 60016

North Park Village

5801 N. Pulaski


DuPage County

Lisle Police Department

5040 Lincoln Avenue

Lisle, Ill. 60532

Fulton County

Fulton County Health Dept.

700 E Oak St.

Canton, Ill. 61520

Grundy County

Morris Fire Department

2301 Ashton Road

Morris, Ill. 60450

LaSalle County

Marseilles Fire Department

205 Lincoln Street

Marseilles, Ill.61341

Peoria County

Peoria County Emergency Management Agency

Chillicothe Fire Department

217 W. Chestnut


Rock Island County

Rock Island County Emergency Management Agency

6120 78th Ave.


Woodford County

Woodford County Emergency Management

301 S. Main St.


- END -