Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
  
Attachments
  
  
  
  
  
Job Description
  
  
  
  
Education/Experience
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
Content
  
  
  
  
  
Audiometric TechnicianDepartment of Public Health217.782.4733www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who provides a hearing screening on preschool and school-age children.
P.A. 81-174 Admin. Code ch. I S675 sub ch. JCertification2,500 active (approximate)18 or older
High school diploma or equivalent; and,Completion of a 3 1/2-day hearing training course given by the Department of Public Health.
Hearing Training Course Final ExaminationWritten/performance (hands-on)Classes start in September and end in March. Exam given at each class.$150.00 materials fee per classGrade of 80% or higher plus satisfactory practicum performanceOneNo requirementNo requirementCertificate renewable on three year basis by attending Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) sponsored workshop.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00Three yearsNo
2AA#
  
Authorized AgentRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
A person appointed by a licensed owner or trainer to act on their behalf in racing matters not directly related to the care and training of horses.
Section 15 authorized by section 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9(b))License15618
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Submit with the license application a written agency appointment (forms provided by the board) authorizing the applicant to act on their behalf and defining the powers, limits, and terms of the agency. The authorization shall be signed by the principal anLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), and $2.00 ID badge)One year unless the principal submits written and notarized notification of revocation of the agency appointment to the stewards at the meeting where the principal is racing.No. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
3AA#
  
Automotive Parts RecyclerSecretary of State217.782.7817www.sos.state.il.us
An individual in the business of acquiring previously owned vehicles and vehicle parts for the primary purpose of disposing the parts of vehicles.
625 ILCS 5/5 - 301License790No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementMust annually register and file with the Secretary of State, on forms provided by that office, a statement declaring the bank or savings and loan association in which it maintains a separate account for customer funds.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00One year (January - December)No
4AA#
  
Asbestos Management PlannerDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
An individual licensed by the department to prepare asbestos management plans pursuant to the Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act and Code for schools (kindergarten through 12th grade).
Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, 105 ILCS 105/et. seq. seq./77 Ill. Admin. Code Sec 855.100License18718 years or older
Successful completion of IDPH-accredited inspector and management planner training courses. If the initial courses have expired, the applicant shall successfully complete IDPH-accredited inspector and management planner refresher courses and meet one of the following criteria:Submit a copy of either an Illinois Architect License, an Illinois Professional Engineer License, an Illinois Structural Engineer License, or an Illinois Industrial Hygienist License; or,Submit a copy of transcripts and evidence of completion of a bachelor's degree or higher in architecture, engineering, mathematics, or science, and meet the experience requirements of a licensed inspector; or,Submit a copy of transcripts and evidence of completion of a bachelor's degree and written verification of 2,080 hours of experience in asbestos inspections, project management, project design or other asbestos management and control activities. Submit two 1' X 1' photographs (head and shoulders only) for proper identification of the licensee. Photographs shall be original, clear, and current color pictures of the applicant with their name printed on the back.
Building Inspector, Management PlannerWrittenAt the end of the building inspector and management planner training coursesIncluded with the cost of the training course70% or betterTwo timesAnnual IDPH-accredited 1/2-day management planner and building inspector refresher coursesNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00$15.00 duplicate license fee, $15.00 late fee$100.00One yearOut-of-state residents applying for initial licensure in Illinois may receive reciprocity by submitting USEPA or other state-accredited initial training course certificates and meeting the license requirements of Section 855.100.
5AA#
  
AudiologistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who is trained to apply non-medical methods and procedures in the identification, measurement, testing, appraisal, prediction, habilitation, rehabilitation, or instruction related to hearing and the disorders of hearing. The practice of audiology includes any tasks, procedures or act that is necessary for evaluation, hearing or vestibular function.
Illinois Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Practice Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1991, ch. 111, par. 7901-7934) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1465License78621
Must have received a master's degree in audiology from a program approved by the Department of Professional Regulation (DPR);Proof of successful completion of the National Examination in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (PRAXIS) or certification from the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA);Proof of equivalent of nine months of full-time, supervised professional experience.
National Examination in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (PRAXIS). Administered by the Education Testing Service; P.O. Box 911, Princeton, NJ 08541; (609) 771-7395.Written/nationalScore of 60020 hoursLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$90.00 by acceptance of exam; $100.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo years (All licenses expire on October 31 of each odd numbered year.)Yes. Applicant must meet the regular age, education, experience, citizenship, and exam requirements plus provide proof of current licensure from the jurisdiction in which the applicant is presently practicing.
6AA#
  
Barber TeacherIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
<p>'An individual who provides instruction in the theory and practice of barbering, which includes styling, arranging, dressing, curling, waving, straightening, cleaning, singeing, epilating, depilating, shampooing, marcelling, chemical restructuring, bleaching, tinting, coloring or similar work upon the hair or cranial prosthesis of any person; shaving or trimming the beard of any person; and giving relaxing facial or scalp massages or treatments with oils, creams or other preparations either by hand or by mechanical appliances.</p><p>The individual may also practice as a barber.</p>
The Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, and Nail Technology Act; (225 ILCS, 1996 410/1-1 -410/4-23, Inclusive 68 Ill. Admin. Code 1175)License14818
Must be of good moral character;High school graduate or equivalent;Must hold an unencumbered active barber license;Three (3) years of practical experience as a barber;500 hours of teacher training in an approved barber school extending over a period of not less than three (3) months and not more than two (2) years or 1,000 hours of teachers training extending over a period of not less than six (6) months nor more than two (2) years in an approved barber school.
Barber Licensing Exam. Vendor: the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology Inc. (NICS). Administered by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.WrittenSix times per year (alternating between Chicago and Springfield). Exam is available in Spanish version in Chicago only.$118.4575%No retake or re-qualification requirementsNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00 by examination; $45.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus all lapsed fees not to exceed $135.00Two yearsYes. Requirements which were in force in the applicant's original jurisdiction of licensure must be substantially equivalent to those then in force in Illinois, or three (3) years of lawful practice.
7BB#
  
Blacksmith (Farrier)Racing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
An individual who provides shoeing and hoof care for horses.
Section 15 authorized by Section 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License5316
An applicant for a license shall have been licensed previously by the board or another racing jurisdiction and shall establish by demonstration to the stewards or their designees that the applicant has the knowledge and skills of a farrier.
No state test required since repeal of legislation (10/1/81).No requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Submit with the license application a written agency appointment (forms provided by the board) authorizing the applicant to act on their behalf and defining the powers, limits, and terms of the agency. The authorization shall be signed by the principal anLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
8BB#
  
Blacksmith (Farrier), ApprenticeRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
An individual learning the trade of shoeing and hoof care for horses.
Section 15 authorized by Section 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License016
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
9BB#
  
Blaster Certificate HolderDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.9976www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person who supervises blasting operations at surface coal mining operations is required to obtain a certificate.
The Surface Coal Mining Land Conservation and Reclamation Act 225 ILCS 720/3.13(4), 62 Ill. Adm. Code 1850CertificateApproximately 70Must be at least 21 years old.
Must have not been convicted of a felony within the last five (5) years;Must have not been a patient in a mental institution within the past five (5) years;Must have proof of at least two (2) years blasting experience; and,Must provide proof of training in 22 required subject areas.
Written70% or betterCertificate requirements and exam administration are subject to change.Five yearsA six month temporary license can be obtained with a blaster certificate from another state having a federal Office of Surface Mining approved program.
10BB#
  
Blaster License HolderDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.9976www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person who supervises blasting operations at aggregate surface mining operations is required to obtain a license.
The Surface-Mined Land Conservation and Reclamation Act 225 ILCS 715/6.5(a)(3), 62 Ill. Adm. Code 300LicenseApproximately 250Must be at least 21 years old.
Has not willfully violated the Act;Has not made a material misstatement on the application;Has not been declared incompetent;&nbsp;Does not abuse alcohol or drugs;&nbsp;Has not been convicted of a felony within the last five (5) years;&nbsp;Is not a fugitive from justice;&nbsp;Has proof of blasting experience (two (2) years general blasting experience or detailed involvement with at least 120 blasts); and,&nbsp;Has provided proof of training in 20 required subject areas.
Written70% or betterLicensure requirements, licensure fees, and exam administration are subject to change.$75.00Five yearsA six month temporary license can be obtained with a blaster license from another state.
11BB#
  
Boiler Inspector, DeputyState Fire Marshal217.785.1010www.state.il.us/osfm
An individual who inspects boilers and pressure vessels to assure safety in regards to installation, operation, and repairs.
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety Act ch. 111-1/2 par. 3201-3217Certification18No requirement
Five years experience in the construction, maintenance, repair or operation of high-pressure boilers and unfired pressure vessels as a mechanical engineer steam engineer, boilermaker, or boiler inspector.
National Board Exam for Boiler and Pressure Vessel InspectorsWrittenFirst Wednesday and Thursday in March, June, September, and December70% or moreThree times in a calendar yearNo requirementNo requirementSee Section 7 &amp; 8 of the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety Act.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.One yearYes, provided they have passed the National Board Exam in another state, an Illinois Competency may be issued.
12BB#
  
Boiler Inspector, SpecialState Fire Marshal217.785.1010www.state.il.us/osfm
An individual who inspects boilers and pressure vessels to assure safety in regards to installation, operation, and repairs for authorized insurance companies.
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety Act ch. 111-1/2 par. 3201-3217Certification300+No requirement
National Board Exam for Boiler and Pressure Vessel InspectorsWrittenFirst Wednesday and Thursday in March, June, September and December$30.0070% or moreMay appeal to boiler board for another examination, which shall be given by the board within 90 days.No requirementNo requirementMust be employed by an insurance company authorized to insure against loss from explosion of boilers or to self-insure against such loss.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$40.00$40.00One yearYes, provided the person holds a certificate of competency as an inspector of boilers or pressure vessels from a state that requires passage of the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors Exam.
13BB#
  
Breath Alcohol Analysis TechnicianState Police217.786.6925www.isp.state.il.us
A person in authority and competent to install, examine, certify, verify, repair, maintain, and check the accuracy of approved evidentiary instruments; create accuracy check records and service records; and administer written and proficiency exams for Breath Analysis Operators.
Illinois Vehicle Code Section 11.501.2, ch. 95 1/2License20No requirement
Employed by a law enforcement agency;Licensed as a Breath Analysis Operator; andHave received additional specialized training by manufacturers in the repair and maintenance of breath analysis instruments.
Breath Analysis Operator (BAO)&nbsp;Proficiency evaluation on each approved evidentiary instrumentWritten; Performance hands-on demonstration of each approved instrumentBy instructor, technician, and/or manufacturer of breath analysis instrumentsNone70% - Must answer 35 out of 50 questions correctly (BAO).Yes; no restrictionsInstruction in repair and maintenance of approved breath analysis instrumentsYesLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.
14BB#
  
Broker, Meat/Poultry/Meat and PoultryDepartment of Agriculture217.782.6684www.agr.state.il.us
Any person engaged in buying and re-selling meat and poultry products without altering the products in any matter.
Ch. 650/3License708No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00$100.00 Late feeOne year (July 1 - June 30)No
15BB#
  
Bulk Milk Hauler/SamplerDepartment of Public Health217.785.2439www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who drives a bulk milk pickup tanker, collects samples of raw milk, measures quantity of milk in tank, determines if milk meets odor, temperature, and appearance criteria prior to transferring milk from farm bulk tank to tanker truck. Delivers milk to dairy processing plant or transfer station.
Grade A Pasteurized Milk and Milk Products Act, 410 ILCS 635; Grade A Pasteurized Milk and Milk Products, 77 Ill Adm. Code 775License365No requirement
No requirement
Bulk Milk Hauler/SamplerWritten/performance (hands-on)On demand70%Repeats allowed. Number of times not specified.No requirementNo requirementMust have required drivers license.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00One yearNo
16BB#
  
Business BrokersSecretary of State217.782.2256www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/securities/home.html
Persons who, in return for a fee, commission, or other compensation from any person who is domiciled in the State of Illinois, promises to procure a business or assist in the procurement of a business, negotiates offers, buys, sells, or otherwise deals in options on businesses, or assists or directs the procurement of prospects intended to result in the purchase, sale, exchange of a business, or advertises or represents himself as a business broker must be registered as a business broker with the Secretary of State, unless exempt under law.
Illinois Business Brokers Act of 1995 (815 ILCS 307/10-1)Registration44018
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$200.00 plus $50.00 for each person (in excess of 2) who is engaged in business brokering for the firm.Calendar yearNo
17BB#
  
Certified Livestock ManagerDepartment of Agriculture217.785.2427www.agr.state.il.us
Any person certified by the Department of Agriculture to operate a livestock waste handling facility.
510 ILCS 77/10.15, 30; 8 IAC 900.901Certification1,200No requirement
No formal educational requirements, however,If the facility size is less than 1,000 animal units, the applicant may either complete the approved training course or successfully complete the exam;If the facility size is equal to or greater than 1,000 animal units, the applicant must complete both the approved training course and the exam.
WrittenDuring a clinic or scheduled appointment in the Springfield or DeKalb officesNone70%No limitNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$10.00Three years
18CC#
  
Certified Nursing AssistantDepartment of Public Health217.785.5133www.idph.state.il.us/nar
A person who assists with the personal or nursing care of an individual.
Home Health Agency Licensing Act 210 ILCS 55; Illinois Home Health Agency Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 245, Nursing Home Care Act, 210 ILCS 45; Ill Adm. Code 395Registration270,00016
Completion of eight (8) years of grade school or proof of equivalent knowledge; and,Successful completion of approved basic nursing assistant training program or equivalent training.
Manual Skills Competency Examination (MSCE),Written Competency Examination (WCE)Written/performance (hands-on)a. MCSE: after successful completion of program,b. WCE: through Illinois community colleges statewide on a monthly basisa. MCSE: no fee,b. WCE: $60.00 (subject to change)StandardizedThree (3) repeatsNo requirementNo requirementIllinois State Police criminal background check with no disqualifying convictions unless a waiver is granted and no administrative findings of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of resident property.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Indefinite so long as aide does not have a continuous period of 24 consecutive months that he/she does not work for pay providing nursing related services.Yes, under the following condition: Must meet federal standards. Documentation of current registration from another state indicating the federal requirements (42 CFR 483.151-483.156 October 1, 1997) have been met and there are no documented findings of ab
19CC#
  
Child Care Director (Day Care Center)Department of Children and Family Services217.785.2688www.state.il.us/dcfs
An individual responsible for the planning and supervision of programs and activities for children, orientation of new staff, on-site supervision of all staff, and provision of on-going, in-service training to each staff member.
Rule 407, Licensing Standards Day Care CentersApproval of employment at a licensed facility2,983 Licensed Day Care Centers21
High school diploma or equivalency certificate;The child care director of a facility serving the same number of groups of pre-school and school-age children or more groups of pre-school children than groups of school-age children must meet one of the following:Sixty semester hours of credit from an accredited college or university with 18 semester hours in courses related directly to child care and/or child development from birth to age six.Two years of child development experience in a nursery school, kindergarten, or licensed day care center, 30 semester hours of college credits with ten semester hours in courses related directly to child care and/or child development, and proof of enrollment in an accredited college or university until two years of college credit have been achieved. A total of 18 semester hours in courses related directly to child care and/or child development is required to be obtained within the total two years of college credits.Completion of a Child Development Associate credential from the Council for Early Childhood Professional Recognition or the Certified Childcare Professional credential from the National Child Care Association; the completion of 12 semester hours in courses related to child care and/or child hours) child development experience in a nursery school, kindergarten or licensed day care center;The child care director of a facility serving more groups of school-age children than groups of pre-school children must meet one of the following:Sixty semester hours of credit from an accredited college or university with 18 semester hours in courses related to child care and/or child development, elementary education, physical education, recreation, camping or other related fields, including courses related to school-age children.Two years of child development experience in a recreational program, kindergarten, or licensed day care center serving school-age children or license exempt school-age child care program operated by a public or private school, 30 semester hours of college credits with ten semester hours in courses related directly to child care and/or child development, elementary education, physical education, recreation, camping or other related fields, and proof of enrollment in an accredited college or university until two years of college credit have been achieved. A total of 18 semester hours (or 27 quarter hours) in courses related directly to child care and/or child development, elementary education, physical education, recreation, camping, or other related fields, including courses related to school-age children, is required to be obtained within the total two years of college credits;Completion of a training program accredited by the American Montessori Society or Association Montessori International may be substituted for the courses directly related to child care and/or child development. Persons holding a Montessori pre-primary credential may serve as director to children through age six. Persons holding a Montessori primary or elementary credential may serve as director to children six years of age or older.
No written exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementDepartment review and approval of qualifications (transcript/CDA certificate and history of employment)Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No
20CC#
  
Child Care Supervisor (Institution, Group Home)Department of Children and Family Services217.785.2509www.state.il.us/dcfs
An individual assigned to supervise childcare workers in a licensed residential facility.
Rule 403: Licensing Standards for Group Homes; Rule 404: Licensing Standards for Child Care Institutions and Maternity CentersApproval of employment at a licensed facilityUnknown25
Two years of college credits;Two years of experience in a residential child care program.
No requirementNo requirementReview of qualificationsLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No
21CC#
  
Child Care Worker (Institution, Group Home)Department of Children and Family Services217.785.2509www.state.il.us/dcfs
An individual assigned to directly supervise a group of children in a licensed residential facility.
Rule 403: Licensing Standards for Group Homes; Rule 404: Licensing Standards for Child Care Institutions and Maternity CentersApproval of employment at a licensed facilityUnknown18 (21 - If there is no on-site supervisor.)
High school diploma or equivalent
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementReview of qualificationsLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No
22CC#
  
Child Care/Habilitation AideDepartment of Public Health217.785.5133www.idph.state.il.us/nar
Any individual who assists with the personal, medical or nursing care of a person.
Nursing Home Care Act, 210 ILCS 45; 77 Ill. Adm. Code 395RegistrationUnknown - a portion of Health Care Worker Registry16
Eight (8) years of grade school or equivalent;120-155 hours training course; and,Pass a written and manual skills competency evaluation.
No exam requirementNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.IndefiniteYes. Must meet state standards.
23CC#
  
Child Welfare Supervisor (Child Welfare Agency)Department of Children and Family Services217.785.2688www.state.il.us/dcfs
An individual responsible for supervising child care workers and/or licensing workers in a child welfare agency.
Rule 401: Licensing Standards for Child Welfare AgenciesApproval for employment in a licensed child welfare agencyUnknownNo requirement
Master's of social work degree from an accredited school of social work or an equivalent master's degree in a human services field from an accredited school;Two years of full-time supervised experience in a social work setting.
No written exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementReview of qualifications through transcripts and employment historyLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No
24CC#
  
Child Welfare Worker (Child Welfare Agency)Department of Children and Family Services217.785.2688www.state.il.us/dcfs
Child welfare workers perform administrative duties, supervise placement of children, evaluate goals for placement, prepare progress reports, provide services to family members and siblings, recommend discharge or placement of children, and keep required records.
Rule 401: Licensing Standards for Child Welfare AgenciesApproval for employment in a licensed child welfare agency257 licensed child welfare agenciesNo requirement
Bachelor's degree from an accredited school
No written exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementReview of qualifications through transcriptsLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No
25CC#
  
Chiropractic PhysicianIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who treats human ailments without the use of drugs and without operative surgery.
Medical Practice Act of 1987 (Ill. Compiled Stat. 1996, pars. 60/1 - 60/63); and Rules for the Administration of the Medical Practice Act of 1987 (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1285)License4,019No requirement
A course of instruction, prerequisite to professional training in a liberal arts college;Official transcript and certification from a chiropractic college accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of the Council of Chiropractic Education for all graduates after 08/19/81.
National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE). Three parts: I. Basic Sciences (6 subject exams) II. Clinical Sciences (6 subject exams) III. Clinical Competency Exam, Exam given by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners; 1610 29th Avenue, Greeley,WrittenMarch and SeptemberContact NBCEAn equated score of 375 on each examYes. Parts I and II may be taken three times within three years; after the third repeat, additional schooling is required to re-qualify for the examination. Part III has no limit on retakes.The Act requires 150 hours of continuing education per license renewal cycle.No requirementMust be of good moral character.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$300.00 By acceptance of examination$100.00 Plus all lapsed renewal fees; not to exceed $700.00All licenses expire July 31, and every three years thereafter regardless of date of issuance.Yes.Endorsement applicant must be a graduate of a chiropractic program reputable and in good standing in the judgment of DPR at the time of graduation;Submit certification of licensure for the state of original licensure;Requirements for registration in t
26CC#
  
Chiropractor Visiting ProfessorIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who maintains an equivalent authorization in his/her native licensing jurisdiction during the period of the visiting professor permit to practice the treatment of human ailments without the use of drugs and without operative surgery and has received a faculty appointment to teach in a chiropractic school in Illinois.
Medical Practice Act of 1987 (Ill. Compiled Stat. 1996, par 60/1 - 60/63); and Rules for the Administration of the Medical Practice Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1285)Permit0No requirement
Must have a current and valid license from the jurisdiction of original licensure;Statement, signed by the dean of a program of medicine in another jurisdiction, that applicant was qualified and held professor status in program;Must submit copy of curriculum vitae; d. Dean of program of medicine must provide proof of faculty appointment, term of appointment and the nature of the educational service.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementMust be of good moral characterLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$300.00Two years (initial permit)No
27CC#
  
Coal Mine Worker (First Class Worker Certificate of Competency)Department of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
A person who is employed to mine coal at an underground coal mine must obtain initial certification. No worker can perform work other than labor work at the face (coal extraction) of an underground coal mine without first obtaining this certificate.
The Coal Mining Act 225 ILCS 705/8.09CertificationMust be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.
One (1) year experience at face of coal mine; need only six (6) months experience in coal mine with an associate degree in coal mining technology;First Aid and Modified Mine Rescue Training Certificate issued by the State of Illinois or a valid 5000-23 form;Proof of experience letter from coal mine(s) where applicant has been employed, stating dates and job classifications held during these employment dates.
First Class Certificate of CompetencyOralMonthlyNone ($2.00 charge for duplicate face papers)75%MonthlyNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No expirationNo
28CC#
  
Commercial Driver (Truck and Bus Operator)Secretary of State847.981.7455www.cyberdriveillinois.com
An individual who operates a vehicle that is over 26,001 lbs. (single unit or combination unit) and is designed to transport property or sixteen or more passengers.
Ch. 95 1/2, sect. 6-500 et.seq, and sect. 18 (c) et.seq. Illinois Vehicle CodeLicense400,000 (estimated)18 (for hire, intra-state) 21 (transport passengers and interstate driving)
No requirement
Commercial Driver's License TestWritten: various written tests, depending upon the type of vehicle for which the applicant is seeking a license. Performance (hands-on): various skills tests, depending upon the type of vehicle for which the applicant is seeking a license. Vision test.Monday thru Saturday$50.0080% of written questions correct and passage of all skills tests3No requirementMust live in IllinoisLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$60.00Various. Reinstatement fees may be required, depending upon the basis for the license sanction.Four yearsYes. Reciprocity requires a valid commercial drivers license from another state, rules of road test, vision test and all written tests and pretrip, skill, and drive tests. Hazardous materials, tanker, passenger, double and triple trailer requires endorsem
29CC#
  
Commercial Driver Training School OwnerSecretary of State847.981.7455www.cyberdriveillinois.com
Any person who engages in the business of giving driver training instruction for hire or for a fee, or prepares an applicant for an examination given by the Secretary of State for a driver's license or permit.
Ch. 95 1/2, sect. 6-401, et.seq., Illinois Vehicle Code and 92 Ill. Adm. Code 1060.5-1060.200License81Applicant(s) must be at least 21 years old.
High school diploma or equivalent
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementApplicant(s) must be of good moral character.Maintain an established place of business open to the public.Maintain bodily injury and property damage liability insurance on all vehicles used for instruction.Post $20,000 surety bond.Maintain a business teleLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$500.00$500.00Two yearNo
30CC#
  
Commercial Fisherman, Resident and Non-ResidentDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual who uses any of the commercial fishing devices such as hoop nets and basket traps for the taking of any aquatic life, except mussels.
Illinois Conservation Law - Commercial Fishing ILCS ch. 515 par 5/15 - 45License1,854 Resident, 20 Non-residentNo requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementOne year for resident licenseLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$35.00 Resident, $150.00 Non-residentOne year (April 1 - March 31 of each year)No
31CC#
  
Commercial MusselorDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any individual who takes mussels by hand, crowfoot bar, or handfork where permitted.
Illinois Conservation Law, Commercial Fishing ILCS ch. 515 par. 5/20-45(E)-5/15-35-5/15-55License1,500No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementOne year Illinois residentLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00April 15 - August 31 or whenever musselling season is scheduledNo
32CC#
  
CosmetologistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
<p>An individual who, for cosmetic or beautifying purposes, performs services with hands or mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances. Arranging, braiding, dressing, cutting, trimming, curling, waving, chemical restructuring, shaping, singeing, bleaching, coloring or similar work on the hair of the head or cranial prosthesis of any person. Manicuring, pedicuring, decorating nails, applying sculptured nails or artificial nails by hand or with mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances. Caring for the nails or the skin of the hands or feet including massaging the hands, arms, elbows, feet, lower legs, and knees of another person. Epilation or depilation of any person. Cleansing, massaging or toning the skin of the scalp. Use of cosmetic preparations, body treatments, body wraps, hydrotherapy, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, creams or other preparations. Massaging, cleansing, exfoliating, or stimulating the stratum corneum of the epidermis. Applying make-up or eyelashes to any person. Lightening hair on the body and removing superfluous hair from the body of any person by the use of depilatories, waxing or tweezers.</p><p>Cosmetologists may not perform services for the treatment of diseases or medical disorders.</p><p>Cosmetologists may not use any technique, product, or practice that is intended to affect the living layers of the skin.</p><p>Cosmetologists may not render advice on what is appropriate medical treatment for diseases of the skin.</p>
The Barber, Cosmetology Esthetics, and Nail Technology Act of 1985 225 ILCS, 1996 [410/1.1 - 410/23] Inclusive 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1175License67,01416
Eighth grade graduate or its equivalent;Must have completed not less than 1,500 hours of theory and practical study at an approved cosmetology school extending over a period of not less than eight (8) months, nor more than seven (7) consecutive years;Have graduated from an approved school of barbering and completed a minimum of 1,500 hours; must also complete a minimum of 1,000 additional hours in the study of cosmetology extending over a period of no less than six (6) months nor more than two (2) years. (A maximum of 500 hours of study at an approved barber school may be credited by the cosmetology school toward completion of the required 1,500 hours of cosmetology study.).
Licensed Cosmetologist Examination. Vended by the Educational Testing Services. Administered by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.WrittenDaily at 14 test centers. Exam is available in Spanish.$190.0075%Yes. Must complete a 250-hour refresher course after three failures. After four failures, must re-complete entire course of study.14 hours every two yearsNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00 by examination; $45.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus all lapsed fees, not to exceed $135.00Two yearsYes. Requirements for registration in the state of original licensure were at the same time substantially equivalent to the requirements then in effect in Illinois; or provide verification of three (3) years of lawful practice.
33CC#
  
Cosmetology TeacherCosmetology Teacher217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
<p>An individual who provides instruction in the theory and practice of cosmetology, which includes arranging, braiding, dressing, cutting, trimming, curling, waving, chemical restructuring, shaping, singeing, bleaching, coloring or similar work on the hair of the head or cranial prosthesis of any person; manicuring, pedicuring, decorating nails, applying sculptured nails or artificial nails by hand or with mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances; caring for the nails or the skin of the hands or feet including massaging the hands, arms, elbows, feet, lower legs, and knees of another person; epilation or depilation of any person; cleansing, massaging or toning the skin of the scalp; use of cosmetic preparations, body treatments, body wraps, hydrotherapy, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, creams or other preparations; massaging, cleansing, exfoliating, or stimulating the stratum corneum of the epidermis; applying make-up or eyelashes to any person; and lightening hair on the body and removing superfluous hair from the body of any person by the use of depilatories, waxing or tweezers.</p><p>The individual may also teach nail technology.</p><p>The individual may also teach esthetics after notifying IDFPR in writing of intent to teach esthetics and submitting to IDFPR verification of current skills in the use of esthetics machines.</p><p>The individual may also practice as a cosmetologist.</p>
The Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics and Nail Technology Act 225 ILCS 1996 [410/1.1 - 410/23] inclusive 68 Ill. Admin. Code 1175License1,74018
High school graduation or its equivalent;An active unencumbered cosmetologist license;Two (2) years of lawful practical experience as a cosmetologist and 500 hours of teacher training at an approved cosmetology school;&nbsp;1,000 hours of teacher training at an approved cosmetology school.
Cosmetology Teacher Exam. Vended by the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NICS). Administered by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.)WrittenFour times per year. Test sites alternate between Chicago and Springfield.$118.4575%After three failures, an individual must complete an 80-hour refresher course. After four failures, an individual must repeat the entire course of study.24 hours every two yearsNo requirementMust be of good moral character.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00 by examination; $45.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus all lapsed fees, not to exceed $135.00Two yearsYes. Requirements were in force in applicant's original jurisdiction of licensure must be substantially equivalent to those in force in Illinois; or three years of lawful practice in another jurisdiction.
34CC#
  
Counselor, Private Employment AgencyDepartment of Labor312.793.2810www.state.il.us/agency/idol
An individual who furnishes information to an individual as to where employees or employment may be obtained or found.
Ill. Rev. Stat., ch. 111, sect. 901-918; Ill. Adm. Code Title 68: Professions &amp; Occupations; Ch. III: Department of Labor: Part 680 -Rules and Regulations Relating to the Operation of Private Employment AgenciesLicense1,176No requirement
No requirement
Private Employment Agency Counselor ExamWrittenAt least once a month in Chicago and as needed in Springfield$50.00 initial fee-includes exam and temporary 90-day permit70% correctTwo (2) reschedules within 90-day period. $10.00 fee per reschedule. If not passed on second retest, cannot apply again for one calendar year.No requirementNo requirementCompletion of required application in entirety;Employed by a licensed employment agency;Payment of $50.00 fee; and,Passage of test within required 90 day period.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00One yearNo
35CC#
  
County Corrections OfficerLaw Enforcement Training and Standards Board217.782.4540www.ptb.state.il.us
An individual who is a full-time sworn officer of the county sheriff who is primarily responsible for the control and custody of offenders, detainees, or inmates.
Illinois Police Training Act, 50 ILCS 705/1CertificationUnknown18
High school diploma or equivalent
County Correctional Officer ExaminationWrittenAfter successful completion of basic recruit training at an academy66%ThreeNo requirementLive within countyLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.UnknownYes
36CC#
  
Court Security OfficerLaw Enforcement Training and Standards Board217.782.4540www.ptb.state.il.us
Provides security at County Courthouses, including entryways and courtrooms.
Public Act 89-685, 89-707Completion of courseUnknown18
High school diploma
Passing academy testsAt end of course70%NoneNo requirementLive within countyLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.CareerYes
37CC#
  
Cross-connection/Control Device InspectorEnvironmental Protection Agency217.782.1020www.epa.state.il.us
An individual who inspects and tests in-line backflow assemblies, such as the double check, double detector check, reduced pressure principle, and reduced pressure principle detector assembly units which are installed to protect the potable water system from contamination due to backflow.
Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989, Ch. 1001 et.seq.; 35 Ill. Adm. Code 653.802License (Plumber); Certification2,400 - Plumbers; 600 - Certified ops.No requirement
Must be an Illinois licensed plumber. Must successfully complete four days training course and pass both a written and hands-on examination. Limited certificate to licensed drinking water treatment operators for use in water plant, booster station or wellhouse.
Cross-Connection Control Device InspectorWrittenMonthly, September through June, at various locations throughout Illinois$495.00- Includes cost of course and is collected by SIUE-ERTC to pay for cost of course.75% (written) 4 out of 6 devices correct (performance)One timeNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.One yearNo. The requirement that plumbing be done by an Illinois licensed plumber requires that all cross-connections control device inspectors also be Illinois plumbers; limits reciprocity applications.
38CC#
  
Athletic TrainerIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who, under the direction of a team and/or consulting physician, carries out the practice of preventive and emergency care and physical reconditioning of injuries incurred by athletes participating in an athletic program, or a person who, under the direction of a physician, carries out comparable functions for health organization-based extramural programs of athletic training services. Duties include counseling on nutrition and hygiene; supervising the selection, fitting, and maintenance of protective equipment; assisting the coaching staff in the development and implementation of a conditioning program; and providing on-site injury care and evaluation.
The Illinois Athletic Trainers Practice Act (225 ILCS, 1992 5/1-5/35 inclusive, 68 Ill Admin. Code 1160)License1,510No requirement
Graduated from a 4-year accredited college or university;Meets the minimum Athletic Training Curriculum requirements established by the National Athletic Training Association Board of Certification;800 hours of clinical experience.
National Athletic Trainer's Association (NATA). Certification: Examination for Athletic Trainers (three parts). Administered by the Columbia Assessment Services (for NATA); 3725 National Drive, Suite 213; Raleigh, NC 27612; (919) 787-2721 or (800) 662-022ComputerizedUpon requestBased on difficulty level of exam.Designated by testing service40 hours of continuing educationNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$200.00 by acceptance of examination; $200.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed feesTwo yearsYes. Requirements for registration in the state of original licensure were at that time substantially equivalent to the requirements then in effect in Illinois.
39AA#
  
Associate Marriage and Family TherapistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who, under the clinical supervision of a licensed marriage and family therapist or equivalent, provides marriage and family therapy services to individuals.
Marriage and Family Therapy Licensing Act 225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 1996 55/1 - 55/170, 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1283License11121
Masters or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy from a regionally accredited educational institution;Masters or doctoral degree in a related field from a regionally accredited educational institution;Masters or doctoral degree from a program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy or by the Commission on Accreditation of Counseling Related Programs.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00Non-renewable licenseFive yearsNo
40AA#
  
Assistant TrainerRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
An individual who provides assistance to the horse trainer, usually in a larger stable where there are many horses to care for and train.
Section 15 authorized by Section 9(b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9(b))License13218
An applicant for an assistant trainer's license must have been licensed as a trainer or assistant trainer by the board or another racing jurisdiction for at least two (2) years. A first-time applicant in Illinois shall:Have at least two years experience in a licensed racing occupation;Submit three letters of recommendation from former employers and/or currently licensed trainers who can attest to the applicant's training ability and experience;Demonstrate, by actual performance his knowledge of horsemanship; and,&nbsp;Pass a written examination administered by the stewards.
Assistant Trainers ExamPerformance (hands-on)Exam shall be given from time to time during race meetings but no such test shall be administered during the last 45 days of the calendar year.75%No requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$62.00 ($15.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
41AA#
  
Asbestos WorkerDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who cleans, removes, encapsulates, encloses, hauls, or disposes of asbestos-containing building materials pursuant to the Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, the Illinois Commercial and Public Building Act and Code.
Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, 105 ILCS 105/et. seq.; Illinois Commercial and Public Building Act, 225 ILCS 207/77 Ill. Admin. Code Sec 855.100License4,07018 years or older
Successfully complete an IDPH-accredited asbestos worker or IDPH-accredited contractor/supervisor training course. If the initial course certificate is expired, the applicant shall successfully complete the same type (worker or contractor/supervisor) IDPH-accredited refresher course as the initial course. Submit two 1' X 1' photographs (head and shoulders only) for proper identification of the licensee. Photographs shall be original, clear, and current color pictures of the applicant with their name printed on the back.
Asbestos Worker or Contractor/SupervisorWrittenAt the end of the contractor/supervisor or worker training courseIncluded with the cost of the training course70% or betterTwo timesAnnual IDPH-accredited one day asbestos worker or contractor/supervisor refresher course. The applicant shall successfully complete the same type (worker or contractor/supervisor) of IDPH-accredited refresher course as the initial course.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00$15.00 duplicate license fee $15.00 late fee$50.00One yearOut of state residents applying for initial licensure in Illinois may receive reciprocity by submitting USEPA or other state-accredited initial and refresher training course certificates and meeting the license requirements of Section 855.100.
42AA#
  
Asbestos Project SupervisorDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
An individual licensed by the department designated as the licensed contractor's representative who is responsible for the on-site supervision of the removal, encapsulation, or enclosure of asbestos-containing building materials pursuant to the Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, the Illinois Commercial and Public Building Act and Code.
Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, 105 ILCS 105/et. seq.; Illinois Commercial and Public Building Act, 225 ILCS 207/77 Ill. Admin. Code Sec 855.100License1,21618 years or older
Successfully complete an IDPH-accredited asbestos contractor/supervisor training course. If the initial course certificate is expired, the applicant shall successfully complete an IDPH-accredited contractor/supervisor refresher course. Submit two 1' X 1' photographs (head and shoulders only) for proper identification of the licensee. Photographs shall be original, clear, and current color pictures of the applicant with their name printed on the back.
Asbestos Contractor/SupervisorWrittenAt the end of the contractor/supervisor courseIncluded with the cost of the training course70% or betterTwo timesAnnual IDPH-accredited asbestos contractor/supervisor refresher courseNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$75.00$15.00 duplicate license fee, $15.00 late fee$150.00One yearOut-of-state residents applying for initial licensure in Illinois may receive reciprocity by submitting USEPA or other state-accredited initial and refresher training course certificates and meeting the license requirements of Section 855.100.
43AA#
  
Asbestos Project ManagerDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
An individual licensed by the department and designated as the building owner's representative and is responsible for overseeing asbestos abatement activities pursuant to the Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act for schools (kindergarten through 12th grade).
Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, 105 ILCS 105/et. seq./77 Ill. Admin. Code Sec 855.100License48318 years or older
Successful completion of an IDPH-accredited contractor/supervisor course. If the initial course certificate is expired, the applicant shall successfully complete an IDPH-accredited contractor/supervisor refresher course. Submit written verification of 2,080 hours, on-site working experience in building construction projects or 520 hours on-site working experience assisting a licensed project manager on asbestos abatement projects. Submit two 1' X 1' photographs (head and shoulders only) for proper identification of the licensee. Photographs shall be original, clear, and current color pictures of the applicant with their name printed on the back.
Contractor/SupervisorWrittenAt the end of the contractor/supervisor courseIncluded with the cost of the training course70% or betterTwo timesAnnual IDPH-accredited contractor/supervisor refresher courseNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00$15.00 duplicate license fee, $15.00 late fee$100.00One yearOut-of-state residents applying for initial licensure in Illinois may receive reciprocity by submitting USEPA or other state-accredited initial training course certificates and meeting the license requirements of Section 855.100.
44AA#
  
Asbestos Project DesignerDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
Any individual licensed by the department to design response actions for asbestos abatement pursuant to the Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, the Illinois Commercial and Public Building Act and Code.
Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, 105 ILCS 105/et. seq.; Illinois Commercial and Public Building Act, 225 ILCS 207/77 IL Admin. Code Sec 855.100License11418 years or older
Successfully complete an IDPH-accredited initial project designer course. If the initial course certificate has expired, the applicant shall successfully complete an IDPH-accredited project designer refresher course. Submit a current copy of either an Illinois Architect License, an Illinois Professional Engineer License, an Illinois Structural Engineer License, or an Illinois Industrial Hygienist License. Submit two 1' X 1' photographs (head and shoulders only) for proper identification of the licensee. Photographs shall be original, clear, and current color pictures of the applicant with their name printed on the back.
Project DesignerWrittenAt the end of the project designer courseIncluded with the cost of the training course70% or betterTwo timesAnnual IDPH-accredited project designer courseNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00$15.00 duplicate license, $15.00 late fee$100.00One yearOut-of-state residents applying for initial licensure in Illinois may receive reciprocity by submitting USEPA or other state-accredited initial training course certificates and meeting the license requirements of Section 855.100.
45AA#
  
Asbestos InspectorDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
An individual licensed by the department to perform asbestos inspections for asbestos containing building materials in accordance with the Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, the Illinois Commercial and Public Building Asbestos Abatement Act and Code.
Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, 105 ILCS 105/et. seq.; Illinois Commercial and Public Building Act, 225 ILCS 207/77 IL Admin. Code Sec 855.100License90518 years or older
Written verification of a minimum of 1,040 hours of experience inspecting buildings for asbestos-containing building materials, or a minimum of 3,120 hours of experience in direct planning of construction projects and/or construction project inspection;Successfully complete an IDPH-accredited inspector initial training course. If the initial course certificate has expired, the applicant shall successfully complete an IDPH-accredited inspector refresher course. Submit two 1' X 1' photographs (head and shoulders only) for proper identification of the licensee. Photographs shall be original, clear, and current color pictures of the applicant with their name printed on the back.
InspectorWrittenAt the end of the inspector training courseIncluded with the cost of the training course70% or betterTwo timesAnnual IDPH-accredited 1/2-day building inspector refresher courseNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00$15.00 duplicate license fee, $15.00 late fee$100.00One yearOut-of-state residents applying for initial licensure in Illinois may receive reciprocity by submitting USEPA or other state-accredited initial training course certificates and meeting the license requirements of Section 855.100.
46AA#
  
Asbestos ContractorDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
Any entity that provides removal, enclosure, encapsulation, or disposal of asbestos-containing materials pursuant to the Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, the Illinois Commercial and Public Building Act and Code.
Commercial and Public Building Asbestos Abatement Act, 225 ILCS 207; Asbestos Abatement Act, 105 ILCS 77 Ill. Admin. Code Sec 855.40 and 855.50License195
Applicant must submit the following information:A completed application provided by the department;A certificate of financial responsibility documenting that the contractor carries liability insurance from a company with at least an AA@, rating accorded by A.M. Best and Company, self insurance, group insurance, or group self insurance, in the amount of at least $1,000,000 (first dollar coverage) for work performed pursuant to the Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act, the Illinois Commercial and Public Building Act and Code;A copy of the designated supervisor's valid IDPH asbestos supervisor's license;Evidence that IDPH-licensed asbestos workers will be employed on all asbestos abatement projects;A list of prior contracts for asbestos abatement projects, including dates, and the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of building owners for whom the projects were performed. A contractor shall have a minimum of one year of experience in asbestos abatement contracting. An applicant is also eligible to qualify for a license if employer references demonstrate a minimum of one year of experience in asbestos abatement project supervision or shall employ a supervisor with a minimum of one year of experience in asbestos abatement project supervision. Evidence of experience must accompany the application;Evidence of air monitoring data taken during and after completion of previous asbestos abatement projects in accordance with 29 CFR 1910.1001(d). This evidence shall include clearance air monitoring results from 10 different contracted asbestos abatement projects. Evidence of air monitoring data must have the name of the company that analyzed the final air monitoring results. All final results shall be below .01 fibers/cubic centimeter (f/cc). If an applicant is employing a supervisor with a year of experience of asbestos removal supervision, the air monitoring results shall be from projects that person has supervised;A copy of the written standard operating procedures and employee protection plans, including specific reference to OSHA medical monitoring and respirator training programs as required in 29 CFR 1910.1001;A description of any asbestos abatement projects which were prematurely terminated or not completed, including the circumstances surrounding termination, or a signed statement that there were no such projects;A list of any contractual penalties which the contractor has paid for breach or noncompliance with contract specifications, such as overruns of completion time or liquidated damages, or a signed statement that there were no such penalties;Copies of any and all citations levied against the contractor or any of his/her past or present employees or companies by any federal, state or local government agency for violations related to asbestos abatement, including names and locations of the projects, the date(s), and a description of how the allegations were resolved, or a signed statement that there were no such citations;A description detailing all legal proceedings, lawsuits or claims which have been filed or levied against the contractor or any of his/her past or present employees or companies for asbestos-related activities, or a signed statement that there were no such claims;The contractor shall identify whether it is a sole proprietorship, partnership or corporation and identify its agent and mailing address for service of process by the department. (Additionally, if applicable, the contractor shall provide the following information to the department:);Partnerships:If the contractor is a partnership, it shall identify the general and limited partners by name, together with their addresses and percentage of ownership interest;If the contractor is a limited liability partnership pursuant to the provisions of Section 8.1 of the Uniform Partnership Act [805 ILCS 205/8.1], it shall file annually with the department a copy of the application, or renewal application, required to be filed with the Illinois Secretary of State;Corporation: If the contractor is a corporation, either foreign or domestic, it shall file with the department a copy of its articles of incorporation which shall include all information required by Section 2.10 of the Business Corporation Act of 1983 [805 ILCS 5/2.10] and annually thereafter a copy of the annual report which is required to be filed with the Illinois Secretary of State pursuant to Section 14.05 of the Business Corporation Act of 1983 [805 ILCS 5/14.05].
NoneNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$250.00$500.00, $100.00 late fee$500.00 for the first year, $1,000.00 for more than two years and less than five yearsOne yearNo
47AA#
  
Asbestos Air Sampling ProfessionalDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who conducts or supervises all air sampling pursuant to the Commercial and Public Building Asbestos Abatement Act and the Illinois Asbestos Abatement Act for schools (Kindergarten through 12th grade) in Illinois.
Commercial and Public Building Asbestos Abatement Act, 225 ILCS 207; 'Asbestos Abatement Act, 105 ILCS 105/et. 77 Ill. Admin. Code Sec 855.100License49318 years or older
Certificate of successful completion of the NIOSH Course #582 'Sampling and Evaluating Airborne Asbestos Dust' or a course equivalent in length and content;A copy of transcripts and evidence of obtaining a bachelor's degree in the life, environmental, or physical sciences or in engineering and written verification of 520 hours on-site experience in general indoor air pollution sampling; or a copy of an Illinois Industrial Hygienist License; or written verification of 2,080 hours on-site experience in air sampling for asbestos on abatement projects under the supervision of a licensed air sampling professional. Submit two 1' X 1' photographs (head and shoulders only) for proper identification of the licensee. Photographs shall be original, clear, and current color pictures of the applicant with their name printed on the back.
NIOSH #582 ExamWrittenAt the end of the NIOSH #582 courseIncluded with the cost of the training course70% or betterTwo timesNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00$15.00 duplicate license fee $15.00 late fee$100.00One yearNone
48AA#
  
Art Auction House OwnerSecretary of State217.782.7017www.sos.state.il.us
Any person, partnership, corporation, association or group engaged for profit primarily in the business of conducting auctions at which they act as agent for any seller of works of art, antiques, furnishings, jewelry, gemstones, coins, stamps, and rare books and manuscripts.
225 ILCS 405/1 - 405/4Registration8No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo fees requiredNo requirementNo requirementMust annually register and file with the Secretary of State, on forms provided by that office, a statement declaring the bank or savings and loan association in which it maintains a separate account for customer funds.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.One yearNo
49AA#
  
ArchitectIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who furnishes professional services in connection with the design and construction of any private or public building, building structure, building project, or addition to or alteration or restoration thereof.
The Illinois Architecture Practice Act of 1989 (225 ILCS 305/1-305/42. Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1150License8,924No requirement
Professional degree (B.Arch. or M.Arch.) from a program accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) plus 700 training units in the prescribed categories as set forth in the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) IDP Guidelines; or,Pre-professional 4-year baccalaureate degree in architecture, approved by the board, acceptable for direct entry into a professional master of architecture degree program accredited by NAAB, plus 1,170 training units in the prescribed categories as set forth in the NCARB IDP Guidelines until December 31, 2013.
Architect Registration Examination (A.R.E.). Prepared by the NCARB. Processed by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.; 547 South LaGrange Road; LaGrange, IL 60525; (708) 354-9911.Computer-administered examination consisting of seven divisions-all divisions include graphic design problems, six include multiple choice problems.Daily anywhere in the U.S.$97 processing fee, all divisions $210.00All divisions are graded with a score of pass or fail.A failed division may be repeated six months after the unsuccessful attempt.24 hours every renewal (16 hours-health, safety, and welfare)NoLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100 by examination, acceptance of examination, or endorsement$20 plus lapsed fees and proof of continuing educationTwo yearsYes
50AA#
  
Aquatic Life Dealer, Resident Retail and WholesaleDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person conducting a retail or wholesale fish market or buying, selling or shipping any aquatic life (except minnows) protected by Illinois Conservation Law.
ILCS ch 515, par 20 - 70 Illinois Conservation Law - FishLicense1,817 Retail, 187 WholesaleNo requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$10.00 Retail, $50.00 WholesaleOne year (February 1 - January 31)No
51AA#
  
Aquatic Life Dealer, Non-residentDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person, not a resident of Illinois, who sells or ships to other retailers, wholesalers or consumers, any of the aquatic life protected by Illinois Conservation Law.
ILCS ch. 515, par 20 - 70 Illinois Conservation Law FishLicense65No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00One year (February 1 - January 31)No
52AA#
  
AquaculturistDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual engaged in the breeding, hatching, propagation, or raising of aquatic life, whether indigenous or non-indigenous to Illinois.
ILCS, ch. 515 - par. 5.20 B 90 Illinois Conservation Law - FishLicense96No requirement
No requirement
No written exam, but site is inspected by agency culturist.Must be Illinois resident for 30 days.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00One year (February 1 - January 31)No
53AA#
  
Animal Health TechnicianRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
An individual under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian who draws blood and administers medications.
Section 15 authorized by Section 9(b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9(b))License2 thoroughbred18
A graduate of a veterinary technology program accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA).
Animal Technician Examination (AVMA)WrittenJune and December-by the Department of Professional Regulation at Parkland College$118.00No requirementA United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$62.00 ($15.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP) and $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
54AA#
  
Animal Breeder, Fur BearingDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual who holds or possesses fur bearing mammals or engages in the breeding or raising of fur bearing mammals, protected by Illinois Conservation Law.
ILCS ch. 520, par. 5/3.2 Illinois Conservation Law - WildlifeLicense440No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be Illinois resident for 30 days.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00One year (April 1 - March 31)No
55AA#
  
Advanced Practice NurseIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulati217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
'Advanced Practice Nurse' or 'APN' means a person who has met the qualifications for (i) certified nurse midwife (CNM); (ii) certified nurse practitioner (NP); (iii) certified registered nurse anesthetist (CRNA); or (iv) clinical nurse specialist (CNS) and has been licensed by the Department. All advanced practice nurses licensed and practicing in the State of Illinois shall use the title APN and may use specialty credentials after their name. Advanced Practice Nursing is based on knowledge and skills acquired throughout an advanced practice nurse's nursing education, training, and experience. Advanced practice nursing includes: advanced nursing patient assessment and diagnosis; ordering diagnostic and therapeutic tests and procedures, performing those tests and procedures when using health care equipment, and interpreting and using the results of diagnostic and therapeutic tests and procedures ordered by the advanced practice nurse or another health care professional; ordering treatments, ordering or applying appropriate medical devices, and using nursing medical, therapeutic, and corrective measures to treat illness and improve health status; providing palliative and end-of-life care; providing advanced counseling, patient education, health education, and patient advocacy; prescriptive authority as defined in Section 65-40 of the Nurse Practice Act; and delegating selected nursing activities or tasks to a licensed practice nurse, a registered professional nurse, or other personnel.
Illinois Nurse Practice ActLicense6,547
Must hold a current license to practice as a registered professional nurse;Have successfully completed requirements to practice as, and hold a current, national certification as, a nurse midwife, clinical nurse specialist, nurse practitioner or certified registered nurse anesthetist from the appropriate certifying body;Have obtained a graduate degree appropriate for national certification in a clinical advanced practice nursing specialty or a graduate degree of post-master's certificate from a graduate level program in a clinical advanced practice nursing specialty;Have not violated provisions of the Nurse Practice Act concerning the grounds for disciplinary actions;Submit to a criminal history records check.
Passage of appropriate certifying examination for the particular specialtyPart of certification processPart of certification process50 contact hours total per license renewal periodLicensure requirements and licensure fees are subject to change.$125.00$20 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo years (All licenses expire May 31 of each even-numbered year.)
56AA#
  
Administrator (Child Care Institution)Department of Children and Family Services217.785.2688www.state.il.us/dcfs
An individual responsible for the day-to-day management of a child care institution and carrying out of policies and procedures.
Rule 404: Licensing Standards for Child Care Institutions and Maternity CentersApproval of employment in a licensed child care institution111 licensed child care institutionsNo requirement
Must meet one of the following:A master's degree from an accredited school of social work, three years of work experience with children (at least two of which were in a residential group care setting), and two years of administrative experience;A master's degree in a human services field from an accredited school, three years of work experience with children (at least two of which were in a residential group care setting), and two years of administrative experience;A bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, five years of work experience with children (at least three of which were in a residential group care setting), and two years of administrative experience.
No written exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementReview of qualifications through transcripts and employment historyLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No
57AA#
  
AcupuncturistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
The evaluation or treatment of persons affected through a method of stimulation of a certain point or points on or immediately below the surface of the body by the insertion of pre-sterilized, single-use, disposable needles, unless medically contraindicated, with or without the application of heat, electronic stimulation, or manual pressure to prevent or modify the perception of pain, normalize physiological functions, or treat certain diseases or dysfunctions of the body.
Acupuncture Practice Act (Ill. Compiled Stat. 1996, par. 2/1 - 2/999); Rules for the Administration of the Acupuncture Practice Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1140)License631No requirement
Not applicable at this timeThe Act requires completion of thirty (30) hours per renewal cycle.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$500.00$500.00$20.00 plus payment of all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $1,000Two yearsYes, endorsement.Proof of passing the National Commission for the Certification of Acupuncture (NCCA) or National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) examination or another examination that has been approved by the depa
58AA#
  
Accountant, Public RegisteredIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
Persons shall be deemed to be in practice as public accountants within the meaning and intent of the Act who either individually, as members of a partnership or limited liability company or as officers of a corporation, sign, affix or associate their names or any trade or assumed names used by them in a profession or business to any report expressing or disclaiming an opinion on a financial statement based on an audit or examination of that statement, or expressing assurance on a financial statement. No person shall hold himself or herself out to the public in any manner by using the title 'certified public accountant' or use the abbreviation 'C.P.A.' or 'CPA' or any words or letters to indicate that the person using the same is a certified public accountant unless he or she maintains a current registration or license issued by the Department.
225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 450/0.01 - 450/32, Inclusive 68 IL Adm. Code Part 1420Licensure20,549No requirement
For the education requirement, contact the Illinois Board of Examiners at (217) 531-0929. A minimum of one year of full-time experience, or its equivalent, providing any type of service or advice involving the use of accounting, attest, management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting skills, which may be gained through employment in the government, industry, academia, or public practice. Must have received a certificate as a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) from the University of Illinois
Certified Public Accountant Examination. For information regarding the CPA examination, contact: Illinois Board of Examiners; 100 Trade Center Drive, Suite 403, Champaign, IL 61820-7233, (217) 531-0929No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No requirement$90.00 by acceptance of examination; $90.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $260.00Three yearsYes, with the following conditions;Proof of current licensure from the state in which applicant is presently practicing;Submit certification of licensure status from any jurisdiction in which applicant may have been licensed;Proof of an Illinois-certified
59AA#
  
Accountant, PublicIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
Persons shall be deemed to be in practice as public accountants within the meaning and intent of the Act who either individually, as members of a partnership or limited liability company or as officers of a corporation, sign, affix or associate their names or any trade or assumed names used by them in a profession or business to any report expressing or disclaiming an opinion on a financial statement based on an audit or examination of that statement, or expressing assurance on a financial statement.
225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 450/0.01 - 450/32, Inclusive 68 IL Adm. Code Part 1420Licensure16,556No requirement
For the education requirement, contact the Illinois Board of Examiners at (217) 531-0929. A minimum of one year of full-time experience, or its equivalent, providing any type of service or advice involving the use of accounting, attest, management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting skills, which may be gained through employment in the government, industry, academia, or public practice. Must have received a certificate as a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) from the University of Illinois.
Certified Public Accountant Examination. For information regarding the CPA examination, contact: Illinois Board of Examiners; 100 Trade Center Drive, Suite 403, Champaign, Illinois 61820-7233; (217) 531-0929.120 hours every three yearsNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No requirement$120.00 by acceptance of examination; $120.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $260.00Three yearsYes, with the following conditions: a. Proof of current licensure from the state in which applicant is presently practicing; b. Submit certification of licensure status from any jurisdiction in which applicant may have been licensed; c. Proof of an Illino
60AA#
  
Accident Reconstruction SpecialistLaw Enforcement Training and Standards Board217.782.4540www.ptb.state.il.us
An individual who reconstructs the scene of an accident by analyzing the data from the investigation of the accident to determine how the accident occurred, giving special attention to issues of speed.
Illinois Police Training Act, 50 ILCS 705/7CertificationUnknown21
Must successfully complete four major training programs from schools certified by the Illinois Local Governmental Law Enforcement Officers Training Board: On Scene Accident Investigation, Technical Accident Investigation, Vehicle Dynamics, and Accident Reconstruction;Must have a minimum of one year's experience as an accident investigator prior to completing course in Accident Reconstruction.
Comprehensive Accident Reconstruction Specialist ExamWrittenAs needed by the board70% or better. All testing must be completed within one year of the original.No requirementMay be required by hiring authority/employer.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.LifetimeNo
61AA#
  
BarberIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who performs services such as styling, arranging, dressing, curling, waving, straightening, cleaning, singeing, epilating, depilating, shampooing, marcelling, chemical restructuring, bleaching, tinting, coloring or similar work upon the hair or cranial prosthesis of any person; shaving or trimming the beard of any person; and giving relaxing facial or scalp massages or treatments with oils, creams or other preparations either by hand or by mechanical appliances.
The Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, and Nail Technology Act 225 ILCS, 1966 410/1-1 - 410/4-23, Inclusive Ill. Admin. Code 1175License5,81016
Must be of good moral character;High school graduate or equivalent or beyond the age of compulsory school attendance;A graduate from an approved school of barbering over a period of not less than nine (9) months nor more than three (3) years
Barber Licensing Exam. Vendor: the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology Inc. (NICS). Administered by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.Written (testing theoretical and practical knowledge)Six times per year (alternating between Chicago and Springfield). Exam is available in Spanish version in Chicago only.$118.4575%No retakes or re-qualification requirementsNo requirementNo requirementMust be of good moral character.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00 by examination; $45.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus all lapsed fees not to exceed $135.00Two yearsYes. Requirements which were in force in the applicant's original jurisdiction of licensure must be substantially equivalent to those then in force in Illinois, or three (3) years of lawful practice.
62BB#
  
Dance Studio OwnerSecretary of State217.782.7017www.sos.state.il.us
Any person or business entity which contracts with members of the general public to provide dance studio services. Studios must register with the Secretary of State if they receive advance payments of $50.00 or more per month.
815 ILCS 610/1 - 610/12Registration8No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementA bond in the amount of 10% of the studio's preceding fiscal year gross income or a minimum of $10,000 is required to be filed with the Secretary of State.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.One yearNo
63DD#
  
Dental HygienistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who, under the supervision of a dentist, is engaged in helping people prevent tooth decay and gum disease and maintain oral health. The person examines teeth and gums, cleans deposits and stains from teeth, and treats teeth with fluorides and other decay preventive agents. A dental hygienist takes impressions of teeth and removes sutures, temporary crowns, and restorations. May also take and develop X-rays and perform dental health education functions.
The Illinois Dental Practice Act (225 ILCS 1996 25/1 - 25/57, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Admin. Code 1220License7,768No requirement
High school graduate or its equivalent;Certification of successful completion of two (2) academic years of credit from a dental hygiene program approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association;Current valid certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
Two examinations are required: National Dental Hygiene Examination. Administered by the American Dental Association; 211 East Chicago Avenue; Chicago, Illinois 60611-2678.Written and/or clinicalMarch/April, July, DecemberRefer to testing entitiesThe passing score accepted by the Division shall be the passing score established by the testing entity. a. Northeast Regional Board (NERB) Examination in Dental Hygiene within the past five years. Exam given by the Northeast Regional Board of Dental ExamRetake requirements shall be that of the testing entity.36 credit hours and current CPR certificationMust be of good moral characterLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by examination; $100.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $85.00Three yearsYes.Have been licensed by exam and engaged in lawful practice of dental hygiene for three (3) of the last five (5) years;Must be of good moral character;Must meet all of the Illinois requirements in education and training;Must submit proof of current vali
64DD#
  
Dental SpecialistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual currently licensed as a dentist in Illinois who is trained and qualified to practice in one or more of the following specialties of dentistry; endodontics, oral and maxillofacial surgery, orthodontics, and dentofacial orthopedics, pedodontics, periodontics, prosthodontics, pediatric dentistry and oral and maxillofacial radiology.
Illinois Dental Practice Act (225 ILCS 1996 25/1 - 25/57, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Admin Code 1220License1,45621
Individuals specializing in endodontics, pediatric dentistry, prosthodontics, or orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics, periodontics, or oral and maxillofacial radiology must complete not less than two (2) academic years in a program approved by the Division of Professional Regulation (DPR) in the dental specialty proposed to practice;Individuals specializing in oral and maxillofacial surgery must complete four (4) years of training in a school and/or hospital approved by DPR with a minimum of 30 months in clinical oral and maxillofacial surgery.
Simulated Clinical Examination of the American Board Exam and Presentation of Case Histories and Oral Exam of the Northeast Regional Board (NERB) Exam; orSimulated Clinical Examination and Presentation of Case Histories and Oral Examination of the NERB ExWritten/performance (hands-on)NERB Specialty Exam is given in July; American Board Exam (contact Specialty Board for exam dates).American Board Exam - Simulated Clinical Exam by specialty; contact each Specialty Board for fee information; contact NERB directly for dates and fees.75% or greater in each partYesNo requirementNo requirementMust be currently licensed as a dentist in Illinois.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$300.00$20.00 plus all lapsed feesThree yearsNo
65DD#
  
Dental Teaching License, TemporaryIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who has received an appointment to teach dentistry at an approved dental school or hospital located in Illinois.
The Illinois Dental Practice Act (225 ILCS 1996 25/1 - 25/57, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Cod 1220License3221
Must be of good moral character;Licensed to practice dentistry in another state, territory or country;Has received an appointment to teach dentistry at an approved dental school or hospital located in Illinois.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$150.00Three years
66DD#
  
DentistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who practices general dentistry or who is a manager, proprietor, operator or conductor of a place where dental services are performed for compensation. Dental services include diagnosis, treatment, prescribing or operating by X-rays, extracting teeth, correcting for malpositions of human teeth or jaws, administering local or general anesthetics, taking impressions of human teeth and jaw, filling, crowning, bridges, plates or dentures relative to diseases, pain, deforming, deficiency, injury or physical conditions of human teeth, alveolar process, gums or jaw.
Illinois Dental Practice Act (225 ILCS 1996 25/1 - 25/57, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Admin Code 1220License10,26421
High school graduate or its equivalent;Successfully completed a minimum of 60 semester hours in a pre-dental program from an approved school and graduation from a dental program inclusive of at least four (4) academic years of instruction.
Two examinations are required: National Dental Examination. Administered by the American Dental Association; 211 East Chicago Avenue; Chicago, Illinois 60611-2678.Written and clinicalPart I - March/April Part II - DecemberPart I - $75.00, Part II - $110.00, Re-exam(s):$40.00 plus $10.00 per subjectPart I - 75% in each subject Part II - 75% in each subject Part III - After 12/92,<ol class='decimal'><li>comprehensive exam - minimum score of 75 required.</li><li>One of the following:<ol><li>Western Regional Examining Board (WREB) after May 1, 1998.</lYes. Retake requirements shall be that of the testing entity.Effective 1994Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$250.00 by examination; $750.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesThree yearsYes.Be of good moral character;Meet the Illinois education and training requirements;Must have been licensed by exam and lawfully engaged in dentistry for three (3) of the last five (5) years;Provide certification of original state licensure and verificat
67DD#
  
Design Firm RegistrationIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
Any business entity (corporation, professional service corporation, partnership, limited liability company, limited liability partnership, or sole proprietorship doing business under the Assumed Named Act) that has within its stated purpose or that holds itself out as available to practice architecture, land surveying, professional engineering and/or structural engineering shall be registered as a Professional Design Firm.
Illinois Architecture Practice Act of 1989 (225 ILCS 305/1 - 305/40, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Ad. Code 1150 ; Illinois Professional Land Surveyor Act of 1989 (225 ILCS 330/1 - 330/49, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1270; Professional Engineering Practice Act of 1Registration3,311
Corporations, Professional service corporations, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, and limited partnerships must obtain authority to transact business in Illinois for the Secretary of State;The Purpose Claus of the Articles of Incorporation must include the practice of the specified professions for which the design firm is seeking registration;The firms must be in good standing with the Illinois Secretary of State;At least one person shall be designated as the managing agent in responsible charge of the specified practices/professions in Illinois. The Illinois licensee must maintain an active license to practice that profession at all times and must be a full-time employee of the firm. If the firm offers architecture, the managing agent must also be a member of the board of directors, member or partner;A firm offering architecture services must have 2/3 of the board of directors, general partners, or members licensed in any state to practice architecture, professional engineering, structural engineering, or land surveying, one of which must be an Illinois licensed architect designated as the managing agent in charge of the practice of architecture in Illinois;A firm that offers architecture and/or land surveying must have a resident architect or land surveying at each Illinois office location;Partnerships must register with the County Clerk;Sole Proprietors doing business under the Assumed Business Name must register the assumed name with the County Clerk.
Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$75.00Two yearsNo requirement
68DD#
  
Detection of Deception ExaminerIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who, by use of a device or instrument, tests or questions a person for the purpose of evaluating truthfulness or untruthfulness.
The Detection of Deception Examiners Act 225 ILCS 430/0.01 - 430/32, Inclusive 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1230License80No requirement
Baccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university;Completion of six (6) month study in detection of deception under approved instructors.
Detective of Deception Examiner ExamWritten/performance (chart interpretation)March, September$360.5075% for both partsUnlimitedNo requirementNo requirementMust be of good moral character.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by examination; $100.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo yearsYes, under the following condition(s):Good moral character;Meet all education and training requirements in Illinois;Submit certification of licensure from state in which applicant presently practices;Show proof of successful completion of an examination b
69DD#
  
Detection of Deception TraineeIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who agrees to study under the direct supervision of approved instructors for the purpose of meeting requirements necessary to sit for an examination that will lead to licensure as a detection examiner.
The Detection of Deception Examiners Act 225 ILCS; 430/0.01 - 430/32, Inclusive 68 Ill Adm. Cod 1230License13No requirement
Baccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementMust be of good moral characterLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.One yearNo requirement
70DD#
  
Developmental Disabilities AideDepartment of Public Health217.785.5133www.idph.state.il.us/nar
An individual who assists with the personal, medical or nursing care of developmentally disabled residents in a developmentally disabled long-term care facility.
Nursing Home Care Act, 210 ILCS 45; Long Term Care Assistants and Aides Training Program Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 395Registration72,00016
Eight (8) years of grade school or equivalent; and,120-155 hours training course competency evaluation.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.IndefiniteYes. Must meet state standards.
71DD#
  
Diagnostic Imaging SpecialistEmergency Management Agency217.785.9900www.iema.illinois.gov
A person who possesses the knowledge, training and experience to apply the principles of radiological physics to diagnostic X-ray applications. This involves implementation and maintenance of a comprehensive radiation protection program, to include annual performance evaluations of X-ray equipment and assurance that such equipment is being maintained and operated in accordance with standards established by the agency.
32 Illinois Administrative Code 410; 32 Illinois Administrative code 320Radiation Protection148No requirement
Appropriate college degree and experience in applied X-ray radiation protection, quality assurance and surveys, as specified in 32 IL Adm. Code 410.
No exam requiredNoneNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change. Radiation requirements for education, experience, oversight of radiation protection programs, fees, and approval criteria are subject to change.$200.00One yearNone
72DD#
  
Distribution System OperatorEnvironmental Protection Agency217.785.0561www.epa.state.il.us
An individual who operates and maintains the distribution water lines of a drinking water supply system.
Public Water Supply Operations Act 415 ILCS 451 and 35 Ill. Admin. Code 680Certification497No requirement
High school diploma or equivalent and 6 months of acceptable training and/or hands-on experience;Possess practical working knowledge of chemical, biological, and physical sciences essential to the practical mechanics of pumpage, storage, and distribution; and c.Must be able to read and write English.
Public Water Supplies Operator Certification Exam. Exam is always administered by agency personnel.WrittenFirst working Monday of each month (alternating months in some regions)$10.00-Paid after the $30.00 application review fee has been received and the application has been approved.70% or greaterEvery month - no limitations15 hours every three yearsNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00$10.00Certificate period is three years.Yes, under the following condition: case-by-case basis, as described in 35 Ill. Adm. Code 680.604.
73DD#
  
DriverRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
Any person in the horse racing industry, who is able to drive a standard bred (harness) horse which pulls a sulky at either a trot or pace.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License66 Harness only18
One year of training experience and demonstrated ability to drive a horse at training speeds;Pass a written examination composed by the U.S. Trotting Association (U.S.T.A.); and, c.Be found physically able to drive in competitive horse races by a practicing physician, prior to first Illinois race meeting at which the applicant intends to drive.
U.S. Trotting Association Exam for DriversWritten/performance (hands-on)USTA written test administered once at every race meet in Illinois, prior to the first Illinois race meeting at which the applicant intends to drive.No requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
74DD#
  
Driver Training InstructorSecretary of State847.981.7455www.cyberdriveillinois.com
An individual who teaches driver training for a fee, to adults, teenagers, or applicants required to obtain a Commercial Drivers License (CDL).
IL Vehicle Code, ch. 95 1/2, sect. 5-411 and 92 IL Adm. Code 1060.150, 1060.160, and 1060.240License/Certification377Must be at least 21 years old
Minimum high school education or equivalent;Held a valid driver's license without interruption for two (2) years prior to application;Must be employed by a commercial driver training school.
Driver Training Instructor Exam. Pass test on traffic laws; safe driving practices; operation of motor vehicles, and qualifications of teacher.CDL Accreditation Exam (if teaching CDL). Additional requirements for teen accreditation.Written/performance (hands-on)Daily85% on written test. 100% on traffic control device test.3Additional requirements for teen instructorIllinois residentMust be of good moral character.Must have a criminal background check performed.Must be physically able to operate a motor vehicle of the particular class of vehicle on which instruction is provided.&nbsp;Must not have been convicted of two (2) or more ofLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$70.00$70.00Two yearNo
75DD#
  
Driver/Trainer (Race Horse)Racing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
Person who is both a Driver and a Trainer in the horse racing industry. Drives a standard bred (harness) horse; trains and enters horses to race at a competitive racing meet; hires grooms, hotwalkers, exercise riders, pony persons, assistant trainers, veterinarians and blacksmiths.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License65 Harness only18
Two years of experience in a licensed racing occupation;One year of race horse training experience;Can demonstrate ability to drive a horse at training speeds;Found physically able to drive a horse in competitive horse races by a practicing physician;&nbsp;Pass a written driver's exam;&nbsp;Submit three (3) letters of recommendation attesting to training ability and experience;&nbsp;Demonstrate knowledge of horsemanship by performance; and,&nbsp;Pass written exam administered by the stewards.
U.S. Trotting Association Exam for Drivers. Exam given by the stewards.Written/performance (hands-on)Once at every race meetNo feeNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Capable of meeting financial obligations incurred in stabling, racing, training, and care of his/her horse.Provide proof of compliance with Workers' Compensation Act.Have at least one horse to drive and/or train which is eligible to race in Illinois.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
76DD#
  
Driver/Trainer/OwnerRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
A person who is both a driver and a trainer as well as an owner in the horse racing industry. Drives a standard bred (harness) horse; trains and enters horses to race at a race meeting; and hires grooms, hotwalkers, exercise riders, pony persons, other trainers, veterinarians and blacksmiths.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License348 Harness only18
Must have at least two years experience in a licensed racing occupation;One year of race horse training experience;Can demonstrate ability to drive a horse at training speeds;Found physically able to drive in competitive horse races by a practicing physician;Pass a written examination for drivers;Submit three (3) letters of recommendation attesting to applicant's training ability and experience;Demonstrate knowledge of horsemanship by actual performance; and,Pass a written exam administered by the stewards.
U.S. Trotting Association Exam. Exam given by stewards.Written/performance (hands-on)Once at every race meetNo fee75%YesNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.As an owner of a race horse, the person is capable of meeting the financial obligations incurred in ownership, stabling, racing, training and care of a race horse.Own at least one horse to drive and/or train which is eligible to race in Illinois.As a traiLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
77DD#
  
Early Childhood Teacher (Day Care Center)Department of Children and Family Services217.785.2688www.state.il.us/dcfs
An individual responsible for the planning and supervision of a group of children that includes infants, toddlers and preschool children, and any additional staff assigned to assist with the group of children.
Rule 407: Licensing Standards for Day Care CentersApproval of employment at a licensed facilityUnknown at this time19
High school diploma or equivalent;Must meet one of the following requirements:60 semester hours from an accredited college or university with six semester or equivalent quarter hours in courses related directly to child care and/or child development, from birth to age six; or1,560 clock hours (one year) of child development experience in a nursery school, kindergarten, or licensed day care center and one year of credits from an accredited college or university with six semester or equivalent quarter hours in courses related directly to child care and/or child development from birth to age six; or&nbsp;Completion of the credentialing program of the Council for Early Childhood Recognition with a current credential as a Child Development Associate (CDA) or the National Child Care Association with a current credential as a Certified Childcare Professional (CCP).
No written exam requiredIn-service training - 15 clock hours per yearNo requirementReview of qualifications/transcripts/certificates of CDA or CCP and history of employment.Completion of a teacher training program accredited by the American Montessori Society or Association Montessori International may be substituted for the required courses directly related to child care and/or child development. Licensure requirements, licNo
78EE#
  
Education Provider (Insurance)Department of Insurance217.782.6366www.insurance.illinois.gov
An individual who provides insurance related courses which meet the requirements of Rule 3119 of the Illinois Administrative Code.
215 ILCS 5/500-30 of the Ill. Insurance Code Ill. Adm. Rule 3119Registration304No requirement
Bachelor's degree or three (3) years experience in the course subject matter.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$1,000.00 initial provider; $50.00 each courseRenews on 12/31Yes, under the following condition: must be approved in residing state and provide course approval letter with application.
79EE#
  
Egg BreakerDepartment of Agriculture217.785.8301www.agr.state.il.us
Any individual responsible for the removal of eggs from their shells and who processes liquid, frozen or dried egg products.
Illinois Egg and Egg Products Act, 410 ILCS 615License2No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementPerson or companies breaking eggs and buying nest run eggs from Illinois producers are required to be bonded for 1/12 of the dollar amount of annual purchases.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$200.00 per location doing business in Illinois required to be licensed.One yearNo
80EE#
  
Egg Producer-Dealer/ Producer-Packer/ Grader/ Distributor/ Jobber-BrokerDepartment of Agriculture217.785.8301www.agr.state.il.us
A person who feeds and houses poultry and obtains their eggs. Grades, sizes, candles, or packs eggs for sale to consumers, manufacturers or retailers. Distributes eggs or egg products.
Illinois Egg and Egg Products, 410 ILCS 615License (Full and Limited)810No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementProducer-dealer (Limited) is restricted to eggs packed and sold from his own flock.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$15.00 Limited license, $50.00 Full LicenseOne year (annual renewal)No
81EE#
  
Electrical Hoisting EngineerDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual responsible for the safe operation of the electrical and mechanical components of a hoist when workers are being raised or lowered into or out of a coal mine. Responsible for the daily safety check of the hoist.
225 ILCS 705/7.02 (The Coal Mining Act)Certification21 (Must be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.)
Two (2) years experience with electrical hoisting equipment; and,Completed training course approved by department with 30-hour log signed by an active certified hoisting engineer.
Electrical Hoisting EngineerWritten and Oral Performance (hands-on)-Take only after successfully passing the written and oral exams.Every 6 months by the Office of Mines and MineralsNone75%6 monthsNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No expirationNo
82EE#
  
Electronic Criminal Surveillance Officer (Level I, II, III)Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board217.782454www.ptb.state.il.us
An individual who is a local law enforcement officer and who has been designated for and given special assignment to observe and gather information through the use of electronic equipment for the purpose of building cases for criminal prosecution.
Public Act 85-1203CertificationLevel I - 300, Level II- 125, Level III- 30No requirement
a. 10-week basic law enforcement recruitment course; b. Specialized training in electronic criminal surveillance (series course work): 1) Level I - 120 hours 2) Level II - 80 additional hours 3) Level III - 40 additional hours.
Comprehensive Exam on Electronic SurveillanceWrittenDuring annual in-service training70%20 hours per year<ol class='lowerAlpha'><li>Live in county of office,</li><li>Must be a United States citizen.</li></ol>Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Three yearsNo
83EE#
  
Emergency Communication Registered Nurse (ECRN)Department of Public Health217.785.2080www.idph.state.il.us
A registered professional nurse who is approved by an Emergency Medical Services (EMS) medical director to monitor telecommunications from and give voice orders to EMS system personnel in accordance with system protocols.
Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Systems Act, 210 ILCS 50; Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Center Code, 77 Ill Adm. Code 515License4,241 (7/1/09)Not addressed in EMS Act
a. Current Illinois R.N. license; b. Successfully complete education curriculum formulated by the EMS system that consists of at least forty (40) hours of classroom and practical training and eight (8) hours of field experience.
Administered by EMS systemWrittenTraining site, as neededVariable (determined by EMS system)Variable (determined by EMS system)Completion of 32 hours of continuing education in a four year period.U.S. Social Security number requiredLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Four yearsNot addressed in EMS Act
84EE#
  
Emergency Medical DispatcherDepartment of Public Health217.785.2080www.idph.state.il.us
A person who accepts calls from the public for emergency medical services and dispatches designated medical services personnel and vehicles.
Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Systems Act, 210 ILCS 50; Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Center Code, 77 Ill Adm. Code 515Registration3,546 (7/1/09)18
Successful completion of National Standard Curriculum for Emergency Medical Dispatcher.
Administered by EMS lead instructorWrittenBy EMS lead instructor, as neededNoneVariable (determined by EMS lead instructor)Variable (determined by EMS lead instructor)No requirementU.S. Social Security number requiredLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Not addressed by EMS Act
85EE#
  
Emergency Medical Technician Basic (EMT-B)Department of Public Health217.785-2080www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who performs basic life support care to the sick and injured in an ambulance.
Emergency Medical Services Systems Act, 210 ILCS 50; Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Center Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 515License21,080 (7/1/09)18
High school diploma or equivalent;Completion of EMT-B Course (110 hours classroom, 10 hours clinical).
EMT-B State Licensure Exam. Practical Exam administered by EMS Lead Instructor. Exams are not open exams. Students must be pre-registered.WrittenAt least one per month in each of eleven regions throughout the state.$20.0070%May retest two times (three tests total)a. 120 hours of continuing education. b. Current CPR card every four years.U.S. Social Security number requiredLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00Four yearsYes. Must have a current license in another state or a National Registry license and current CPR card.
86EE#
  
Emergency Medical Technician Intermediate (EMT-I)Department of Public Health217.785.2080www.idph.state.il.us
An individual licensed to function in an ambulance and provide intermediate life support services under the direction of an EMS medical director at an approved resource hospital.
Emergency Medical Services Systems Act, 210 ILCS 50; Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Center Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 515License1,100 (7/1/09)18
a. Must be a licensed EMT-B; b. Must have completed an approved training program (200 hours classroom, 150 hours clinical).
Emergency Medical Technician - Intermediate. Exams are not open exams. Candidates must be pre-registered.WrittenAt least one per month in each of eleven regions throughout the state.$30.0070%May retest two times (three tests total)120 hours of continuing education and a current CPR card every four yearsU.S. Social Security number requiredLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00Four yearsYes, under the following condition(s):Based on individual applicant;Present advanced credentials to IDPH. A license will be used if out-of-state or National Registry license is current;Current CPR card.
87EE#
  
Emergency Medical Technician Paramedic (EMT-P)Department of Public Health217.785.2080www.idph.state.il.us
An individual licensed to function in an ambulance and provide basic life support, intermediate life support or advanced life support services under the direction of an EMS medical director at an approved resource hospital.
Emergency Medical Services Systems Act, 210 ILCS 50; Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Center Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 515License12,731 (7/1/09)18
Must be a licensed EMT-B or EMT-I;Must have completed an approved training program (450 hours classroom, 500 hours clinical).
Emergency Medical Technician - Paramedic. Exams are not open exams. Candidates must be pre-registered.WrittenAt least once per month in each of 11 regions throughout the state.$40.0070%May retest two times (three tests total)120 hours of continuing education and a current CPR card every four yearsU. S. Social Security number requiredLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00Four yearsYes, under the following condition(s):Based on individual applicant;Present advanced credentials to IDPH. A license will be issued if out-of-state or National Registry license is current;A current CPR card.
88EE#
  
Employee Leasing CompanyDepartment of Insurance217.782.6366www.insurance.illinois.gov
A business that hires its own employees and leases them to clients under a contractual agreement whereby the leasing company obligates itself to perform specified employer responsibilities.
215 ILCS 113/1Registration213
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$1,000.00One yearYes
89EE#
  
EMS Lead Instructor (LI)Department of Public Health217.785.2080www.idph.state.il.us
A person currently approved by the department to coordinate or teach education, training and continuing education courses.
Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Systems Act, 210 ILCS 50; Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Center Code, 77 Ill Adm. Code 515Registration1,203 (7/1/09)18
Current license as an EMT-Basic, EMT-Intermediate, EMT-Paramedic, RN or physician;At least two years documented teaching experience;Successful completion of National Standard Curriculum for EMT Instructors or equivalent.
EMS Lead InstructorWrittenBy administrative staff, as needed$50.0080%Not addressed in EMS ActTen hours per yearU. S. Social Security number requiredLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Four yearsNot addressed by EMS Act
90EE#
  
Engineer InternIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An engineer who is enrolled as an 'engineer intern' as a result of qualifying by education and examination.
The Professional Engineering Practice Act of 1989 (225 ILCS 325/1 - 325/49, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1380License22,794No requirement
Graduate of an approved engineering curriculum of at least four (4) years; or,Graduate of a non-approved engineering curriculum or a related science curriculum of at least four (4) years and have acquired an additional four (4) years of more progressive engineering experience after conferral of the degree.
Fundamentals of Engineering Examination. Prepared by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Administered by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.; 547 LaGrange Road; LaGrange, IL 60525; (708) 354-9911.WrittenApril and October$162.3570% or greater; scores reported as pass or failAn applicant who fails the examination may retake the examination each April or October within the three year period. The applicant must be approved by the department to retake the examination at the end of the three year period.No requirementNo requirementMust be of good moral character.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$20.00 by examinationIndefiniteNo
91EE#
  
Engineer Intern, StructuralIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who is enrolled as a 'structural engineer intern' as a result of qualifying by education and examination.
The Structural Engineering License Act of 1989 (225 ILCS 340/1 - 340/38, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1480License78No requirement
Graduate of an approved structural engineering curriculum of at least four (4) years, which includes a minimum of 18 semester hours of courses in structural design and analysis; or,Graduate of a related science curriculum of at least four (4) years and have acquired an additional eight (8) years or more of structural engineering experience after conferral of the degree under the direct supervision of a licensed structural engineer.
Fundamentals of Engineering Examination. Prepared by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.; 547 South LaGrange Road; LaGrange, IL 60525; (708) 354-9911.WrittenApril and October$162.3570% or greater; scores reported as pass or failAn applicant who fails an examination may retake the examination each April or October within the three year period. The applicant must be approved by the department to retake the examination at the end of the three years.No requirementNo requirementMust be of good moral character.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00 by examinationIndefiniteNo
92EE#
  
Engineer, ProfessionalIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com\
An individual who, through the knowledge of mathematical and natural sciences, applies judgment to the materials and forces of nature for the planning and design of engineering works and systems which include transportation facilities, sewage facilities, waterway improvement, refrigeration systems, air conditioning, electrical energy facilities, mineral extraction and refining facilities, and chemical processing and production facilities.
The Professional Engineering Practice Act of 1989 (225 ILCS 325/1 - 325/49, Inclusive), 68 Ill. Adm. Cod 1380License19,143No requirement
Must meet one of the following requirements:Graduated from an approved engineering curriculum of at least four (4) years and have acquired an additional four (4) years or more of progressive engineering experience after conferral of the degree;Graduated from a non-approved engineering curriculum or a related science curriculum of at least four (4) years and have acquired an additional eight (8) years or more of progressive engineering experience after conferral of the degree.
Fundamentals of Engineering and Principles of Practice of Engineering Examination. Prepared by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Given by the Continental Testing Service, Inc.; 547 South LaGrange Road; LaGrange, IL 6WrittenApril and October$162.35 Fundamentals of Engineering, $275.65 Principles and Practice of Engineering70% or greater; scores reported as pass or failAn applicant who fails an examination may retake the examination on which a passing score was not achieved. The applicant must be approved by the department to retake the examination at the end of the three years.30 Professional Development Hours (PDH) per renewalNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by examination$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees and proof of completion of Professional Development HoursTwo yearsYes
93EE#
  
Engineer, StructuralIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual engaged in the designing or supervising of the construction, enlargement or alteration of structures.
The Structural Engineering License Act of 1989 (225 ILCS 340/1 - 340/38, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1480License2,512No requirement
Graduate of an approved structural engineering curriculum of at least four (4) years, which includes a minimum of 18 semester hours of courses in structural design and analysis, and have acquired an additional four (4) years or more of structural engineering experience after conferral of the degree under the direct supervision of a licensed structural engineer. At least two (2) of the four (4) years of experience must be in a position of responsibility for the successful accomplishment of the work; or,Graduate of a related science curriculum of at least four (4) years and have acquired an additional eight (8) years or more of structural engineering experience after conferral of the degree under the direct supervision of a licensed structural engineer. At least two (2) of the eight (8) years of experience must be in a position of responsibility for the successful accomplishment of the work.
Fundamentals of Engineering Examination, Structural I Examination, Structural II Examination. Prepared by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.; 547 South LaGrange Road; LaWrittenApril and October$162.35 Fundamentals of Engineering (only), $275.65 Structural I Examination, $780.35 Structural II Examination70% or greater; scores reported as pass or failAn applicant who fails an examination may retake the examination each April or October within the three year period. An applicant is required to retake only the examination on which a passing score was not achieved. The applicant must be approved by the d30 hours of continuing education every renewalNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by examination or endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed fees and proof of completion of continuing educationTwo yearsYes
94EE#
  
Environmental Health PractitionerIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person who, by virtue of education and experience in the physical, chemical, biological, and environmental health sciences, is especially trained to organize, implement, and manage environmental health programs; is trained to carry out education and enforcement activities for the promotion and protection of public health and the environment; and is licensed as an environmental health practitioner.
The Environmental Health Practitioner Licensing Act (225 ILCS 37/1 - 37/135, Inclusive)License410No requirement
Graduate from a bachelor's degree program, which is approved by the National Environmental Health Services and Protection Accreditation Council; or,Graduate from a bachelor's degree program approved by the department and 12 months of full-time experience with an approved supervisor; or,&nbsp;Graduate from a master's degree program in public health or environmental health services.
Environmental Health Proficiency ExamWrittenMarch and September$177.9768% or higherYes20 hours of continuing education required during pre-renewal period - effective April 2000.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by examination and acceptance of examination; $100.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus payment of all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $600.00Two years (All licenses expire on April 30 of every even-numbered year.)Yes.Must show proof of approved education requirements;Must show proof of successful completion of the Environmental Health Exam;Proficiency exam;Must submit verification of completion of 12 hours of full-time experience if the bachelor's degree program i
95EE#
  
EstheticianIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
<p>An individual who, for cosmetic or beautifying purposes, performs services with hands or mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances for the care of the skin. Use of cosmetic preparations, body treatments, body wraps, hydrotherapy, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, creams or other preparations. Massaging, cleansing, or exfoliating the stratum corneum of the epidermis. Stimulating, manipulating, beautifying, grooming or similar work on the face, neck, arms and hands or body in a superficial mode. Applying make-up or eyelashes to any person or lightening hair on the body except the scalp. Removing superfluous hair from the body of any person.</p><p>Estheticians may not perform services for the treatment of diseases or medical disorders.</p><p>Estheticians may not use any technique, product, or practice that is intended to affect the living layers of the skin.</p>Estheticians may not render advice on what is appropriate medical treament for diseases of the skin.
The Barber, Cosmetology Esthetics, and Nail Technology Act of 1985 225 ILCS, 1996 [410/1.1 - 410/23] Inclusive 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1175License4,67016
a. High school graduate or its equivalent or be beyond age of compulsory school attendance; b. Graduated from a licensed esthetics school or a licensed cosmetology or barber school approved to teach esthetics; c. Completed a minimum of 750 hours in the study of esthetics extending over a period of not less than 18 weeks nor more than four (4) consecutive years.
Esthetician Examination. Vended by the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology. Given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.WrittenFour times per year. Sites alternate between Chicago and Springfield.$118.4575%125-hour refresher course required after the third failure. After fourth failure, applicant must repeat the entire course of study.Ten hours of continuing education every two yearsNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00 by examination; $45.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees, not to exceed $135.00Two yearsYes. Requirements for registration or licensure in the state of original license must have been substantially equivalent to the requirements then in effect in Illinois.
96EE#
  
Esthetician TeacherIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who provides instruction in the theory and practice of esthetics, which includes the use of cosmetic preparations, body treatments, body wraps, hydrotherapy, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, creams or other preparations for the care of the skin; massaging, cleansing, or exfoliating the stratum corneum of the epidermis for the care of the skin; stimulating, manipulating, beautifying, grooming or similar work on the face, neck, arms and hands or body in a superficial mode for the care of the skin; applying make-up or eyelashes to any person or lightening hair on the body except the scalp; and removing superfluous hair from the body of any person.An esthetics teacher may also practice as an esthetician.
The Barber, Cosmetology Esthetics, and Nail Technology Act of 1985, 225 ILCS, 1996 [410/1.1 - 410/23] Inclusive 68 Ill. Adm. Code part 1175License9618
High school graduate or its equivalent;Hold an active unencumbered license as an esthetician or cosmetologist;&nbsp;500 hours of teacher training;At least two (2) years of lawful practice as an esthetician or cosmetologist with five (5) years immediately preceding the examination; or,&nbsp;750 hours of teacher training obtained from an approved esthetics school or a cosmetology school approved to teach esthetics.
Esthetics Teacher Examination. Vended by the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology. Given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.WrittenFour (4) times per year. Test sites alternate between Chicago and Springfield.$118.4575%After three failures, must take 80-hour refresher course. After four failures, must repeat the entire course of training.20 hours every two yearsNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00 by examination; $45.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus all lapsed fees not to exceed $135.00Two yearsYes. Requirements which were in force in the applicant's original jurisdiction of licensure must have been substantially equivalent to those in force in Illinois at that time, or three years of lawful practice in another jurisdiction.
97EE#
  
Executive DirectorDepartment of Children and Family Services217.785.2688www.state.il.us/dcfs
A person designated to carry out established policies and procedures and the day-to-day management of the agency.
Rule 401: Licensing Standards for Child Welfare AgenciesApproval of employment at a licensed child welfare agency257 agenciesNo requirement
Must meet one of the following requirements:Master's of social work degree from an accredited school of social work and three years work experience in social work administration;Master's degree in a human services field from an accredited school and five years work experience in human services administration; or,Master's degree in business administration or health administration and five years experience in administration. Such degrees are acceptable only if the executive director never functions as the child welfare supervisor and the child welfare supervisor has a master's of social work degree or a master's degree in a human service field from an accredited school.
No written exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementReview of qualifications through transcripts and employment historyLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No
98EE#
  
Exercise PersonRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
An individual who gallops or exercises the horse on the track each morning.
Sect. 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License287 (Thoroughbred)16
Shall have been previously licensed as an exercise rider by the board or by another racing jurisdiction;If unable to meet this requirement, the applicant shall have been previously licensed in any capacity by the board or in another racing jurisdiction; and,Shall demonstrate to the stewards their ability to ride a galloping racehorse.
Performance (hands-on)No requirementIn all categories except an owner: shall be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$57.00 ($10.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
99EE#
  
Explosives License HolderDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.9976www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person who acquires, uses, possesses, transfers or disposes of explosive materials in Illinois is required to obtain an explosives license.
225 ILCS 210/2001, 62 Ill. Adm. Code 200 (Illinois Explosives Act)LicenseApproximately 1,670Must be at least 21 years old.
Must have not willfully violated the Act;Must have not made a material misstatement on the application;Must have not been declared incompetent;Does not abuse alcohol or drugs;Must have not been convicted of a felony within the last five (5) years; and,&nbsp;Must not be a fugitive from justice.
Oral and Written80% on writtenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, and exam administration are subject to change.$75.00Three yearsA three month temporary license can be obtained with a Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms license or permit.
100EE#
  
Fee Fishing Area OperatorDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person who owns, controls or operates a water area that is used for fishing by those either directly or indirectly paying a fee for such purposes.
ILCS. ch. 515, par 20-95 I Illinois Conservation Law - FishLicense103No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00One year (February 1 - January 31)No
101FF#
  
Feeder Swine DealerDepartment of Agriculture217.782.4944www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who buys and re-sells feeder swine.
Illinois Feeder Swine Dealer Licensing Act (Ill. Rev. Stat, ch. 111, par. 201 et seq)License58No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00One year (January 1 - December 31)No
102FF#
  
Fire Equipment Distributor (Class A, B, C)State Fire Marshal217.785.1010www.state.il.us/osfm
Any person, company or corporation which services, hydro-tests, installs, maintains, recharges, and inspects all types of fire extinguishers.
Public Act 85-1434, 41 Ill. Adm. Code Part 250LicenseClass A - 140, Class B - 86, Class C - 30No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Class A - $100.00, Class B - $200.00, Class C - $300.00 $300,000 liability insuranceOne yearNo
103FF#
  
Fire Equipment Employee (Class 1, 2, 3)State Fire Marshal217.785.1010www.state.il.us/osfm
A person who is currently employed by a distributor licensed under this act whose full or part-time duties include servicing, recharging, hydro-testing, installing, maintaining or inspecting all types of fire extinguishers.
Public Act 85-1434, 41 Ill. Adm. Code Part 250, SB 922LicenseClass 1 - 691, Class 2 - 400, Class 3 - 162No requirement
Class 1 - Minimal knowledge of servicing all types of fire extinguishing systems;Class 2 - Minimal knowledge for servicing pre-engineered fire extinguishing systems;Class 3 - Minimal knowledge for servicing engineered fire extinguishing systems.
Fire Equipment Employee Examination - Class 1,Fire Equipment Employee Examination - Class 2,Fire Equipment Employee Examination - Class 3WrittenAt least quarterly$20.00 per person/per classification65%Unspecified retest. However, must pass within one year of application.No requirementNo requirementMust pass examination, and submit annual fees and current photographsLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$20.00One yearYes. Reviewed on an individual basis according to applicability.
104FF#
  
FirefighterState Fire Marshal217.785.1010www.state.il.us/osfm
A person who protects communities and forests against loss of life, injury and destruction of property through suppression, prevention, investigation and administration of fires. A firefighter is an employee, whether paid, volunteer or paid on call in a recognized fire department in Illinois.
Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 127 1/2 and 85Certification42,500No requirement
Proof of employment;Proof of prerequisite course of study in fire science. (Reference: Ill. Adm. Code, Ch I, Part 140)
Firefighter Certification Exam. (There are several.)WrittenPer request of the entity holding course approval - statewideNo fees70% on written, 100% on practical skillUnlimitedNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Certificates are a permanent record of completion.No
105FF#
  
First Responder and First Responder/ Defibrillator (FR and FRD)Department of Public Health217.785.2080www.idph.state.il.us
A person who provides first response services prior to arrival of an ambulance or specialized emergency medical services vehicle.
Emergency Services System Act, 210 ILCS 50; Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Center Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 515Registration8,877 First Responder, 9,109 First Responder/Defibrillator (7/1/09)18
Administered and formulated by EMS System.
Written and practicalBy EMS System, as neededBy EMS SystemBy EMS SystemFirst Responder - current CPR card,First Responder/Defibrillator - Must complete 24 hours of continuing education every four years and have a current CPR card.U.S. Social Security number requiredLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.<ol class='lowerAlpha'><li>First Responder - continuous,</li><li>First Responder/Defibrillator - four years</li></ol>Not addressed in EMS Act.
106FF#
  
Food Service Sanitation ManagerDepartment of Public Health217.785.2439www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who is the manager and operational supervisor of a food service establishment.
Illinois Food Drug and Cosmetic Act, 410 ILCS 620; Sanitary Food Preparation Act, 410 ILCS 650; Food Handling Regulation Enforcement Act, 410 ILCS 625; Food Service Sanitation Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 750Certification167,000No requirement
Successfully complete a Department of Public Health (IDPH) approved 15-hour Food Service Sanitation Manager Certification (FSSMC) course and monitored examination offered by IDPH or another IDPH-approved examination.
Food Service Sanitation Manager Certification Exam. Approved examinations include those developed by IDPH, Educational Foundation, Professional Testing Institute, Experior Testing Services, and the Dietary Manager Association.WrittenBy appointment once a month at regional offices and by all certified instructors of the FSSMC course75% or higherYes. May be repeated twice.Yes. Meet one of the following requirements before certificate expires:5-hour refresher course.15-hour FSSMC course.Score of 76% or higher on the IDPH renewal examination.5-hour IDPH pre-approved food safety course.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$35.00Five yearsYes, under the following condition(s): IDPH will recognize similar course work and/or certification and develop reciprocity agreements or similar approval agreements with industry, state or local health departments. IDPH has an agreement with the city of
107FF#
  
Food Service Sanitation Manager Certification InstructorDepartment of Public Health217.785.2439www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who teaches food service sanitation certification courses.
Illinois Food Drug and Cosmetic Act, 410 ILCS 620; Sanitary Food Preparation Act, 410 ILCS 650; Food Handling Regulation Enforcement Act, 410 ILCS 625; Food Service Sanitation Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 750Certification1,100No requirement
Possession of high school diploma or its equivalent;Possession of a current Food Service Sanitation Manager Certification (FSSMC) certificate; and,Meets one of the following:Two years experience as a food service sanitation manager;Two years experience as a retail food inspector; orAssociates degree or higher with minimum of 15 hours of science-related coursework.
Completion of monitored Food Service Sanitation Instructor Certification Exam. Exam given by the IDPH.WrittenBy appointment once a month at regional officesNo fee90% or higherYes. May be repeated one time.Yes. 20 hours of continuing education, covering food safety and food sanitation topics. Must be completed every five years for recertification.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Five yearsNo
108FF#
  
Foreman (Stable)Racing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
Any person who works directly under the supervision of the head trainer. Responsible for the operation of the stable, feed time, stall upkeep, equipment upkeep, and blacksmith appointments. Oversees the hotwalker, caretakers, etc.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8, par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License3016
Shall have been licensed previously as a stable foremen by Illinois or by another racing jurisdiction;Shall have been licensed as a groom for at least one (1) year in any racing jurisdiction; and,Shall be able to drive a horse at training speeds.
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$57.00 ($10.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
109FF#
  
Forensic ScientistState Police217.786.6925www.isp.state.il.us
A person in authority and competent to conduct forensic analyses for alcohol, drugs, and/or intoxicating compounds in blood, urine or other bodily fluids.
Ill. Vehicle Code Sect. 11-501.2, Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 95 1/2License250No requirement
Employed by a laboratory certified by the Illinois Department of State Police, Alcohol and Substance Testing Program, to conduct forensic analyses for alcohol, drugs, and/or intoxicating compounds in blood, urine or other bodily fluids.
Performance/hands-on demonstrationLab directorNoneYes; no restrictionsDependent on certified laboratory policyLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Two yearsLab director
110FF#
  
Funeral Director and EmbalmerIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who makes funeral arrangements; prepares, directs or supervises the burial or disposal of deceased human bodies; or performs any act or service in connection with the preparation of the deceased human body. The operation of a place for the preparation for the disposition of deceased human bodies or for caring for deceased human bodies prior to their disposition is also the practice of funeral directing and embalming as is the assumption of custody and the transportation and disposition of deceased human remains.
225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 1996 41/1-1 - 41/30-1, Inclusive 68 IL Adm. Code Part 1250License2,80318
At least 30 semester (45 quarter) hours of college credit and graduation from a 12-month course of study in an approved program of mortuary science; or,An associate's degree in mortuary science or an equivalent associate's degree (i.e. applied science) from an approved program of mortuary science; or,A baccalaureate degree in mortuary science from an approved program of mortuary science;Completion of one year of training under the direct supervision of a licensed funeral director and embalmer.
The International Conference Examination. Given by the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards, Inc.; P.O Drawer E (UPS); 10 W. War Eagle Street, Suite 200; Huntsville, AR 72740-0130; (501) 738-1915.WrittenMonthly$225.00 (Contact International Conference for current rates.)75% for total examination with no score lower than 70% on either sectionUnlimited-must achieve a 75% on each section retakenFuneral directors and embalmers need 24 hours. A funeral director license requires 12 hours.No requirementMust be properly immunized against diphtheria, hepatitis B, and tetanusLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by acceptance of examination; $200.00 by reciprocity$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees, not to exceed $260.00 (funeral directors/embalmers); $20.00 plus all lapsed fees, not to exceed $130.00 (funeral director)Expires May 30 of odd numbered years.Yes. Applicant must have met substantially equivalent requirements in the state of licensure as were then in effect in Illinois and that state must grant a like privilege to Illinois licensees.
111FF#
  
Funeral Director and Embalmer TraineeIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person who is qualified to render assistance to a licensed funeral director and embalmer in carrying out the practice of funeral directing and embalming. All assistance must be performed under the direct supervision of a licensed funeral director and embalmer.
225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 41/1-1 - 41/30-1, Inclusive 68 IL Adm. Code Part 1250License21918
At least 30 semester (45 quarter) hours of college credit and graduation from a 12-month course of study in an approved program of mortuary science; or,Associate's degree in mortuary science or an equivalent associates degree (i.e. applied science) from an approved program of mortuary science; or,A baccalaureate degree in mortuary science from an approved program of mortuary science.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementMust be properly immunized against diphtheria, hepatitis B, and tetanus.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00Expires May 30 of every odd numbered year.No
112FF#
  
Fur Buyer, Non-residentDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual, not a resident of Illinois, who within the State of Illinois, receives, collects or buys or who acts as an agent or broker in the receipt collection or purchase of the green hides of fur bearing and game mammals protected by Illinois Conservation Law.
ILCS. ch 520, par 5/3.14 Illinois Conservation Law - Wildlife; ILCS. ch 520, par 5/3.18 Illinois Conservation Law - Wildlife; ILCS. ch 520, par 5/3.19 - 5/3.20 Illinois Conservation Law - WildlifeLicense4No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$250.00One year (April 1 - March 31)No
113FF#
  
Fur Buyers, Retail and WholesaleDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual who collects, receives, buys, or acts as an agent or broker with receipt, collections, or purchase of the green hides of fur bearing or game mammals protected by Illinois Conservation Law.
ILCS. ch 520, par 5/3.11 - 5/3.15 Illinois Conservation Law - Wildlife; ILCS. ch 520, par 5/3.19 - 5/3.20 Illinois Conservation Law - WildlifeLicense174 - Retail, 21 - WholesaleNo requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00 Retail, $125.00 WholesaleOne year (April 1 - March 31)No
114FF#
  
Fur Tanner or DyerDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any individual who engages in the business of dressing, dyeing, or tanning the green hides of fur bearing or game mammals protected by Illinois Conservation Law.
ILCS. ch 520, par 5/3.16 - 5/3.19 Illinois Conservation Law - WildlifeLicense10No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00One year (April 1 - March 31)No
115FF#
  
Gaming OccupationsGaming Board312.814.4700www.igb.state.il.us
<p>Individuals employed at a riverboat gaming operation are required to hold a license. A licensee may perform any activity included within the licensee's level of occupation license or any lower level.</p><p>There are three levels of occupation licenses for gaming workers in Illinois.</p><p>LEVEL ONE - People who have authority to develop or administer policy, long-range plans, or to make discretionary decisions regulating gaming operations; people responsible for major sections within the casino or its property, even if no gaming is conducted in the area (such as a hotel or restaurant). Level One occupations include chief of security, casino manager, audit manager, and table games manager.</p><p>LEVEL TWO - Employees who operate or maintain casino games, or who come in contact with gaming money, chips, tokens, credit slips, etc., but who are not supervisors. Level Two occupations include accountants and financial controllers, card dealers and other table game workers, and cashiers.</p>LEVEL THREE - Employees who work in an area where gaming is conducted, or in areas that directly affect gaming, but do not conduct the games or come in contact with gaming money, chips, tokens, credit slips, etc. Level Three occupations include housekeepers in casino area, non-gaming maintenance staff in casino area, waiters/waitresses in casino area, and security guards.
230 ILCS 10 Riverboat Gambling ActLicenseAt least 21 years of age if the applicant will perform any function involved in gaming by patrons. Any applicant seeking an occupation license for a non-gaming function shall be at least 18 years of age.
Each casino establishes its own requirements for education, training and experience. Applicants for occupation licenses must be photographed and fingerprinted at the time of application. The licensing application process also includes a background investigation.
No exam requiredNo requirementFederal law230 ILCS 10/9 Sec. 9 Occupational Licenses. To be eligible for an occupational license, an applicant must not have been convicted of a felony offense, violation of Article 28 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or a similar statute of any other jurisdiction, or Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Occupation License, Level 1 - $1,000.00; Occupation License, Level 2 - $200.00; Occupation License, Level 3 - $75.00$50.00One yearNo
116GG#
  
Ginseng Dealers, Resident and Non-ResidentDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person engaged in the business of buying wild or cultivated ginseng from homesteads, growers or other dealers for resale.
ILCS ch 525, par 20/0-01 Illinois Conservation Law - WildlifeLicense30 - Resident, 9 - WholesaleNo requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00 Resident, $100.00 Non-residentOne year (April 1 - March 31)No
117GG#
  
Ginseng GrowerDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person engaged in the propagation and harvesting of cultivated ginseng.
ILCS ch 525, par. 20/0/01 Illinois Conservation Law - WildlifeLicense55No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00One year (April 1 - March 31)No
118GG#
  
Grain DealerDepartment of Agriculture217.782.2895www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who is engaged in buying grain from producers.
Grain Code, 240 ILCS 40/1-1 et seqLicense307 Persons/companies18 (By policy)
Required that applicant have qualifications and background essential for the conduct of a grain dealer's business.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementMeets financial requirements, and has a good business reputation, sufficient financial resources, and permanent business location. Refer to above referenced statutes for complete licensing requirements.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$200.00One yearNo
119GG#
  
Grain Warehouse Operator (Warehouseman)Department of Agriculture217.782.2895www.agr.state.il.us
Any person who owns, controls, operates, or manages any public grain warehouse in which grain is stored for compensation.
Grain Code, 240 ILCS 40/1-1 et seqLicense295 companies18
No formal requirements other than have sufficient work experience and/or educational background to operate a grain warehouse.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementGood business reputation and has met financial requirements. Refer to above referenced statutes for complete licensing requirements.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$200.00PerpetualNo
120GG#
  
Groom (Harness)Racing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
Any person responsible for practical care of the horse: feeding, grooming, cleaning stalls, and attending to its general care.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License56216
Shall document evidences of an offer of employment before being granted a license;Offer shall be established by the signature on the license application of the licensed trainer who has actually offered such employment to the applicant.
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$52.00 ($5.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
121GG#
  
Groom (Thoroughbred)Racing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
Any person responsible for practical care of the horse: feeding, grooming, cleaning stalls and attending to its general care.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License95316
Documented evidence of an offer of employment before being granted a license;Evidence of experience in care and handling of thoroughbred race horses. Such evidence shall be established by: previous licensure as a groom by any racing jurisdiction; or one (1) year's experience as a licensed hotwalker; or written evidence of employment as a groom at a thoroughbred training or breeding establishment.
Performance (hands-on)No requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$52.00 ($5.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
122GG#
  
Hearing Instrument DispenserDepartment of Public Health217.782.4733www.idph.state.il.us
Any person who sells to and services hearing instruments for the deaf/hard of hearing.
Hearing Instrument Consumer Protection Code 77 Ill. Adm. Code 682License343 active18
Effective January 1, 2001, minimum associate degree with specific coursework in anatomy and physiology of the speech and hearing mechanism, hearing science, introduction to audiology, and aural rehabilitation.
Hearing Aid Licensing ExamWritten and performanceAlternating months$125.00 written exam, $200.00 performance exam70% or better (53 out of 75 correct) - written exam20 hours every two yearsYes, registered alienLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$40.00$80.00Two yearsNo
123HH#
  
HotwalkerRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
Any person who walks a horse to cool him out after a race or workout.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License50016
Shall document evidences of an offer of employment before being granted a license;Offer shall be established by the signature on the license application of the licensed trainer offering employment.
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$52.00 ($5.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
124HH#
  
Humane Euthanasia TechnicianIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person who is employed by a licensed Humane Euthanasia Agency or works under the direct supervision of a veterinarian who administers euthanasia drugs to euthanize animals.
The Humane Euthanasia in Animal Shelters Act (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 2002 72/1-72/180 inclusive) 68 Ill Adm. Code 1248License18
None
Certification as a technician from American Humane Association; National Animal Control AssociationWrittenWhen available via local organizationsSet by testing providerYesNoNo requirementVerification of fingerprint processing from the Illinois Department of State Police or its approved vendor.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$150.00$20.00 plus all lapsed payments not to exceed $300.00Two years (All licenses expire April 30 of even numbered years.)Certification from original state of licensure and verification of fingerprint processing.
125HH#
  
Hunting Area Operator, Commercial Migratory WaterfowlDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person who manages or controls land, water, or both for the commercial purposes of the taking of wild ducks and geese.
ILCS ch 520, par 5/3.6, 5/3.7, 5/3.8, 5/3.9 - Illinois Conservation Law - Wildlife; ILCS ch 520, par 5/2.18, 5/2.18-1, 5/2.19 - Illinois Conservation Law - Wildlife; ILCS ch 520, par 5/2.20, 5/2.23 - Illinois Conservation Law - WildlifeLicense300No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$15.00 per blindDuck and goose seasonNo
126HH#
  
Hunting Area Operator, Exotic GameDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual who imports wild or semi-domestic mammals for the purpose of providing hunting with bow and arrow or gun.
ILCS ch 520, par 5/3.34 - Illinois Conservation Law - WildlifeLicense0No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for one yearLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$1,000.00One year (May 1 - April 30)No
127HH#
  
Illinois County CoronerLaw Enforcement Training and Standards Board217.782.4540www.ptb.state.il.us
Any individual whose primary function is to investigate, by inquest, any death that may be of other than natural causes.
Public Act 85-895CertificationUnknown18
40-hour basic course
Written70%Three24 hours per yearMust live in county of office.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.UnknownNo
128II#
  
Illinois County SheriffLaw Enforcement Training and Standards Board217.782.4540www.ptb.state.il.us
Any official of a county who is in charge primarily with judicial duties.
Public Act 85-985CertificationUnknownNo requirement
No requirement
Written70%20 hours per yearMust live in county of office.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.UnknownNo
129II#
  
Insurance Adjuster, PublicDepartment of Insurance217.782.6366www.insurance.illinois.gov
Any person engaged in the business of adjusting insurance claims. Represents an insured individual for compensation and, while representing that insured, either negotiates values, damages, or depreciation by applying the loss circumstances to insurance policy provisions.
215 ILCS 5/512.51 thru 215 ILCS 5/512.64 of the Illinois Insurance Code, specifically 215 ILCS 5/512.53License30018
None required, but a substantial background in property insurance is needed.
Given by Pearson Vue, P.O. Box 8588, Philadelphia, PA 19101-8588, 800-274-0402, www.pearsonvue.comElectronic testing deviceUpon request - Monday through Saturday$73.0070%As often as the applicant wishesNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00One yearYes, under the following condition: person must be licensed in state of residence and provide a certification of such from the other state.
130II#
  
Insurance ProducerDepartment of Insurance217.782.6366www.insurance.illinois.gov
An individual who solicits, negotiates, effects, procures, renews, continues, or binds policies of insurance covering property or risks in Illinois.
215 ILCS 5/500.10 thru 215 ILCS 5/500-150 of the Illinois Insurance CodeLicense81,145 Residents; 88,250 Non-residents18
Fifteen (15) hours per line (Life, Accident &amp; Health, Property, Casualty) of pre-licensing education; and,Thirty (30) hours of education prior to renewal (2 years).
Illinois Insurance Licensing Examination. Given by Pearson Vue, P.O. Box 8588, Philadelphia, PA 19101-8588, 800-274-0402, www.pearsonvue.com.Electronic Testing DeviceDaily - Monday through Saturday$103.00 paid to the test administratorCut score established by a cut score study and set by the department.As often as the applicant wishesYes. Prior to renewal, the licensee must complete 30 hours of continuing education.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$180.00$180.00 plus license fee of $180.00Two yearsYes, under the following conditions: person must be licensed in state of residence and provide a certification of such from the other state.
131II#
  
Interior DesignerIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person, qualified by education, experience, and examinations, who administers contracts for fabrication, procurement, or installation in the implementation of designs, drawings, and specifications for any interior design project. Offers or furnishes professional services, such as consultations, studies drawings, and specifications in connection with location of lighting fixtures, lamps, and specifications of ceiling finishes as shown in reflected ceiling plans, space planning, furnishings, or the fabrication of non-loadbearing structural elements within and surrounding interior spaces of buildings.
The Interior Design Profession Title Act 225 ILCS; 310/1 - 310/31, Inclusive, 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1255Registration1,701No requirement
Must meet one of the following requirements:Graduate of a five (5) year approved interior design program with at least two (2) years of full-time diversified interior design experience;Graduate of a four (4) year approved interior design with at east two (2) years of full-time diversified interior design experience;Graduate of a three (3) year approved interior design program with at least three (3) years of full-time diversified interior design experience;Graduate of a two (2) year approved interior design program with at least four (4) years of full-time diversified interior design experience;&nbsp;Graduates of a non-approved curriculum must submit official transcripts of interior design course work from institution attended.
National Council for Interior Design Qualification Exam (NCIDQ) (six-part exam). Given by the National Council for Interior Design Qualification; 1200 18th Street, NW, Suite 1001; Washington, DC 20036-2506; (202) 721-0220.WrittenApril and OctoberExamination fees (as of August 2000) Section 2001, 2002, 2003, I. Multiple Choice $195, $205, $215, II. Multiple Choice $145, $160, $175, III. Practicum $325, $340, $350. All sections during same exam admin. $595, $625, $650.Yes. All sections must be passed within five (5) years of initial registration of exam.No requirementAn applicant who is an architect licensed under the laws of Illinois may be granted registration as an interior designer provided applicant submits proof of an active architectural license in Illinois.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by acceptance of examination; $40.00 Non-examination - architect only; $100.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo yearsYes.Proof of original and current licensure from jurisdiction that issued the licenses;Proof of fulfilled educational requirements;Proof of successful completion of the NCIDQ exam;Proof of appropriate full-time diversified interior design experience.
132II#
  
Interior Designer, ResidentialIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person who is registered to provide design services for single-family private dwellings, including single family private residences or dwellings within a multiple residence, excluding the common areas.
The Interior Design Profession Title Act 225 ILCS; 310/1 - 310/31, Inclusive, 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1255Registration119No requirement
Must meet one of the following requirements:Graduate of a five (5) year approved interior design program with at least two (2) years of full-time diversified interior design experience;Graduate of a four (4) year approved interior design with at least two (2) years of full-time diversified interior design experience;Graduate of a three (3) year approved interior design program with at least three (3) years of full-time diversified interior design experience;Graduate of a two (2) year approved interior design program with at least four (4) years of full-time diversified interior design experience;Certification of a high school diploma or GED plus five (5) years of full-time diversified residential interior design experience.
Council for Qualification of Residential Interior Designers (CQRID). Given by the CQRID; P.O. Box 1757; High Point, NC 27261; (800) 888-9590 ext. 6118.WrittenSeptember$350.00, $200.00 multiple choice (retake fee), $225.00 design practicum (retake fee), $35.00 administrative feeYes. Both sections must be passed within five (5) years of initial registration of exam.No requirementAn applicant who is an architect licensed under the laws of Illinois may be granted registration as a residential interior designer provided applicant submits proof of an active architectural license in Illinois.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by acceptance of examination; $40.00 non-examination - architect only; $100.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo yearsYes.Proof of original and current licensure from jurisdiction that issued the licenses;Proof of fulfilled educational requirements;&nbsp;Proof of successful completion of the NCIDQ exam;&nbsp;Proof of appropriate full-time diversified interior design expe
133II#
  
Intertrack EmployeeRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
An employee of an intertrack wagering facility.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License12716
Shall not perform work or services on the grounds of an inter-track wagering facility without first obtaining a license.
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$70.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
134II#
  
Invention DeveloperSecretary of State217.782.2017www.sos.state.il.us
Any person who evaluates the market potential of an invention or presents an invention to a potential distributor or manufacturer of the invention.
815 ILCS 620/101 - 620/704Registration3No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo fees requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.A $25,000 surety bond is required to be filedPermanent as long as bond is in force.No
135II#
  
Investment AdviserSecretary of State217.785.4929www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/securities/home.html
An individual who, for compensation, engages in the business of advising others, either directly or through publications or writings, as to the value of securities or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling securities or who, for direct or indirect compensation and as part of a regular advisory business, issues or promulgates analysis or reports concerning securities.
Illinois Securities Law of 1953 (815 ILCS 5/1)Registration75018
Attainment of one of the following provides a waiver for the examination:Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA);Chartered Investment Counselor (CIC);Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC);Certified Financial Planner (CFP); or&nbsp;Personal Financial Specialist (PFS).
a. Series 65 Exam, or b. Series 7 Exam and Series 66 Exam.ComputerExams administered thru Pearson Professional Centers and Prometric Testing Centers. Hours may vary.Series 7-$265, Series 66-$128; Series 65-$13570%Three timesNo requirementNo requirementThe entity must have an exam-qualified principal.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$400.00Calendar yearNo
136II#
  
Investment Advisor RepresentativeSecretary of State217.782.2256www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/securities/home.html
An individual who, for compensation, engages in the business of advising others, either directly or through publications or writings, as to the value of securities or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling securities or who, for direct or indirect compensation and as part of a regular advisory business, issues or promulgates analysis or reports concerning securities.
Illinois Securities Law of 1953 (815 ILCS 5/1)Registration14,00018
Attainment of one of the following provides a waiver for the examination:Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA);Chartered Investment Counselor (CIC);Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC);Certified Financial Planner (CFP); or,&nbsp;Personal Financial Specialist (PFS).
Series 65 Exam, orSeries 7 Exam and Series 66 Exam.ComputerExams administered thru Pearson Professional Centers and Prometric Testing Centers. Hours may vary.Series 65-$135.00, Series 7-$265.00 and Series 66-$128.0070%Three timesNo requirementNo requirementThe employing investment advisor firm must have an exam-qualified principal.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$150.00Calendar yearNo
137II#
  
JockeyRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
A professional race rider of thoroughbred horses who maneuvers for an advantageous position in relation to the other horses in the race.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License125 (Thoroughbred only)18
Have been licensed previously as a jockey or apprentice jockey by the board or by another racing jurisdiction;&nbsp;Have been found, by a licensed physician, to be physically able to ride in competitive horse races.
Jockey ExamPhysicalNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
138JJ#
  
Jockey AgentRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
Any individual employed by a jockey to secure mounts (rides) for him.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License32 (Thoroughbred only)18
Shall have been licensed previously as a jockey agent by the board or by another racing jurisdiction, and shall not represent more than two jockeys;If applicant has never been licensed, the applicant shall have at least one year of experience as an occupation licensee in Illinois or in another racing jurisdiction, and shall pass with a grade of 75% a written examination administered by the stewards.
Jockey Agent Exam. Given by the stewards.WrittenNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
139JJ#
  
Jockey, ApprenticeRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
An individual who has entered into a contract with an owner or trainer or has been issued an apprentice certificate to ride in races. Has the ability to break a horse from a starting gate in company with other horses and under the observation of the starter.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License/Certification7 (Thoroughbred only)18
Have been found, by a licensed physician, to be physically able to ride;Have ridden competitively in at least two races;Demonstrate the ability to break a horse;Have been licensed for at least one year by the board or another racing jurisdiction as an exercise rider;Have acquired riding experience comparable to that of an exercise person at a training center or farm;Upon completion of the above criteria, an apprentice jockey may either race under contract to a licensed owner or trainer or be issued an apprentice certificate.
Jockey Apprentice ExamWrittenNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
140JJ#
  
Laboratory Analysis of Radon DevicesEmergency Management Agency217.785.9900www.iema.illinois.gov
Individuals who perform services to detect the presence of radon or radon progeny or calibrate radon measurement devices.
Radon Industry Licensing Act 32 Illinois Administrative Code 422License20None
Quality assurance program approved by the agency.
No requirementNoneNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$500.00Five yearsAgency approved courses
141LL#
  
Land Surveyor, ProfessionalIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who performs surveying, or measuring, in an area to determine the contour, location, and dimension of land features, including plotting of lands and subdivisions, designating and labeling and identifying legal lines and property lines, and monumenting land boundaries.
Illinois Professional Land Surveyor Act of 1989 (225 ILCS 330/1 - 30/49, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1270License1,278No requirement
Has been issued a Land Surveyor-in-Training License based on the education and examination qualifications for a Land Surveyor-in-Training;Subsequent to passage of the Fundamentals of Land Surveying Examination, has acquired at least four (4) years of land surveying experience in responsible charge of the land surveying operations under the direct supervision and control of a Professional Land Surveyor;A baccalaureate degree in related science including at least 24 semester hours of land surveying courses from a board-approved curriculum of an accredited institution.
Principles and Practice of Land Surveying Examination. Prepared by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES).State Constructed Illinois Jurisdictional Examination. Both administered by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.; WrittenApril and October$272.30 Principles and Practice of Land Surveying, $216.30 State Constructed Illinois Jurisdictional70% or greater with a score reported as pass or failAn applicant who fails the examination may retake the examination each April or October within a three year period. The applicant must be approved by the department to retake the examination at the end of the three year period.20 Professional Development Hours (PDH) per renewalNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$150.00 by examination or endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed fees and proof of completion of Professional Development HoursTwo yearsYes
142LL#
  
Land Surveyor-in-TrainingIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who has qualified by education and works under the direct supervision of a licensed professional surveyor for the purpose of qualifying for licensure as a professional land surveyor.
Illinois Professional Land Surveyor Act of 1989 (225 ILCS 330/1 - 330/49, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1270.License203No requirement
A baccalaureate degree in land surveying from an accredited college or university; or,A baccalaureate degree in a related science including at least 24 semester hours of land surveying courses from a board-approved curriculum of an accredited institution.
Fundamentals of Land Surveying Examination. Prepared by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Administered by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.; 547 South LaGrange Road; LaGrange, IL 60525; (708) 354-9911.WrittenApril and October$205.2070% or greater with a score reported as pass or failAn applicant who fails the examination may retake the examination each April or October within a three year period. The applicant must be approved by the department to retake the examination at the end of the three year period.No requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$75.00 by examinationTen years with no renewalNo
143LL#
  
Landfill Chief Operator (Prior Conduct Certification)Environmental Protection Agency217.782.0462www.epa.state.il.us
An individual responsible for the management and operation of a waste disposal site on a 24-hour basis.
35 Ill. Adm. Code, Subtitle G, Part 745Certification483No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.One yearNo
144LL#
  
Landscape ArchitectIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who is engaged in the art and science of arranging land, together with the spaces and objects upon it, for creating a safe, efficient, healthful, and aesthetically pleasing physical environment for human use and enjoyment.
Illinois Landscape Architecture Act of 1989 (225 ILCS, 315/1 - 315/32, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Admin. Code Part 1275Registration (Title Protection)707No requirement
Graduate with a degree from an approved landscape architecture program;Two years of professional experience in landscape architecture practice under the direct supervision of a landscape architect, architect, or engineer;Complete work history.
Landscape Architect Registration Examination of the Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Board. Given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.WrittenSections A-E in June; December sectionsExamination Test Codes Test Fees Section A: Legal &amp; Administrative Aspects of Practice 01 $46.35; Section B: Analytical Aspects of Practice 02 $87.55; Section C: Planning and Site Design 03 $180.25; Section D: Structural Consideration &amp; Materials 75% or greater in each sectionYes. Must pass within three years from date of application. Applicant may thereafter make a new application for examination.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by acceptance of examination; $100.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus lapsed feesTwo yearsYes.Is currently registered under the laws of another state or U.S. territory;Certification of a landscape architecture degree from a program approved by Department of Professional Regulation;Certification of two years of professional experience in landsc
145LL#
  
Law Enforcement OfficerLaw Enforcement Training and Standards Board217.782.4540www.ptb.state.il.us
An individual who, as an employee of a local government agency, is primarily responsible for the prevention or detection of crime and the enforcement of the criminal, drug, traffic, or highway laws of this state.
Illinois Police Training Act, 50 ILCS 705/1CertificationUnknown21
High school diploma or equivalent;Some departments require some college.
Law Enforcement Officer Certification ExaminationWrittenAfter successful completion of basic recruit training at an academyNone66%ThreeNo requirementMay be a requirement of the hiring authority.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.LifetimeYes
146LL#
  
Lawyer (Attorney-at-Law)Supreme Court217.782.2035www.state.il.us/court
An individual who counsels people on legal courses of action in business or personal matters. A lawyer may represent one of the opposing parties in criminal and civil trials by presenting arguments that support the client in a court of law.
Supreme Court Rules ('Rules')701 through 713; 705 ILCS 205/0.01 et. seq.License and annual registrationApproximately 84,00021 (Rule 701)
College degree.;Law degree from law school approved by the American Bar Association (Rule 703).
Illinois State Bar Examination. Exam given by: Illinois Board of Admissions to the Bar; 625 S. College St.; Springfield, IL 62704; (217) 522-5917.WrittenFebruary and JulyVaries (see Rule 706)Applicant does not receive a numerical grade. There is a standard, but it is not published.YesYes (Rules 790-797)No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees, exam administration, and annual registration fees to practice are subject to change.$5.00 statutory license fee; annual registration fee per Rule 756 $289 with some exceptions.See Rule 756.Indefinite unless disciplined by the Supreme Court; the renewal of registration to practice is annual (Rule 756).Yes. The requirements for qualification on foreign license are prescribed by the Supreme Court. (Rule 705)
147LL#
  
Lead InspectorDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who has been trained by a Department-approved training program and is licensed by the Department to conduct lead inspections; to sample for the presence of lead in paint, dust, soil, and water; and to conduct compliance investigations.
Illinois Lead Poisoning Prevention Act, 410 ILS/45/et. seq. 77 IL Admin Code Sec 845.125License75Must be at least 18 years of age
Submit Illinois-approved training course completion certificates, including an initial lead inspector training course certificate and any subsequent refresher certificates required to maintain accreditation. Submit a recent 2' x 2' photograph of the applicant for proper identification of the licensee. The picture shall have the printed name of applicant on the reverse side. The license will not be issued without an identification photograph.
Lead Inspector ExamMultiple choiceIllinois Department of Public Health70%TwoComplete an Illinois-approved one-day (8-hour) inspector refresher course every three years.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00$100.00 application fee, plus $50.00 for each year the license has expired.Lead inspector licenses expire January 31 of each year, except that a first-time license issued after October 31 and before January 31 shall expire the next following January 31.Each applicant for licensure who is licensed or certified by another USEPA authorized state or tribal lead program in any of the disciplines specified in Section 845.125 may request reciprocal licensure. The Department shall evaluate the requirements for
148LL#
  
Lead Risk AssessorDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who has been trained by a Department-approved training program and is licensed by the Department to conduct lead risk assessments, lead inspection, and lead hazard screens; to sample for the presence of lead in paint, dust, soil and water; and to conduct compliance investigations.
Illinois Lead Poisoning Prevention Act, 410 ILS/45/et. seq. 77 IL Admin Code Sec 845.125License416Must be at least 18 years of age
Submit an initial lead inspector training course certificate and any subsequent refresher certificates required to maintain accreditation, and an initial lead risk assessor training course certificate and any subsequent refresher certificates required to maintain accreditation; or an initial lead risk assessor training course certificate and any subsequent refresher certificates required to maintain accreditation, and a current Illinois lead inspector license; and possess one of the following combinations of education and experience:A bachelor of science degree in engineering, or an environmental or health-related field; or,A bachelor's degree in any discipline and one (1) year of experience in a related field (e.g., lead, asbestos or environmental remediation work, or construction); or,An associate's degree in any discipline and two (2) years of experience in a related field (e.g., lead, asbestos or environmental remediation work, or construction); or,A high school diploma (or equivalent) and at least three (3) years of experience in a related field (e.g., lead, asbestos or environmental remediation work, or construction); or,&nbsp;Licensure as an industrial hygienist, professional engineer, architect or environmental health practitioner; and submit a recent 2' x 2' photograph of the applicant for proper identification of the licensee. The picture shall have the printed name of applicant on the reverse side. The license will not be issued without an identification photograph.
Lead Risk Assessor ExamMultiple choiceIllinois Department of Public Health70%TwoComplete an Illinois-approved one-day (8-hour) risk assessor refresher course every three years.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00$100.00 application fee, plus $50.00 for each year the license has expired.Lead risk assessor licenses expire January 31 of each year, except that a first-time license issued after October 31 and before January 31 shall expire the next following January 31.Each applicant for licensure who is licensed or certified by another USEPA authorized state or tribal lead program in any of the disciplines specified in Section 845.125 may request reciprocal licensure. The Department shall evaluate the requirements for
149LL#
  
Lead SupervisorDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
A licensed lead supervisor can conduct lead mitigation and lead abatement activities only with a licensed lead abatement contractor. The licensed lead supervisor can conduct lead mitigation and lead abatement without a lead worker license.
Illinois Lead Poisoning Prevention Act, 410 ILS/45/et. seq. 77 IL Admin Code Sec 845.125License654Must be at least 18 years of age
Submit Illinois-approved training course completion certificates, including an initial lead supervisor training course certificate and any subsequent refresher certificates required to maintain accreditation. One (1) year of experience as a certified lead-based paint abatement worker; or, two (2) years of experience in a related field (e.g., lead, asbestos or environmental remediation work) or in the building trades. Submit a recent 2' x 2' photograph of the applicant for proper identification of the licensee. The picture shall have the printed name of applicant on the reverse side. The license will not be issued without an identification photograph.
Lead Supervisor ExamMultiple choiceIllinois Department of Public Health70%TwoComplete an Illinois-approved one-day (8-hour) supervisor refresher course every three years.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00$100.00 application fee, plus $50.00 for each year the license has expired.Lead supervisor licenses expire March 31 of each year, except that a first-time license issued after December 31 and before March 31 shall expire the following March 31.Each applicant for licensure who is licensed or certified by another USEPA authorized state or tribal lead program in any of the disciplines specified in Section 845.125 may request reciprocal licensure. The Department shall evaluate the requirements for
150LL#
  
Lead WorkerDepartment of Public Health217.782.3517www.idph.state.il.us
Licensed lead workers can conduct lead mitigation and lead abatement activities only with a licensed lead abatement contractor under the direct supervision of a licensed lead supervisor.
Illinois Lead Poisoning Prevention Act, 410 ILS/45/et. seq. 77 IL Admin Code Sec 845.125License1,181Must be at least 18 years of age
Submit certificate of completion of an Illinois-approved lead worker three-day (24-hour) course. The course must have been completed within three years before the date the department receives the application. Submit a recent 2' x 2' photograph of the applicant for proper identification of the licensee. The picture shall have the printed name of applicant on the reverse side. The license will not be issued without an identification photograph.
Complete an Illinois-approved one-day (8-hour) worker refresher course every three years.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00$50.00 application fee, plus $25.00 for each year the license has expiredLead worker licenses expire March 31 of each year, except that a first-time license issued after December 31 and before March 31 shall expire the next following March 31.
151LL#
  
Licensed Dietitian/NutritionistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person licensed by the department to practice dietetics. Dietetics includes all aspects of nutrition care for individuals and groups, including, but not limited to, nutrition assessment, nutrition counseling, nutrition education, nutrition services, and medical nutrition care. Activities of a licensed dietitian do not include the medical differential diagnosis of the health status of an individual.
The Dietetic and Nutrition Services Practice Act (225 Illinois Compiled Statute 1992 30/1 - 30/180, Inclusive)License3,206No requirement
Graduate from an approved bachelor's degree program in human nutrition, foods and nutrition, dietetics, food systems management, or nutrition education;Proof of 900 hours of supervised experience with an approved supervisor, or proof of current registration with the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR).
ComputerizedAny time based on candidate's request$183.75Determined by the testing serviceYes-After three failures, applicant must complete six semester hours of dietetic coursework.30 hours of continuing education required during pre-renewal period - effective October 1999.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by examination and acceptance of examination; $200.00 by endorsement$25.00 plus payment of all lapsed renewal feesTwo years (All licenses expire on October 31 of each odd-numbered year.)Yes.Must show proof of approved education requirements;Must show proof of successful completion of the CDR exam;Must submit verification of 900 hours of supervised experience with an approved supervisor; d. Must show proof of original and current licensur
152LL#
  
Licensed Nail TechnicianIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person who provides the following services: manicures, pedicures, decorates nails, applies sculptured or other artificial nails, or in any way cares for the nails or skin of the hands or feet including massaging the hands, arms, elbows, feet, lower legs and knees for other than the treatment of medical disorders.
225 ILCS 410/1-1 - 410/4-23, InclusiveLicense9,93916
Graduate of a licensed nail technology school or licensed cosmetology school approved to teach nail technology.
Administered by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.WrittenOffered daily at 14 alternating test centers.$176.0075%Individuals who fail to pass three exams must complete a 60-hour refresher course. Individuals who fail to pass the fourth exam must re-complete the entire course of study.10 hours every two yearsLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00 by examination; $45.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus payment of lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $135.00Two yearsYes. Requirements for licensure were substantially equivalent to those then in effect in Illinois. All endorsement applicants must take and pass the Illinois Nail Technician Licensure Examination prior to licensure.
153LL#
  
Licensed Professional GeologistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person who provides the following services: mapping, sampling, and analysis of earth materials, interpretation of data, and the preparation of oral or written testimony regarding the probable geological causes of events; planning, review and supervision of data-gathering activities, interpretation of geological data gathered by direct or indirect means, preparation of geological maps, cross-sections, interpretive maps and reports for the purpose of evaluating regional or site-specific geological conditions; the planning, review, and supervision of data-gathering activities and interpretation of data on regional or site-specific geological characteristics affecting groundwater; the interpretation of geological conditions on the surface and at the depth of a specific site on Earth's surface for the purpose of determining whether those conditions correspond to a geologic map of the site; and the conducting of environmental property audits.
225 ILCS 745; 68 IL Adm. Code 1252License890
A degree in geology with a minimum of 30 semester or 45 quarter hours of course credits in geology, of which 24 semester or 36 quarter hours are in upper level courses;A minimum of four (4) years of professional experience, obtained after the completion of the education requirements, in geologic or directly related work. Two (2) of the four (4) years have been gained under the supervision of an Illinois-licensed professional geologist or a geologist licensed in another jurisdiction having substantially equivalent licensure requirements.
ASBOG Examination. Administered by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.Offered two times per year on national test dates.Fundamentals of Geology: $230.50, Practice of Geology: $230.50, Fundamentals and Practice of Geology: $385.00National passNo requirementsLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$250.00 by examination; $250.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus payment of all lapsed renewal fees, not to exceed $300.00Two yearsYes. The current licensure requirements of the other U.S. jurisdiction in which the applicant is licensed must be substantially equivalent to or more stringent than those of Illinois.
154LL#
  
Licensing Worker (Child Welfare Agency)Department of Children and Family Services217.785.2688www.state.il.us/dcfs
An individual who is authorized to monitor licensed foster homes, adoptive homes, and licensed day care homes for compliance with licensing standards.
Rule 401: Licensing Standards for Child Welfare AgenciesApproval for employment in a licensed child welfare agencyUnknownNo requirement
Bachelor's degree from an accredited school
Must pass examination on the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10] and the licensing rules of the facility type to be monitored.Review of qualifications through transcriptsAs requestedNo limitNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.
155LL#
  
Livestock Auction Market OperatorDepartment of Agriculture217.782.4944www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who accepts consignments of livestock from the public for sale, resale, or exchange on commission.
Livestock Auction Market Law (Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 121 1/2, par. 208 et seq)License26No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$200.00One year (January 1 - December 31)No
156LL#
  
Livestock Buyer/ Broker/ SlaughterDepartment of Agriculture217.782.4944www.agr.state.il.us
A Buyer is an individual who purchases livestock for the purpose of slaughtering it for food and selling the meat products there from. A Broker is an individual who buys slaughtered livestock from the producer for resale to a meat plant.
Slaughter Livestock Buyers Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 111, par. 501 et seq)Registration210No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.PerpetualNo
157LL#
  
Livestock DealerDepartment of Agriculture217.782.4944www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who buys or offers to sell, exchange, barter, or negotiate the sale of cattle, goats, sheep, or swine other than feeder swine.
Illinois Livestock Dealer Licensing Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 111, par. 401 et seq)License190No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00One year (April 16 - April 15)No
158LL#
  
Loan BrokersSecretary of State217.782.2256www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/securities/home.html
Persons who, in return for a fee from any person who is domiciled in the State of Illinois, promise to procure a loan for any person or assist any person in procuring a loan from any third party, or who promise to consider whether or not to make a loan to any person. Must be registered as a loan broker with the Secretary of State, unless exempt under law.
Illinois Loan Brokers Act of 1995 (815 ILCS 175/15-1)Registration3518
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$360.00Calendar yearCertain exemptions from registration are contained in the law.
159LL#
  
LobbyistSecretary of State217.782.7017www.cyberdriveillinois.com
Any individual who, for compensation or on behalf of any person other than himself, undertakes to promote or oppose the passage of any legislation by the General Assembly or any committee thereof or the approval or veto by the Governor.
25 ILCS 170/1 - 170/12Registration1,941No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementA photograph suitable for reproduction is required.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$350 (registration fee)One year (calendar year)No
160LL#
  
LocksmithIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who engages in the practice of locksmithing. That includes, but is not limited to, the servicing, installing, originating first keys, re-coding, manipulation, or bypassing of mechanical or electronic locking devices at premises, vehicles, safes, vaults, safe deposit boxes, or automatic teller machines.
The Private Detective, Private Alarm, Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act of 2004 225 ILCS 447/5-3 - 447/99-5, Inclusive, 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1240License46418
Must pass the locksmith examination tests on the theory and practice of the profession.
Locksmith Examination. Exam given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.WrittenMarch and September$164.8070%No requirementMust not have acted or advertised as a locksmith or private security contractor without a license;Be of good moral character;Have not been convicted of a felony in the last 10 years;Have not been declared incompetent by any court by reason of mental, physLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$500.00 by endorsement$50.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees (if lapsed less than 6 years). Restoration (if lapsed more than 6 years) plus pay all lapsed renewal fees and may have to pass the exam.Three yearsYes, endorsement. a. Submit certification of licensure from the state in which applicant presently practices; b. Proof of approved education requirements for registration in state of original licensure were at that time substantially equivalent to the req
161LL#
  
Mail-Order Ophthalmic ProviderIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
Any non-resident entity that dispenses contact lenses through the United States Postal Service or other common carrier to Illinois residents.
225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 83, Public Act 91 - 421, effective January 1, 2000.License11
Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$1,000.00$1,000.00One year
162MM#
  
Marriage and Family TherapistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who provides marriage and family therapy services to individuals, couples and families and evaluates and treats mental and emotional problems within the context of human relationships.
Marriage and Family Therapy Licensing ActLicense45221
Master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy from a regionally accredited educational institution;Master's or doctoral degree in a related field from a regionally accredited educational institution;Master's or doctoral degree from a program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy;3000 hours of professional work experience.
Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Board's Examination (AMFTRB)WrittenMay, November$276.85Passing score of the testing entityYes, unlimited30 hours during the pre-renewal periodNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by examination$200.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus payment of all lapsed renewal fees; $300.00 if expired more than five yearsTwo yearsYes.Certification of successful passage of exam;Verification of required work experience;Certification of meeting educational requirement.
163MM#
  
Metal Mine ForemanDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual who manages the day to day activities of the mine, plans long range operational needs of the mine, and is responsible for the health and safety of the workers at a metal/nonmetal mine.
Fluorspar and Underground Limestone Act 225 ILCS 710/19Certification24 (Must be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.)
Four (4) years of experience; orTwo (2) years of experience if the person holds a degree from an accredited engineering school; and,&nbsp;Pass an examination.
Metal Mine ForemanWritten/oralNone75%6 monthsNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No expirationNo
164MM#
  
Metal Mine Hoisting EngineerDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual responsible for the safe operation of the electrical and mechanical components of a hoist when workers are being raised or lowered into or out of a metal/nonmetal mine. Responsible for the daily safety check of the hoist.
Fluorspar and Underground Limestone Act 225 ILCS 710/28.01Certification24 (Must be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.)
Six (6) months of experience;Knowledge of laws related to signals; and,Pass an examination.
Metal Mine Hoisting EngineerWritten/oralEvery 6 monthsNone75%6 monthsNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.ExpirationNo
165MM#
  
Mine ExaminerDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual responsible for the varied inspections and examinations that are required by the Coal Mining Act, i.e. ventilation, rock dusting, and dangerous or potentially dangerous work areas, escapements, shafts and seals. Works directly for the mine manager.
The Coal Mining Act 225 ILCS 705/6.01Certification21 (Must be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.)
Four (4) years of practical underground mining experience;First Class Certificate of Competency issued by the Office of Mines and Minerals;Course of training in first aid to injured and mine rescue methods and appliance prescribed by the Office of Mines and Minerals;Two (2) years credit for a degree in engineering or an approved 4-year program in coal mining technology;One year credit for an associate degree in coal mining technology;&nbsp;Copy of degree required for file.
Mine ExaminerWritten/oralEvery 6 monthsNone75%6 monthsNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No expirationNo
166MM#
  
Mine ManagerDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual who manages the day to day activities of the mine, plans the long range operational needs of the mine, and is responsible for the health and safety of the workers at a coal mine.
The Coal Mining Act 225 ILCS 705/5.01Certification23 (Must be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.)
Four (4) years of underground mining experience;Has been issued a certificate of competency as a mine examiner, or its equivalent by another state;Satisfactorily completed instruction in first aid to injured and mine rescue methods and appliance prescribed;Two (2) years credit for a degree in engineering or an approved 4-year program in coal mining technology;One year credit for associate's degree in coal mining technology.
Mine ManagerWritten/oralEvery 6 monthsNone80%6 monthsNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No expirationNo. A temporary certificate will be issued to any individual who possesses a valid equivalent certificate issued by the appropriate agency in another state and will be valid only until the next available test or six months. A photocopy of above certificat
167MM#
  
Mine Rescue Station AssistantDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual who, under the general direction of the mine rescue station supervisor, assists in directing the activities of a mine rescue station. Assists in supervising the organization, training and schooling of mine rescue teams in first aid techniques, mine rescue and mine restoration operations. Assists rescue team in underground mine emergencies. Prepares and maintains records and reports.
The Coal Mining Act 225 ILCS 705/11.03CertificationMust be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.
Completion or equivalent of four (4) years of high school;Requires three (3) years of experience in underground gassy mines;Requires knowledge of departmental rules, mine rescue operation rules, equipment and supplies; and, d. Must pass an examination.
Mine Rescue Station AssistantWritten/oralEvery 6 monthsNone75%6 monthsNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No expirationNo. A temporary certificate will be issued to any individual who possesses a valid equivalent certificate issued by the appropriate agency in another state and will be valid only until the next available test or six months. A photocopy of above certificat
168MM#
  
Mine Rescue Station SuperintendentDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual who, under the general direction of the Office of Mines and Minerals, directs activities of a mine rescue station. Supervises the organizing, training and schooling of mine rescue teams in first aid techniques, mine rescue and mine restoration operations. Leads mine rescue team underground in emergencies. Prepares and maintains records and reports.
The Coal Mining Act 225 ILCS 705/11.03CertificationMust be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.
Requires completion or equivalent of four (4) years of high school;Requires four (4) years of experience in underground gassy mines;Requires knowledge of departmental rules, mine rescue operation rules, equipment and supplies; and,Must pass an examination.
Mine Rescue Station SuperintendentWritten/oralEvery 6 monthsNone75%6 monthsNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No expirationNo. A temporary certificate will be issued to any individual who possesses a valid equivalent certificate issued by the appropriate agency in another state and will be valid only until the next available test or six months. A photocopy of above certificat
169MM#
  
Minnow Dealer, Interstate10217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person who transports live minnows obtained in Illinois across any of the borders of Illinois to sell to retail and wholesale dealers.
ILCS. ch. 515, par 5/20 - 80 Illinois Conservation Law - FishLicense1No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$500.00One year (February 1 - January 31)No
170MM#
  
Minnow Dealer, Retail and WholesaleDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any individual who, within the state of Illinois, sells or offers live minnows for sale to any other retailer or wholesaler.
ILCS. ch. 515, par 5/20 - 80 Illinois Conservation Law - FishLicense591 - Retail, 40 - WholesaleNo requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$5.00 Retail, $25.00 WholesaleOne year (February 1 - January 31)No
171MM#
  
Mussel Dealer, Resident and Non-residentDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any individual who receives, buys, offers to, or acts as an agent or a broker in the receipt or purchase of mussels.
Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 56, par 5.13, Illinois Conservation Law - Fish Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 56, par 5.23, Illinois Conservation Law - FishLicense16 Resident, 2 Non-residentNo requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$300.00 Resident, $2,500.00 Non-residentOne year (February 1 - January 31)No
172MM#
  
Nail Technology TeacherIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who provides instruction in the theory and practice of nail technology in a licensed nail technology school or a licensed cosmetology school approved to teach nail technology and who may also practice as a nail technician.
225 ILCS 410/1-1 - 410/4-23, InclusiveLicense9918
High school graduate or equivalent;Completed a 500-hour nail technology teacher program and has had two (2) years of practical experience as a nail technician; or,Completed a 625-hour nail technology teacher program.
Administered by the Continental Testing Services, Inc. Vended by the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology.WrittenOffered four times per year$118.4575%After three failures, an individual must complete an 80-hour refresher course. After four failures, an individual must repeat the entire course of study.20 hours of continuing education every two yearsLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00 by examination; $45.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus payment of lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $135.00Two yearsYes. Requirements for licensure were substantially equivalent to those then in effect in Illinois; or, have three (3) years of lawful practice in another jurisdiction. All endorsement applicants must take and pass the Illinois Nail Technology Teacher Lice
173NN#
  
NaprapathIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
Naprapath practices include, but are not limited to, the treatment of contractures, muscle spasms, inflammation, scar tissue formation, adhesions, lesions, laxity, hypotonicity, rigidity, structural imbalance, bruising, contusions, muscular atrophy, and partial separation of connective tissue fibers.
Naprapathic Practice Act (Ill. Compiled Sata. 1992, par. 63/1 - 63/200); Rules for the Administration of the Naprapathic Practice Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1295)License186At least 18 years of age
Graduate from a 2-year college level program of general education or its equivalent;4-year degree in naprapathy in a minimum of three (3) years and provide for the equivalent;Two (2) calendar years of academic work and one calendar year of clinical experience.
National Board of Naprapathic Examiners, Parts I and II. Administered by the National Board of Naprapathic Examiners; 3330 North Milwaukee Avenue; Chicago, IL 60641;Successful passage of the Illinois Written Clinical Competency Examination. Contact DPR foWrittenJanuary and July$391.40 (Illinois written exam only)Yes. Any applicant who has failed three (3) examinations conducted in this state or any other jurisdiction shall be deemed ineligible for further examination until he/she submits additional education; or three (3) months of full-time, not for pay, on siteNo requirement at this timeNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$250.00$500.00$100.00 Plus all lapsed fees; $500.00 If license has been expired for more than five (5) years.Two (2) yearsYes.A graduate of a naprapathy program reputable and in good standing in judgment of DPR at time of graduation;Completion of 2-year college level program of general education from an accredited institution;Of good moral character;Submit certification of l
174NN#
  
New Vehicle Dealer (Class A - Non-commercial, Class B - Commercial)Secretary of State217.782.7817www.sos.state.il.us
An individual who is in the business of selling or dealing in, on consignment or otherwise, new vehicles of any make or who acts as an intermediary, agent or broker for any licensed vehicle dealer or vehicle purchaser.
625 ILCS 5/5 - 101License/RegistrationUnknownNo requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementVaries depending on the amount of plates requested.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00One yearNo
175NN#
  
Notary PublicSecretary of State217.782.7017www.cyberdriveillinois.com
Any individual appointed and commissioned to perform notarial acts. The purpose of a notarial act is to prevent fraud and forgery. A notary acts as an official and unbiased witness to the identity of a person who comes before the notary for a specific purpose.
5 ILCS 312/1 - 101 thru 312/8 - 104Commission197,28918
Able to read and write the English language
No exam requiredNo requirement<ol class='lowerAlpha'><li>Be a resident of Illinois for 30 days.</li><li>Be a U.S. citizen or an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence, or employed in Illinois for at least thirty (30) days.</li></ol>Never convicted of a felony or had a notary commission revoked in the past ten (10) years.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$10.00Four years in state or one year out-of-stateNo
176NN#
  
Nuclear Medicine TechnologistEmergency Management Agency217.785.9900www.iema.illinois.gov
A person, other than a licensed practitioner, who administers radiopharmaceuticals and related drugs to human beings for diagnostic purposes. Performs in vivo and in vitro detection and measurement of radioactivity. Administers radiopharmaceuticals to human beings for therapeutic purposes. A nuclear medicine technologist may perform such procedures only while under the supervision of a licensed practitioner who is licensed to possess and use radioactive materials.
32 Illinois Administrative Code 401Accreditation1,195No requirement
Temporary accreditation requires completion of an approved educational program.
Active accreditation requires passing an approved examination given by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or the Nuclear Medicine Technologist Certification Board (NMTCB).Computer-based multiple choiceBy appointmentARRT $150 fee ($200 after 12/31/09); NMTCB $145 feeScaled 75%ARRT: 3, NMTCB: 6Yes, 12 contact hours per year.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$120.00Two yearsNo
177NN#
  
Nuisance Wildlife Control OperatorDepartment of Natural Resources217.782-6384www.dnr.state.il.us
Any individual who removes and/or excludes nuisance wildlife from residences. Controls crop and livestock depredation.
ILCS. ch. 520, par 5/2.37, Title 17, Ill. Adm. Code, Part 525Permit37518
No requirement
Examination for Nuisance Wildlife Control Permits. Exam given by the district wildlife biologist.WrittenAs-needed basis80% minimum passing scoreTwo. Must wait 45 days before first re-test and 6 months before second.No requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.One year (February 1 - January 31)No
178NN#
  
Nurse, Licensed PracticalIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who assists in the care of the ill, injured, and disabled persons. Under the supervision of registered nurses, physicians, dentists or podiatrists, the licensed practical nurse administers certain medications, monitors equipment, cleans dressings, take temperatures and blood pressures, and assists patients with personal hygiene.
Illinois Nursing and Advanced Practice Nursing Act of 1987 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1991, ch. 111, par. 3501-3549) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300License28,078No requirement
Must have successfully completed an approved practical nursing program of not less than one (1) academic year (nine months);Deficiencies in nursing theory and/or clinical practice may be removed by taking the required course(s) in an approved practical nursing education program.
National Council Licensure Examination for Practical Nurses (NCLEX-PN)Written/national/computer-adaptive testingScheduled on individual basis$200.00-NCSBN, $88.00-CTS (dual process)Scores of the National Council. Licensure examinations for licensed practical nurses are reported as pass/fail. No numerical scores are available.Yes. Applicant has three (3) years from date of application to complete the application process including passage of the examination. On expiration of three (3) years, applicant must re-apply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of application,No requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00 by examination; $50.00 by endorsement; $25.00 temporary endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $60.00Two years
179NN#
  
Nurse, RegisteredIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual involved in providing health care to injured, sick, and well persons. Tasks and duties may include nursing evaluations, observation, care and counsel of the ill, impaired, or infirm; maintenance of health or prevention of illness, administration of medication and treatments as prescribed by a licensed physician or dentist; and supervision or teaching of nursing.
Illinois Nursing and Advanced Practice Nursing Act of 1987 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1991, ch. 111, par. 3501-3549) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1300License164,074No requirement
Must have successfully completed an approved professional nursing program of not less than two (2) academic years. Education requirements cannot be satisfied by completion of any correspondence course or program of nursing not requiring coordinated or concurrent theory and clinical.Must show proof of graduation from an approved practical nursing program and meet all of the theory and clinical practice;must show proof of current licensure in another U.S. jurisdiction;Must submit certification of licensure status from all states in which licensure has ever been granted;&nbsp;Must show proof of passage of an examination recognized by the Department of Professional Regulation.
National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurse (NCLEX-RN)WrittenFebruary and July$200.00-NCSBN, $88.00-CTS (dual process)Scores of the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses are reported as pass/fail. No numerical scores are available.Yes. Applicant has three (3) years from the date of application to complete the application process, including passage of the examination. Upon expiration of three (3) years, applicant must re-apply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of appliNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00 by examination; $50.00 by endorsement; $25.00 temporary endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $60.00Two years
180NN#
  
Nursing Home AdministratorIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who is responsible for planning, organizing, directing and supervising any facility under the 'Nursing Home Care Reform Act of 1979' including private homes, institutions, buildings, and residences operated for profit where three or more persons are cared for who are not related to the owner or operator.
Nursing Home Administrators Licensing and Disciplinary Act (225 ILCS 1996 70/1 - 70/37, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm Code 1310License2,22721
Must meet one of the following requirements:Baccalaureate degree from accredited college or university (degree may be in any field; no experience requirement); or,Satisfactory completion of approved course of instruction in nursing home administration (no experience requirement); or,Graduation from a three (3) year diploma nurse program and an employer's affidavit certifying two (2) years of qualifying experience; or,Associate's degree or a minimum of 60 semester or 90 quarter hours earned from an accredited college or university and an employer's affidavit certifying two (2) years of qualifying experience.
National Association of Boards of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators, Inc. Exam (NAB). Exam given by the Continental Testing Services; P.O. Box 100; LaGrange, Illinois 60525; (708) 354-9911.;Illinois Supplemental Exam. Exam given by the ContinentalWrittenNAB - computerized, may be scheduled$270.00 NAB (only); $164.80 Illinois Supplemental Exam; $93.10 CIS75% on each portionYes; unlimited. Examinees must retake those portions where a grade of 75 was not achieved on second and third exams. Fourth and subsequent examinee retakes require both portions of the examination.36 hoursNo requirementMust not have engaged in conduct or behavior determined to be grounds for discipline under the Act.Must furnish statement from a currently licensed physician of sound physical and mental health.Qualifying experience is defined as: (1) Two (2) years of full-time employment as an assistant nursing home administrator or director of nursing in a facility licensed by the Illinois Department of Public Health pursuant to the Nursing Home Care Act or fu$100.00 by examination; $150.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus any lapsed renewal feesTwo yearsYes.Meet the age, conduct and behavior requirements of a licensed nursing home administrator;Submit certification of licensure from U.S. jurisdiction in which applicant was originally licensed;Show verification of education and/or experience required to b
181NN#
  
Nursing Home Administrator Temporary CertificateIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who is authorized for a period of one year to plan, organize, direct, and supervise at any facility required to be licensed under the 'Nursing Home Care Reform Act of 1979' including private homes, institutions, buildings, and residences operated for profit where three or more persons are cared for who are not related to the owner or operator.
Nursing Home Administrators Licensing and Disciplinary Act (225 ILCS 1996 70/1 - 70/37, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm Code 1310License8621
Must meet one of the following requirements:Baccalaureate degree from accredited college or university (degree may be in any field; no experience requirement); or,Satisfactory completion of approved course of instruction in nursing home administration (no experience requirement); or,Graduation from a (3) three-year diploma nurse program and an employer's affidavit certifying two (2) years of qualifying experience; or,&nbsp;Associate's degree or a minimum of 60 semester or 90 quarter hours earned from an accredited college or university and an employer's affidavit certifying two (2) years of qualifying experience. Qualifying experience is defined as:Two (2) years of full-time employment as an assistant nursing home administrator or director of nursing in a facility licensed by the Illinois Department of Public Health pursuant to the Nursing Home Care Act or full-time employment as an administrator of a related facility for two (2) years or more.Two (2) years of management experience in a corporation which owns and operates licensed nursing home facilities.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementMust not have engaged in conduct or behavior determined to be grounds for discipline under the Act.Must furnish statement from a currently licensed physician of sound physical and mental health.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$75.00 temporary certificateOne yearNo
182NN#
  
Occupational Therapist, RegisteredIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual engaged in the evaluation, after physician referral for occupational therapy as part of the total rehabilitation and health care team, of functional performance ability of person impaired by physical illness or injury, emotional disorder, congenital or developmental disability or the aging process and the analysis, selection and application of occupations or goal directed activities, for the treatment or prevention of the disabilities to achieve optimum functioning.
Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 2002 75/1 - 75/21, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315License5,159No requirement
Must be a graduate of an occupational therapy program, approved by the Department of Professional Regulation of at least four (4) years, leading to a baccalaureate degree or its equivalent;Must have a minimum of six (6) months satisfactory supervised occupational therapy experience, obtained either prior to or subsequent to the awarding of the baccalaureate degree;Applicants are permitted to practice up to six (6) months if they have applied in writing to the Department and qualified under Sections 8 or 9 of the Act.
National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT). Exam given by the NBCOT, 12 South Summit Avenue, Suite 100, Gaithersburg, Maryland, 20877-4150.Written or computerWeekly$225.00 U.S. graduates; $375.00 foreign graduates. Re-exam fees are same as above.Minimum score of 450Yes; unlimited. May not practice after failed exam.24 hours at renewalNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00 by examination; $25.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $110.00Two years (All licenses expire December 31 of each odd numbered year.)Yes.Submit certification of licensure from jurisdiction in which applicant practices;Show proof of approved educational requirements;Show proof of successful completion of the AOTCB examination;Requirements for licensure in the jurisdiction of original li
183OO#
  
Occupational Therapy Assistant, CertifiedIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who assists a registered occupational therapist and, under their supervision, implements the occupational therapy treatment program. Such a program may include training in activities of daily living, use of therapeutic activity, and guidance in the selection and use of adaptive equipment.
Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 2002 75/1 - 75/21, Inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1315License2,031No requirement
Completion of an approved occupational therapy assistant program of at least two (2) years in length, leading to an associate's degree or its equivalent;A minimum of two (2) months of satisfactory supervised occupational therapy experience.
National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT). Exam given by the NBCOT, 12 South Summit Avenue, Suite 100, Gaithersburg, Maryland, 20877-4150.WrittenWeekly$225.00 U.S. graduates; $375.00 foreign graduatesMinimum score of 450Yes; unlimited. May not practice after failed exam.24 hours at renewalNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00 by examination; $25.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $110.00Two years (All licenses expire December 31 of each odd numbered year.)Yes.Submit certification of licensure from jurisdiction in which applicant presently practices;Proof of approved educational requirements by submitting certification of education;Proof of successful completion of the NBCOT examination;Requirements for lic
184OO#
  
Operator of Public AuctionDepartment of Agriculture217.782.3817www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who operates a public auction or similar type of consignment and sells, for a commission or other compensation, agricultural, vegetable and/or lawn seed belonging to others.
Illinois Seed Law (ch. 5, par. 410)Permit0 - 3No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00One year (July - June fiscal year)No
185OO#
  
OptometristIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who engages in the examination of the human eye and its appendages without the use of medicine or surgery. Includes the appropriate use of topical ocular pharmaceutical agents for examination and diagnostic purposes, for ascertaining any departure from the normal, measuring powers of vision, and adapting lenses of prisms, diagnosis, prescription, and management of contact lenses, ocular exercises, and visual therapy.
Illinois Optometric Practice Act of 1987 (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 1998, 80/1 - 80/29, Inclusive)License2,11821
Graduated from an approved program of optometry;Must pass parts one through three of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO); and,Must be Diagnostic and Topical certified.
The National Board of Examiners in Optometry Exams (NBEO) - 4 exams - Basic Science; Clinical Science; Treatment and Management of Ocular Disease; and Clinical Skills, Visual Recognition and Interpretation of Clinical Signs. Exams given by the National BoWritten (theoretical) and clinicalApril and August - National Board of Examiners in Optometry Exam$175.00 Filing fee; $310.00 Basic science; $310.00 Clinical science; $220.00 Treatment &amp; management of ocular disease; $500.00 Clinical skills, visual recognition, and interpretation of clinical signsPass/fail standard is used which is not on a curve; candidates are not competing against each other. The passing criteria is based on the difficulty of the exam using the Nedelsky technique.Yes, unlimited. Costs are the same as for first sitting for exams.18 hours every two years, of which 12 hours must be transcript quality.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$500.00 by examination; $500.00 by endorsement$5.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo years (All licenses expire March 31 of even numbered years.)Yes.Proof of licensure from all U.S. jurisdictions in which applicant is licensed to practice;Certification of graduation from an approved optometry program;Requirements for licensure in the jurisdiction of original licensure were at the time substantiall
186OO#
  
Orthotics, Prosthetics, and PedorthicsIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
Orthotist: An individual who measures, designs, fabricates, fits, or services orthoses and assists in the formulation of the order or orthoses as ordered by a licensed physician for the support or correction of disabilities caused by neuro-musculoskeletal disease, injuries, or deformities. Pedorthist: An individual who measures, designs, fabricates, fits, or services prostheses and assists in the formulation of the order or prostheses as ordered by a licensed physician for the support or correction of disabilities caused by neuro-musculoskeletal disease, injuries, or deformities. Prosthetist: An individual who measures, designs, fabricates, fits or services prostheses and assists in the formulation of the order of prostheses as ordered by a licensed physician for the replacement of external parts of the human body lost due to amputation or congenital deformities or absences.
The Orthotics, Prosthetics, and Pedorthics Practice Act, 225 Illinois Complied Statutes, 83, Public Act 91 - 0590, effective 01-01-2000LicenseOrthotist-199, Prosthetist-175, Pedorthist-102
Orthotist/Prosthetist:Proof of baccalaureate degree in orthotics or prosthetics program approved by the Department; orBaccalaureate degree from a regional approved school;A certificate from an approved orthotics or prosthetics program; and,1900 hours of clinical residency subsequent to orthotics/prosthetics education. Pedorthist:High school education or equivalent;Pedorthic education as approved by the Department; and80-hour clinical residency in pedorthics subsequent to education.
Examination is administered by the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics Inc., 330 John Caryle Street, Suite 210, Alexandria, VA 22314, 703-836-7114.Clinical and writtenQuarterlyApplication: $250.00, Written Exam: $250.00, Written Simulation Exam: $250.00, Clinical Patient Management Exam: $700.00ABC standardsYes24 hours of approved continuing educationNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$400.00 by acceptance of examination or endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed feesTwo years (All licenses expire September 30 of all odd-numbered years.)Certification of approved education. Proof of successful completion of exam certified by ABC. Certification of licensure from the original state and current state of licensure.
187OO#
  
OwnerRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
An individual who owns, in whole or in part, or leases a horse eligible to race at the race meeting where the applicant seeks to participate. Capable of meeting the financial obligations incurred in the ownership, stabling, racing, training, and care of a race horse.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License1,801 (Harness), 3,201 (Thoroughbred)18. If younger than 18 years of age, an applicant shall submit an affidavit from a parent/legal guardian stating that the parent/legal guardian shall assume legal responsibility for the applicants financial obligations relating to racing.
No requirement
No requirementNo requirementIn all categories except an owner: shall be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Own at least one horse which is eligible to race in Illinois.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
188OO#
  
Owner of Credit Services Organization (Business)Secretary of State217.782.7017www.sos.state.il.us
An individual who, with respect to the extension of credit by others and in return for the payment of money or other valuable consideration, provides or represents that the person can or will provide any of the following services: (i) improving a buyer's credit record, history, or rating; (ii) obtaining an extension of credit for a buyer; or (iii) providing assistance to a buyer with regard to either (i) or (ii).
815 ILCS 605/1 - 605/16Registration8No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementIf fees are collected in advance, a $100,000 surety bond is required.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00$38.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP)PermanentNo
189OO#
  
Owner/Assistant TrainerRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
An individual who owns, in whole or in part, or leases a horse eligible to race at the race meeting where the applicant seeks to participate. Capable of providing assistance to the trainer and meeting the financial obligations incurred in the ownership, stabling, racing, training, and care of a race horse.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License46 (Thoroughbred)18. If younger than 18 years of age, an applicant shall submit an affidavit from a parent/legal guardian stating that the parent/legal guardian shall assume legal responsibility for the applicants financial obligations relating to racing.
Must have been licensed as a trainer or assistant trainer by the Board or another racing jurisdiction for at least two (2) years. First time applicants in Illinois must meet the following requirements:Have at least two years experience in a licensed racing occupation;Submit three (3) letters of recommendation from former employers and/or currently licensed trainers who can attest to the applicant's training ability and experience;Demonstrate by actual performance his/her knowledge of horsemanship and pass with a grade of 75% a written examination administered by the stewards.
Given by the stewards.Written75%No requirementIn all categories except an owner: shall be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Own at least one horse which is eligible to ride in Illinois.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the Board that year.
190OO#
  
Owner/DriverRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
An individual who is both an owner and driver of one or more horses eligible to compete at racing meets in Illinois and who is able to drive a standard (harness) horse which pulls a sulky at either a trot or pace.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License35 (Harness)18. If younger than 18 years of age, an applicant shall submit an affidavit from a parent/legal guardian stating that the parent/legal guardian shall assume legal responsibility for the applicants financial obligations relating to racing.
Has at least one year of training experience;Demonstrates the ability to drive a horse at training speeds;Knowledgeable of and conversant in the training and driving of harness horses.
U.S. Trotting Association Exam for Drivers. Exam given by the stewards.WrittenOnce at every race meetNo feeNo requirementIn all categories except an owner: shall be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Must be physically able to drive in competitive horse races as determined by a practicing physician and capable of meeting the financial obligations incurred in the ownership, stabling, racing, training, and care of a race horse.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
191OO#
  
Owner/TrainerRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
A person who is both an owner and a trainer. Owns or leases one or more horses that are eligible to race in Illinois. Trains and enters horses in competitive racing meetings. Hires groomers, hotwalkers, exercise riders, pony persons, other trainers, veterinarians and blacksmiths.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License207 (Harness) 272 (Thoroughbred)18. If younger than 18 years of age, an applicant shall submit an affidavit from a parent/legal guardian stating that the parent/legal guardian shall assume legal responsibility for the applicant's financial obligations relating to racing.
Has at least two years experience in a licensed racing occupation;Submit three (3) letters of recommendation from former employers and/or currently licensed trainers who can attest to training, ability and experience;Demonstrate by actual performance knowledge of horsemanship including saddling, bandaging and diagnosing horse ailments;Pass a written examination administered by the stewards.
Exam on Rules of Racing, Care and Handling of Horses and Proper Use of Racing EquipmentWritten/performance (hands-on)Requested from time to time during race meetingsNo fee75%YesNo requirementIn all categories, except an owner: shall be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Capable of meeting financial obligations incurred in the stabling, racing, training and care of a horse(s) in his/her care. Provide proof of compliance with the Workers' Compensation Act.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
192OO#
  
Part-time Law Enforcement OfficerLaw Enforcement Training and Standards Board217.782.4540www.ptb.state.il.us
An individual who is a part-time employee (less than 1,560 hours per year, as set by the board administrative rule) of a local governmental agency and who is primarily responsible for the prevention or detection of crime and the enforcement of the criminal, drug, traffic, or highway laws of this state.
Public Act 89-170CertificationUnknown21
High school diploma or equivalent. Some departments require some college.
Law Enforcement Officer Certification ExaminationWrittenAfter successful completion of basic recruit training in an AcademyNone66%ThreeNo requirementPossibly required by employerLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.LifetimeYes
193PP#
  
Passenger Boat/Charter Boat OperatorDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3429www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual engaged in operating a boat that carries passengers for hire. Must obtain a passenger license (i.e. fishing guide).
Article VII of ch. 525 of ILCSLicense115No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00 BoatOne year (March 1 - April 30)No
194PP#
  
PerfusionistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who operates the extracorporeal circulation equipment during any medical situation where it is necessary to support or replace a person's cardiopulmonary, circulatory, or respiratory function.
The Perfusionist Practice Act (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 2000 125/1 - 125/230, inclusive) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1335LicenseNo requirement
Certification of graduation from a school accredited by the Commission on the Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) or a similar accrediting body approved by the Department.
American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion (ABCP), 207 North 25th Avenue, Hattiesburg, MS 39401, 601-582-2227, www.abcp.orgComputer and practicalOctober and May$350.00Set by testing entityYesNoNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$250.00$20.00 plus all lapsed fees not to exceed $400.00Two years (All licenses expire April 30 of even numbered years.)Graduation from an approved school;Certification of exam administered by ABCP;Certification of licensure from original and current state of licensure.
195PP#
  
Personal Property Warehouse Operator (Warehouseman)Department of Agriculture217.782.2895www.agr.state.il.us
Personal Property Storage Act, 240 ILCS 10License427 companies18
No formal requirements other than to have sufficient work experience and/or an educational background to operate a personal property warehouse.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementGood business reputation and meets licensing requirements. Refer to above referenced statute for complete licensing requirements.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$250.00 Plus $100.00 for each additional License$250.00 Plus $100.00 for each additional licenseOne yearNo
196PP#
  
Pest Control Technician (General Use), StructuralDepartment of Public Health217.782.5830www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who performs pest control services, including the use of general use pesticides in and around structures (as opposed to applications of pesticides in agriculture).
(Structural Pest Control Act), 225 ILCS 235 77 Ill. Adm Code 830 (Structural Pest Control Code)Certification2,400 (Certified to use general pesticides.)No requirement
Must have a high school diploma or GED certificate
General Standards ExaminationWrittenApproximately once per month at different locations$40.0070%Up to four times per yearOnce certified, an individual must attend a recertification seminar during the period of time covered by their certification.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Part of the initial examination fee; $40.00 re-examination fee$155.00Three yearsNo. No other state certifies individuals in the general use pesticide area.
197PP#
  
Pest Control Technician (Restricted Use), StructuralDepartment of Public Health217.782.5830www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who performs pest control services including the use of restricted pesticides in and around structures (as opposed to applications of pesticides in agriculture).
(Structural Pest Control Act), 225 ILCS 235 77 Ill. Adm Code 830 (Structural Pest Control Code)Certification2,400 (Certified to use general and/or restricted pesticides.)No requirement
Must have a high school diploma or GED certificate;Six (6) months experience in an appropriate structural pest control area; or, sixteen (16) semester hours in entomology or related fields; or, completion of a structural pest control course approved by the Department of Public Health.
General Standards Examination (General Use Pesticides);Sub-category Examination (Restricted Use Pesticides) in one or more categories: Insects, Rodents and Other Pests; Termites and Other Wood Destroying Organisms; Birds; Fumigation; Food Processing, ManuWrittenApproximately once per month at different locations$40.0070%Up to four times per yearOnce certified, an individual must attend a recertification seminar during the period of time covered by their certification.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Part of the initial examination fee; $40.00 re-examination fee.$155.00Three yearsNo. No other state certifies individuals in the general use pesticide area.
198PP#
  
Pesticide Applicator, CommercialDepartment of Agriculture217.785.2427www.agr.state.il.us
A person who sells the service of applying pesticides on a customer's property and collects a fee for the rendered service. A commercial pesticide applicator can sell pesticides, buy pesticides and apply pesticides.
415 ILCS 60/9, 10Certification (upon successful completion of examination); License (following certification, application and fee payment).3,40016
Training is available from the University of Illinois Extension, but is not specifically required.
General Standard Pesticide Exam;Category Examination (Restricted Use Pesticides) - at least one (specialty) categoryWrittenDuring a clinic or scheduled appointment in Springfield or DeKalb OfficeNone70%Examination can only be taken a maximum of three (3) times in any six (6) month period.No requirementNoneCertificate of Insurance: Coverage of not less than $50,000 per person, $100,000 per occurrences bodily injury liability.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$60.00One year. Test is valid for 3 years as long as applicant renews license annually.Must have a current pesticide license in the state the applicant has taken the test;Must apply for an Illinois license and abide by the rules and regulations.
199PP#
  
Pesticide Applicator, Commercial Not for HireDepartment of Agriculture217.785.2427www.agr.state.il.us
An employee for a private organization that requires the use of pesticides only in the maintenance of its own property. The applicator has the responsibility for all pesticide purchasing, storage, handling and use. His/her license dictates the areas in which the company may legally use pesticides.
415 ILCS 60/9, 11.1Certification (upon successful completion of examination); License (follows certification and application).1,30016
Training is available from the University of Illinois, but is not required.
General Standard Pesticide Exam;Category Examination (Restricted Use Pesticides) - at least one (specialty) categoryWrittenDuring a clinic or scheduled appointment in Springfield or DeKalb officesNone70%Three (3) times per test in any six (6) month periodNo requirementNoneLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.One year. Test is valid for three (3) years as long as applicant renews license annually.Must have a current pesticide license in the state the applicant has taken the test;Must apply for an Illinois license and abide by the rules and regulations.
200PP#
  
Pesticide Applicator, Private1217.785.2427www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who utilizes restricted use pesticides to produce an agricultural commodity on property owned or controlled. Private applicators who want to fumigate their own grain bins must carry the Private Grain Fumigation category.
415 ILCS 60/9, 11Certification (upon successful completion of examination); License (follows certification)22,00016
Training is available from the University of Illinois, but is not required.
Private Pesticide Applicators ExamWrittenDuring a clinic or scheduled appointment in Springfield or DeKalb officesNone70%No limitNo requirementNoneLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$15.00 (2001-2006); $20.00 (2007+)The exam and license are valid for three (3) years.Must have a current pesticide license in the state the applicant has taken the test;Must apply for an Illinois license and abide by the rules and regulations.
201PP#
  
Pesticide Applicator, PublicDepartment of Agriculture217.785.2427www.agr.state.il.us
Any person who is employed by a governmental organization and who has the legal responsibility for all pesticide purchasing, storage, handling and use. The license dictates the areas in which the applicant may legally apply pesticides. Each facility must have an applicator.
415 ILCS 60/9, 11Certification (upon successful completion of examination); License (following certification)22,00016
Training is available from the University of Illinois Extension but not required.
General Standards Pesticide Exam plus at least one category exam.WrittenDuring a clinic or scheduled appointment in Springfield or DeKalb officesNone70%Examination can only be taken a maximum of three (3) times in any six (6) month period.No requirementNoneLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.One year. The exam(s) are valid for three (3) years if no lapse in licensure.Must have a current pesticide license in the state the applicant has taken the test;Must apply for an Illinois license and abide by the rules and regulations.
202PP#
  
Pesticide DealerDepartment of Agriculture217.785.2427www.agr.state.il.us
Any individual selling a restricted use pesticide(s).
415 ILCS 60/9, 13Certification (upon successful completion of examination); License (following certification, application, and fee submittal)50016
Training is available from the University of Illinois Extension, but is not specifically required.
Dealer Pesticide ExamWrittenDuring a clinic or scheduled appointment in Springfield or DeKalb officesNone70%Three (3) times per test in any six (6) month periodNo requirementNoneLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00One year. Test is valid for three (3) years as long as applicant renews license annually.Must have a current pesticide license in the state the applicant has taken the test;Must apply for an Illinois license and abide by the rules and regulations.
203PP#
  
Pesticide Operator, CommercialDepartment of Agriculture217.785.2427www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who purchases or uses pesticides classified for General or Restricted Use for hire. An operator must work under the supervision of a licensed applicator.
415 ILCS 60/9, 10Certification (upon successful completion of examination); License (following certification, application and fee submittal)5,50016
Training is available from the University of Illinois Extension, but is not specifically required.
General Standard Pesticide ExamWrittenDuring a clinic or scheduled appointment in Springfield or DeKalb officeNone70%Three (3) times per test in any six (6) month periodNo requirementNoneLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00 (2001-2006); $35.00 (2007+)One (1) year. Test is valid for three (3) years as long as applicant renews license annually.Must have a current pesticide license in the state the applicant has taken the test;Must apply for an Illinois license and abide by the rules and regulations.
204PP#
  
Pesticide Operator, Commercial Not for HireDepartment of Agriculture217.785.2427www.agr.state.il.us
A person employed by a private organization that requires the use of pesticides in the maintenance of company-owned property. The operator must work under the supervision of a licensed applicator.
415 ILCS 60/9, 11.1Certification (upon successful completion of examination); License (following certification and application)60016
Training is available through the University of Illinois Extension, not specifically required.
General Standard Pesticide ExamWrittenDuring a clinic or scheduled appointment in the Springfield office.None70%Three (3) times per test within any six (6) month periodNo requirementNoneLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.NoneOne (1) year. Test is valid for three (3) years as long as applicant renews license annually.Must have a current pesticide license in the state the applicant has taken the test;Must apply for an Illinois license and abide by the rules and regulations.
205PP#
  
Pesticide Operator, PublicDepartment of Agriculture217.785.2427www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who uses pesticides classified for General or Restricted Use as an employee of a state agency, municipality, or other duly constituted governmental agency or unit. The operator must work under the supervision of an applicator who holds a valid license.
415 ILCS 60/9, 11.1Certification (upon successful completion of examination); License (following certification and application)2,50016
Training is available from the University of Illinois Extension, but is not specifically required.
General Standard Pesticide ExamWrittenDuring a clinic or scheduled appointment in Springfield or DeKalb officesNone70%Three (3) times per test within any six (6) month periodNo requirementNoneLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.NoneOne (1) year. Test is valid for three (3) years as long as applicant renews license annually.Must have a current pesticide license in the state the applicant has taken the test;Must apply for an Illinois license and abide by the rules and regulations.
206PP#
  
Pharmacist, RegisteredIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
Any person who compounds, dispenses, sells or offers for sale, makes recommendations or advises persons concerning the contents and/or the therapeutic uses of medicines, poisons pursuant to prescription or orders from a person authorized to prescribe such drugs.
Pharmacy Practice Act of 1987 (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 1996, 85/1 - 85/40), 68 Ill Adm. Code 1330License16,325No requirement
Graduated from a first professional degree program of at least five (5) academic years at an approved school or college of pharmacy or department of a university recognized and approved by DPR; or,Graduates from a first professional degree program of at least five (5) years at a school or college of pharmacy not recognized or approved by DPR are required, in order to qualify for the licensure exam, to:Pass the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Exam (FPGEE);Complete a clinical program previously approved by the Board; andSubmit proof of passage of the Test of English and Foreign Language (TOEFL) Exam with a minimum score of 550 on the written exam or 213 on the computer-based exam and passage of the Test of Spoken English (TSE) Exam with a score of 50.
North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX)Multi-state Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE). Exam given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc., P.O. Box 100, LaGrange, IL 60425, www.continentaltesting.netComputer adaptive examinations$465.00 - NAPLEX (Pharmaceutical Science and Practice); $185.00 - MPJE75%Yes. After third exam failure, retake applicants must submit proof of completion of 30 hours of remedial education in the failed subjects prior to taking the fourth exam.30 hours of continuing education every two years (must be ACPE approved)No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$75.00 by examination; $200.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo yearsYes.Requirements for registration in the state of original licensure were at that time substantially equivalent to the requirements then in effect in Illinois;Graduate from an approved first professional degree program of at least five academic years in a
207PP#
  
Pharmacy TechnicianIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual authorized to assist in the practice of pharmacy under the personal supervision of a registered pharmacist.
Pharmacy Practice Act of 1987 (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 1996, 85/1 - 85/40) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1330License35,15416
Has not engaged in conduct or behavior determined to be grounds for discipline under the Pharmacy Practice Act;High school graduate or its equivalent (GED) or proof of current enrollment in a high school program.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$40.00One yearNo
208PP#
  
Physical TherapistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who is involved in the evaluation or treatment of a person by the use of effective properties of physical measures and heat, cold, light, water, radiant energy, electricity, sound, and air. Uses therapeutic massage, therapeutic exercise, mobilization, and rehabilitative procedures for the purpose of preventing, correcting, or alleviating a physical or mental disability or promoting physical fitness and well-being.
The Illinois Physical Therapy Act (225 ILCS 1996 90/1 - 90/36, Inclusive); 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1340.License9,39418
Graduate of a physical therapy program approved by the Illinois Department of Professional Regulation (IDPR).
Physical Therapy Exam. Exam given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.; 547 South LaGrange Road; LaGrange, IL 60525; (708) 354-9911.Computerized600Yes, unlimited. However, failing the exam three times requires proof of remedial work before being allowed to sit for another exam.No requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by examination and acceptance of examination; $100.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo years (All licenses expire September 30 of even numbered years.)Yes.Currently licensed as a physical therapist in another state;At least 18 years of age;Of good moral character;Successfully complete the pre-professional collegiate education;&nbsp;Successfully complete an approved program of physical therapy;&nbsp;Subm
209PP#
  
Physical Therapist AssistantIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual licensed to assist and work under the supervision of a physical therapist in implementing patients' physical therapy treatment programs as established by the licensed physical therapist. Patient care activities provided by the physical therapy assistant do not include interpretation of referrals, evaluation procedures, planning of or major modifications of patient programs.
The Illinois Physical Therapy Act (225 ILCS 1996 90/1 - 90/36, Inclusive); 68 Ill Adm. Code 1340License3,67218
Graduate of a two (2) year college level physical therapist assistant program approved by the Illinois Department of Professional Regulation (DPR).
Physical Therapist Assistant Exam. Exam given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.; 547 South LaGrange Road; LaGrange, IL 60525; (708) 354-9911.ComputerizedAnytime based on applicant's request$348.40600Yes, unlimited. However, failing the exam three times requires proof of remedial work before being allowed to sit for another exam.No requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 by examination; $100.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo years (All licenses expire September 30 of even numbered years.)Yes.Currently licensed as a physical therapist assistant in another state;At least 18 years of age;Of good moral character;Successfully complete an approved physical therapist assistant program;&nbsp;Submit certification of licensure from the state of ori
210PP#
  
PhysicianIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual licensed under the Medical Practice Act to practice medicine in all of its branches.
Medical Practice Act of 1987 (Ill. Compiled Stat. 1996, 60/1 - 60/); Rules for Administration of the Medical Practice Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1285)License42,670No requirement
Complete six (6) years of post-secondary course of study consisting of two (2) years of liberal arts instruction and four (4) academic years of medical education which shall consist of two (2) academic years of study in the basic medical sciences and two academic years of study in the clinical sciences while enrolled in the medical college which conferred the degree;Twelve (12) months training is required if applicant entered the program December 31, 1987 or before. Twenty-four (24) months is required for applicants who entered programs on January 1, 1988 or after.
USMLE Step 3 - requires passage of steps 1 and 2. Exam given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.; 547 South LaGrange Road; LaGrange, IL 60525; (708) 354-9911.National examinations; N.B.O.M.E.; L.M.C.C., state-constructed$102.00 to CTS and FSMB fee150 hours of continuing education per license renewal cycleLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$300.00Current fee plus all lapsed renewal fees.All licenses expire July 31 and every three years thereafter regardless of date of issuance.Yes. Endorsement applicants who were licensed in another jurisdiction prior to January 1, 1988, must meet one of the following education qualifications:Be a graduate of a NON-LCME medical education program which was considered approved by the department o
211PP#
  
Physician - Limited Temporary LicensureIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual holding a degree of Doctor of Medicine and persons holding the degree of Doctor of Osteopathy, or persons who have satisfied the requirement and are eligible to receive such a degree from a medical or osteopathic school, who wish to pursue programs of graduate training in this state, may receive without examination, at the discretion of the Department of Professional Regulation, a 6-month temporary license.
Medical Practice Act of 1987 (Ill. Compiled Stat. 1996, par. 60/1 - 60/63); Rules and Regulations (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1285)License11
Proof of enrollment in a postgraduate clinical training program in another jurisdiction;Proof of acceptance for a specific period of time to perform, under supervision, a portion of the clinical training program in Illinois due to the absence of adequate facilities in another state;The approved clinical training program in Illinois has assumed supervisory responsibility for the individual during the period specified.
Not applicable for limited temporary licenseNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00Up to six (6) monthsNo
212PP#
  
Physician - Temporary LicensureIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual holding a degree of Doctor of Medicine and persons holding the degree of Doctor of Osteopathy, or persons who have satisfied the requirement and are eligible to receive such a degree from a medical or osteopathic school, who wish to pursue programs of graduate training in this state, may receive without examination, at the discretion of the Department of Professional Regulation, a 6-month temporary license.
Medical Practice Act of 1987 (Ill. Compiled Stat. 1996, par. 60/1 - 60/63); Rules and Regulations (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1285)License11
Proof of enrollment in a postgraduate clinical training program in another jurisdiction;Proof of acceptance for a specific period of time to perform, under supervision, a portion of the clinical training program in Illinois due to the absence of adequate facilities in another state;The approved clinical training program in Illinois has assumed supervisory responsibility for the individual during the period specified.
Not applicable for limited temporary licenseNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00Up to six (6) monthsNo
213PP#
  
Physician AssistantIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who is not a physician nor a person holding an M.D. or equivalent degree who has been certified as a physician assistant by the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants or equivalent successor agency and performs procedures under the supervision of a physician as defined in the Physician's Assistant Practice Act.
Physician's Assistant Practice Act of 1987 (IL. Compiled Stat. 1992, par. 95/1 - 95/24); Rules for the Administration of the Physician's Practice Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1350)License2,171No requirement
Be a graduate of an approved physician assistant program and hold a certificate issued by the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA);Successfully complete the examination provided by the NCCPA and be a graduate of an approved physician assistant program (an American Medical Association training program).
Physician Assistant National Certifying Exam. Exam given by the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants; 157 Technology Parkway, Suite 800; Norcross, GA 30092; (770) 734-4500.Written/performance (hands-on)/NCCPAOctober/AprilContact NCCPAYes - unlimitedNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesMarch 1 of even-numbered yearsNo
214PP#
  
Physician Visiting ProfessorIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who maintains an equivalent authorization in his/her native licensing jurisdiction during the period of the visiting professor permit to practice medicine in all of its branches and has received a faculty appointment as a visiting professor in Illinois.
Medical Practice Act of 1987 (Ill. Compiled Stat. 1996, par. 60/1 - 60/63); Rules for the Administration of the Medical Practice Act (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1285)Permit9No requirement
Must hold a current and valid license from jurisdiction of original licensure;Statement, signed by Dean of program of medicine in another jurisdiction, that applicant was qualified and held professor status in program;Must submit copy of curriculum vitae. Dean of program of medicine must provide proof of faculty appointment, term of appointment and the nature of the educational service.
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$300.00Two (2) years - initial permitNo
215PP#
  
PlumberDepartment of Public Health217.524.0791www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who installs water supply and distribution lines and drain, waste and vent systems within and throughout houses and other buildings.
Illinois Plumbing License Law 225 ILCS 320; Plumbers Licensing Code 68 Ill. Adm. Code 750License8,700No requirement
Two (2) years of high school or equivalent; and,Four (4) year licensed apprenticeship or completion of an approved course of instruction in plumbing.
Plumbing License Exam. Administered by the Department of Public Health with the State Board of Plumbing Examiners.Written; Performance (hands-on); Plans8 times per year$100.00 filing fee ($125.00 for out-of-state license); $100.00 for second and all subsequent exams75% overall; 61% on each partUnlimited with new application and feeFour (4) hours annually of Department of Public Health approved coursesU.S. citizen required (or intent of becoming a citizen)Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00One yearYes. If requirements in the other state or territory are equivalent, the applicant is allowed to take the exam.
216PP#
  
Plumber, ApprenticeDepartment of Public Health217.524.0791www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who installs water supply and distribution lines and drain, waste and vent systems throughout houses and other buildings under the supervision of a licensed plumber.
Illinois Plumbing License Law 225 ILCS 320; Plumbers Licensing Code 68 Ill. Adm. Code 750License3,50016 years is the minimum age. No maximum age.
No requirement
No requirementNo requirementNo requirementMust be sponsored by an Illinois-licensed plumber.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00$50.00One yearNo
217PP#
  
Podiatric Physician, TemporaryIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A podiatric physician otherwise qualified for licensure with the exception of completion of one year postgraduate residency program approved by the CPME and the exception of successful completion of the Written Clinical Competency Examination required under Section 10 of the Podiatric Medical Practice Act.
Podiatric Medical Practice Act of 1987 (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 1992 100/1 - 100/45); 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1360License (Temporary)3521
Graduate of an approved college of podiatric medicine and has attained the academic degree of Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (D.P.M.) or DPR must be in receipt of certification that applicant will graduate from an approved podiatric medical program before entering into the postgraduate training;Proof of passage of the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners Exam (NBPME) Parts I &amp; II;Evidence of acceptance or appointment to a position in a postgraduate program approved by the Council of Podiatric Medical Education of the American Podiatric Medical Association, during the period in which temporary license is sought.
No requirementNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$250.00One year (May be renewed one time in special situations. Contact DPR.)No
218PP#
  
PodiatristIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who practices podiatric medicine which involves the diagnosis, medical, physical or surgical treatment of the ailments of the human foot with the exception of administrations of general anesthetics and the amputation of the foot.
Podiatric Medical Practice Act of 1987 (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 1992 10/1 - 100/45); 68 Ill Adm. Code 1360License1,09521
Graduate of an approved college of podiatric medicine and has attained the academic degree of Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (D.P.M.);Proof of completion of one year post graduate residency program approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education.
National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners Exam (NBPME) - Parts I and IIIllinois Written Clinical Competency Examination (PMLexis). Exam given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc.; 547 South LaGrange Road; LaGrange, IL 60525; (708) 354-9911.WrittenMarch and July - NBPME June and December - Illinois Written Clinical Competency Examination (PMLEXIS)$1,012.00 (PMLEXIS)75%Yes, unlimited100 hours of continuing education required during pre-renewal period (50 hours per year)No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$250.00 by examination; $250.00 by endorsement$100.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $510.00Two years (All licenses expire on January 31 of each odd numbered year.)Yes.Must be at least 21 years of age and of good moral character;Requirements for licensure in the state of original licensure were at that time substantially equivalent to the requirements for licensure in Illinois;&nbsp;Pass the Illinois Written Clinica
219PP#
  
Pony PersonRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
A person who leads the horses to the paddock in the afternoon for the races and may provide exercise for a horse in the morning when a trainer does not want him exercised with a rider on his back.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License30 (Thoroughbred)16
Shall have been licensed previously by the board or by another racing jurisdiction;If unable to meet the above requirement, applicant shall demonstrate his riding ability to the stewards or their designee.
Exam given by the stewards.Performance (hands-on)No requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$57.00 ($10.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
220PP#
  
Pre-Hospital Registered Nurse (PHRN)Department of Public Health217.785.2080www.idph.state.il.us
A registered professional nurse, who is approved by an EMS medical director to practice within an EMS system as emergency medical personnel for pre-hospital, inter-hospital emergency care and non-emergency medical transport.
Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Systems Act, 210 ILCS 50; Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Center Code, 77 Ill Adm. Code 515License289 (7/1/09)Not addressed in EMS Act
Current Illinois RN license;Successfully complete education curriculum formulated by an EMS system and approved by the Department that consists of a least 24 hours of classroom and pactical education;Complete a minimum of 10 ALS runs supervised by a licensed physician, approved PHRN or EMT.
Administered by EMS systemWritten and practicalEMS systems, as neededDetermined by EMS systemDetermined by EMS systemCompletion of 120 hours over the four (4) year licensure periodU.S. Social Security number requiredLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Four yearsNot addressed in EMS Act
221PP#
  
Preserve Area Operator, Gaming, Breeding, and ShootingDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person who establishes and maintains a game breeding and hunting preserve area for propagating, preserving and hunting game birds.
ILCS. ch. 520, par 5/3.27, 5/3.28, 5/3.29, 5/3.30, 5/3.31, 5/3.33 - Illinois Conservation Law - WildlifeLicense198No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00One year (May 1 - April 31)No
222PP#
  
Private Alarm ContractorIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who engages in a business that sells, installs, monitors, maintains, alters, repairs, replaces, services, or responds to alarm systems at a protected premises or premise to be protected on an emergency basis.
The Private Detective Private Alarm, Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act of 2004 (225 IL. Compiled Statutes 447/5-3 - 447/99-5, Inclusive); 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1240License66121
Have a minimum of three (3) years experience out of the five (5) years immediately preceding application as a full-time manager for licensed private alarm contractor or meet Division of Professional Regulation standards.
Private Alarm Contractor Exam. Exam given by the Continental Testing Service, Inc.WrittenMarch and September$288.4070%No requirementMust not have acted or advertised as a private alarm contractor, or private security contractor without a license;Be of good moral character;Have not been convicted of a felony in the last 10 years;Have not been declared incompetent by any court by reasonLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$500.00 by examination$500.00 by endorsement$50.00 Plus all lapsed renewal fees (if lapsed less than 6 years). Restoration (if lapsed more than 6 years) and may have to pass the exam, plus pay all lapsed renewal feesThree yearsYes, endorsement.Submit certification of licensure from the state in which applicant presently practices;Proof of approved education requirements;Requirements for registration in state of original licensure were at that time substantially equivalent to th
223PP#
  
Private DetectiveIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who engages in a business or accepts employment to furnish, or agrees to make or makes investigations with reference to such acts as:<ol class='decimal'><li>crimes or wrongs done or threats against the United States or any state or U.S. territory;</li><li>the location, disposition or recovery of lost or stolen property;</li><li>securing evidence to be used before any court, board, officer or investigating committee;</li><li>personal protection of individuals from bodily harm or death.</li></ol>
The Private Detective Private Alarm and Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act of 2004 225 ILCS 447/5-3 - 447/99-5, Inclusive, 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1240License98321
Have a minimum of three (3) years experience out of the five (5) years immediately preceding application as a full-time investigator for a licensed private detective agency or meet Department of Professional Regulation standards; or,Baccalaureate degree in police science or a related field or business from an accredited college or university plus one (1) year of experience in the areas mentioned; or,Associate's degree in police science or a related field or business plus two years of experience.
Private Detective Examination. Exam given by the Continental Testing Service, Inc.WrittenMarch and September$288.4070%No requirementMust not have acted or advertised as a private detective, or private security contractor without a license;Be of good moral character;Have not been convicted of a felony in the last 10 years;Have not been declared incompetent by any court by reason of menLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$500.00 by endorsement$50.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees (if lapsed less than 6 years). Restoration (if lapsed more than 6 years) plus lapsed renewal fees and may have to pass exam.Three yearsYes, endorsement.Submit certification of licensure from the state in which applicant presently practices;Proof of approved education requirements;Requirements for registration in state of original licensure were at that time substantially equivalent to th
224PP#
  
Private Security ContractorIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual engaged in the business of providing a private guard, watchman, security or patrol service on a contractual basis for another person, firm association or corporation. A private security contractor performs one or more of the following functions:<ol class='decimal'><li>prevention or detection of intrusion, entry, theft, vandalism abuse, fire or trespass on property;</li><li>protection, observation or detection of any unauthorized activity on property;</li><li>protection of patrons and persons lawfully authorized to be on premises;</li><li>prevention of misappropriation of concealment of goods, money, bonds, etc.;</li><li>control or regulate the flow or movement of public during specific times to assure protection of property;</li><li>protection of individual from bodily harm or death.</li></ol>
The Private Detective Private Alarm and Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act of 2004 225 ILCS 447/5-3 - 447/99-5, Inclusive; 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1240License47721
Have a minimum of three (3) years experience out of the five (5) years immediately preceding application as a full-time manager for a licensed security contractor agency; a manager of a proprietary owned security force employing 30 or more registered personnel; or full-time supervisor in a law enforcement agency; or,Applicants must meet one of the following education and experience requirements: (1) Baccalaureate degree in police science or a related field or business from an accredited college or university plus one year of experience in the areas mentioned. (2) Associate's degree in police science or a related field or business plus two years of experience.
Private Security Contractor Exam.; Exam given by the Continental Testing Service, Inc.WrittenMarch and September$288.4070%No requirementMust not have acted or advertised as a private detective or a private security contractor without a license;Be of good moral character;Have not been convicted of a felony in the past 10 years;Have not been declared incompetent by any court by reason of meLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$500.00 by examination; $500.00 by endorsement$50.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees (if lapsed less than 6 years); Restoration (if lapsed more than 6 years) plus all lapsed renewal fees and may have to pass examThree yearsYes, endorsement.Submit certification of licensure from the state in which applicant presently practices;Proof of approved education requirements;Successful completion of an exam by submitting certification of licensure from state of original licensure;Re
225PP#
  
Processed Wild Game Food DealerDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3423www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual engaged in the buying, selling or processing of wild game.
ILCS ch. 520, par 5/3.24 Illinois Conservation Law - WildlifeLicense133No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementIllinois resident for 30 daysLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00One year (April 1 - March 31)No
226PP#
  
Professional CounselorIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person who provides services to individuals, couples, groups, families, and organizations in any one or more of the fields of professional counseling.
The Professional Counselor and Clinical Professional Counselor Licensing Act (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 1996 107/1 - 107/107, InclusiveLicense2,586No requirement
Must meet one of the following requirements:Graduate from an approved bachelor's degree program in human services and verification of five (5) years of satisfactory supervised experience, subsequent to the degree, as set forth in Section 1735.40 of the rules;Graduate from an approved master's degree program in counseling, rehabilitation counseling or clinical psychology.
The National Counselor Examination (NCE). Given by the Continental Testing Service, Inc.; Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination of the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (CRCC); or National Clinical Mental Health Counselor ExamiComputerizedAny time based on candidate's request$137.80 - NCENational ExamYes30 hours required during a pre-renewal period - effective March 1999.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$150.00 by examination and acceptance of examination$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo years (All licenses expire on March 31 of each odd numbered year.)Yes.Must show proof of approved educational requirements;Must show proof of successful completion of the NBCC exam;Must submit verification of completion of five (5) years of satisfactory supervised professional experience subsequent to receipt of the bac
227PP#
  
Professional Counselor, ClinicalIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person who provides professional counseling and mental health services, which includes, but is not limited to, the application of clinical counseling theory and techniques to prevent and alleviate mental and emotional disorders and psychopathology and to promote optimal mental health, rehabilitation, treatment, relationship to assist individuals, couples, families, groups, and organizations to alleviate emotional disorders, to understand conscious and unconscious motivation, to resolve emotional, relationship, and attitudinal conflicts, and to modify behaviors that interfere with effective, emotional, social, adaptive, and intellectual functioning.
The Professional Counselor and Clinical Professional Counselor Licensing Act (225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 1996 107/1 - 107/107, Inclusive)License5,520No requirement
Must meet one of the following requirements:Graduate from an approved master's degree program in counseling, rehabilitation counseling or clinical psychology and verification of completion of two (2) years of satisfactory supervised experience, subsequent to the degree, set forth in Section 1375.130 of the rules;Graduate from an approved doctorate degree program in counseling, rehabilitation counseling or clinical psychology and verification of completion of two (2) years of satisfactory supervised experience, one (1) year of which must be subsequent to the degree, as set forth in Section 1375.130 of the rules.
National Counselor Examination (NCE);National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination (NCMHCE). Given by the Continental Testing Service, Inc. or Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination of the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor CertificatiComputerizedAny time based on candidate's request.$137.80 - NCE; $137.80 - NCMHCE; $199.60 - both examsNational ExamYes30 hours required during a pre-renewal period - effective March 1999.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$150.00 by examination and acceptance of examination $200.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo years (All licenses expire on March 31 of each odd numbered year.)Yes.Must show proof of approved educational requirements;Must show proof of successful completion of the NBCC exam;Must submit verification of completion of five (5) years of satisfactory supervised professional experience subsequent to receipt of the bac
228PP#
  
Psychologist, ClinicalIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who provides the independent evaluation, classification and treatment of mental, emotional, behavioral or nervous disorders or conditions, disorders of habit or conduct, and the psychological aspects of physical illness. The practice of clinical psychology includes psychoeducational evaluation, therapy, remediation and consultation, the use of psychological and neuropsychological testing, assessment, psychotherapy, psychoanalysis, hypnosis, biofeedback, and behavioral modification when any of these are used for the purpose of preventing or eliminating psychopathology, or for the amelioration of psychological disorders of individuals or groups.
Clinical Psychologist Licensing Act 225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 1996 68 Ill. Adm. Cod 1400License4,44821
Must meet one of the following:A graduate of a doctoral program in clinical, school or counseling psychology accredited by the American Psychological Association/Council for the National Register of Health Service Providers; two (2) years of supervised clinical or counseling psychology experience, at least one (1) of which is an internship and one of which is postdoctoral;A graduate of a doctoral program which is equivalent to a clinical school or counseling psychology program; two (2) years of supervised clinical school or counseling experience at least one (1) of which is an internship and one of which is postdoctoral;A graduate of a doctoral psychology program or a doctoral program which is psychological in nature and complete a practicum internship or clinical experience; two (2) years of supervised clinical counseling psychology experience at least one (1) of which is postdoctoral;Until December 31, 1995, an individual who prior to December 31, 1988 received a doctorate degree in clinical or counseling psychology from a psychology program approved by the Department of Professional Regulation under the Psychologist Registration Act and has completed an appropriate practicum, an internship, or equivalent supervised clinical experience in an organized health care setting and two (2) years of satisfactory supervised clinical or counseling psychology experience, one (1) of which is postdoctoral or who on December 31, 1988, was enrolled in such a program and holds a doctorate degree from an approved program, has completed all other required practicum/internship and experience may apply for licensure.
Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology. Exam given by the Continental Testing Service, Inc.; 547 South LaGrange Road; LaGrange, IL 60525; (708) 354-9911.ComputerizedUnknownUnknownSet by testing entityNo requirementNo requirementMust not be engaged or have been engaged in conduct or activities which would constitute grounds for discipline under Section 15 of the Act.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00 by examination; $100.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo yearsShow proof of licensure from jurisdiction of original licensure and other jurisdiction in which applicant is or has been licensed.Proof of graduation from an approved psychology program. Must submit professional experience references verifying the length,
229PP#
  
Race Track EmployeeRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
Any group of people employed by the organization licensee whose duties relate to the actual running of the races in the following categories: valet, assistant starters, charter, jockey room masseurs, track physicians, nurse and/or paramedics, jockey room custodian, kitchen help and persons who perform professional services, such as clergy, dentists, social workers, counselors, and substance abuse counselors.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License9416
Stewards shall approve or disapprove the nominees based on the nominee's experience, if any, as a racing official and his/her qualifications for the position.
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$47.00 (No license fee, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
230RR#
  
Racing OfficialRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
A person whose duty relates to the actual running of the race. Employed by the organization licensee. Approved by the board after being hired by track management.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License12916
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.The individual is required to provide the following information: name, address, telephone number, date of birth, social security number, names of previous employers, phone numbers of previous employers, educational requirement.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
231RR#
  
Radiation TherapistEmergency Management Agency217.785.9900www.iema.illinois.gov
A person, other than a licensed practitioner, who performs procedures and applies ionizing radiation emitted from X-ray machines, particle accelerators, or sealed radioactive sources to human beings for therapeutic purposes while under the supervision of a licensed practitioner.
32 Ill. Adm. Code 401Accreditation753No requirement
Temporary accreditation requires completion of an approved educational program. Active accreditation requires passing an approved exam.
Exam given by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists.Computer-based multiple choiceBy appointment$150.00 ($200 after 12/31/09)75% scaledThreeYes, 12 contact hours per yearNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$120.00Two yearsNo
232RR#
  
Radiographer, IndustrialEmergency Management Agency217.785.9900www.iema.illinois.gov
An individual who uses radioactive materials, or radiation producing machines to perform examination of macroscopic structures in fabricated materials or processes.
32 Ill. Adm. Part 405Certification1,272No requirement
Certified industrial radiographer trainee requires completion of an approved training program.
Certified Industrial Radiographer State Exam. Exam given by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency.WrittenMonthly$100.0070%No limitationsNo requirementNo requirement$100.00 certification feeFive yearsYes, with other states who use the equivalent examination process and standards.
233RR#
  
Radiographer, MedicalEmergency Management Agency217.785.9900www.iema.illinois.gov
A person, other than a licensed practitioner, who, while under the supervision of a licensed practitioner, applies X-radiation to any part of the human body and who, in conjunction with radiation studies, may administer contrast agents and related drugs for diagnostic purposes.
32 Ill. Adm. Code 401Accreditation11,464No requirement
Temporary accreditation requires completion of an approved educational program. Active accreditation requires passing an approved exam.
Exam given by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists.Computer-based multiple choiceBy appointment$150.00 ($200 after 12/31/09)75% scaledThree timesYes, 12 contact hours per yearNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$120.00Two yearsNo
234RR#
  
Radiographer, Medical (Limited)Emergency Management Agency217.785.9900www.iema.illinois.gov
A person, other than a licensed practitioner, who, while under the supervision of a licensed practitioner, applies X-radiation to limited parts of the human body for diagnostic purposes. The categories of limited accreditation are: chest, extremities, spine, skull and sinuses.
32 Ill. Adm. Code 401Accreditation325No requirement
None required
Exam given by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists.Computer-based multiple choiceBy appointment$100.0065% for any combination of sections of the examNo limitationsYes, six contact hours per yearNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$120.00Two yearsNo
235RR#
  
Radon Measurement ProfessionalEmergency Management Agency217.785.9900www.iema.illinois.gov
Persons or individuals who perform services to detect the presence of radon or radon progeny.
Radon Industry Licensing Act 32 Illinois Administrative Code 422License136Must be at least 18 years of age.
Course approved by the agency and relevant work experience that meets one of the following requirements:At least four years of radiological safety, environmental sampling, or industrial hygiene experience;Documented work history approved by the agency demonstrating completion of 50 radon measurements; or,No experience. A six-month probationary period performance audit will be performed by the agency.
License examination approved by the agencyWrittenBy agencyNone70%UnlimitedSix hours every year, approved by the agency. All six hours must be Category I (courses with exams).No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$125.00Five yearsAgency approved courses
236RR#
  
Radon Measurement TechnicianEmergency Management Agency217.785.9900www.iema.illinois.gov
Persons or individuals who perform services to detect the presence of radon or radon progeny.
Radon Industry Licensing Act 32 Illinois Administrative Code 422License128Must be at least 18 years of age.
Illinois-specific qualification course approved by the agency
License examination approved by the agencyWrittenBy agencyNone70%UnlimitedSix hours every year, approved by the agency. All six hours must be Category I (courses with exams).No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$125.00Five yearsAgency approved courses
237RR#
  
Radon Mitigation ProfessionalEmergency Management Agency217.785.9900www.iema.illinois.gov
Persons or individuals who perform services to detect the presence of radon or radon progeny.
Radon Industry Licensing Act 32 Illinois Administrative Code 422License58Must be at least 18 years of age.
Course approved by the agency and relevant work experience and education that meets one of the following requirements:At least four years of design and construction of buildings, or&nbsp;associated heating, ventilation and air conditioning systems, or closely related activities approved by the agency; or,Documented work history approved by the agency demonstrating completion of 50 radon mitigation installations.
License examination approved by the agencyWrittenBy agencyNone70%UnlimitedSix hours every year, approved by the agency. All six hours must be Category I (courses with exams).No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$125.00Five yearsAgency approved courses
238RR#
  
Radon Mitigation TechnicianEmergency Management Agency217.785.9900www.iema.illinois.gov
Persons or individuals who perform services to detect the presence of radon or radon progeny.
Radon Industry Licensing Act 32 Illinois Administrative Code 422License31Must be at least 18 years of age.
Course approved by the agency
License examination approved by the agencyWrittenBy agencyNone70%UnlimitedSix hours every year, approved by the agency. All six hours must be Category I (courses with exams).No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$125.00Five yearsAgency approved courses
239RR#
  
Real Estate AgentIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.785.3414www.idfpr.com
An individual who is licensed to represent a buyer or seller in a real-estate transaction in exchange for a commission.
Real Estate License Act of 2000 and Rules for the Administration of the Real Estate License Act of 2000License45,00021
45 hours of instruction in approved courses, and a minimum of 15 of these hours must be in the areas of Article 15 of the Act (agency), disclosure and environmental issues, or any other current topic as determined by the Education Advisory Council.
YesWrittenDivision of Professional Regulation$46.0075% or betterCan repeat three times, but after third failure must repeat the education requirementMust complete 12 hours of continuing education every two yearsN/AApplication fee and license fee are the same thing$125Two yearsNo
240RR#
  
Real Estate BrokerIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.785.3414www.idfpr.com
An individual who is licensed to represent a buyer or seller in a real-estate transaction in exchange for a commission.
Real Estate License Act of 2000 and Rules for the Administration of the Real Estate License Act of 2000License26,00021
Broker license for a person who does not already have a salesperson license requires 120 hours of instruction in approved courses, 45 of which shall be those hours required to obtain a salesperson license, plus at least 45 hours of mandatory courses as outlined in Section 1450.60 of the Rules. Broker license for a person who does already have a salesperson license requires 75 hours of instruction in approved courses (not including the 45 hours required to obtain the salesperson license).
YesWrittenDivision of Professional Regulation$46.0075% or betterCan repeat three times, but after third failure must repeat the education requirementMust complete 18 hours of continuing education every two yearsN/AApplication fee and license fee are the same thing$125Two yearsNo
241RR#
  
RebuilderSecretary of State217.782.7817www.sos.state.il.us
Any person in the business of returning a vehicle, for which a salvage certificate has been previously issued, back to its original or operating condition.
625 ILCS 5/5 - 301License1,508No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00, $2.00 ID badgeOne year (January 1 - December 31)No
242RR#
  
Registered Agency EmployeeIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual employed in an unarmed capacity by a private detective agency, private security contractor agency, private alarm contractor agency or locksmith agency. EXEMPTION: A person employed as an unarmed security guard at a nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site or facility regulated by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission who has completed the background screening and training mandated by the rules and regulation of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission is exempt from registration for a Permanent Employee Registration Card as of January 1, 2000. NOTICE: If you possess a valid detective, security contractor, alarm contractor, or locksmith license then a PERC is not required to work for a licensed agency.
The Private Detective, Private Alarm, Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act of 2004 (225 ILCS 447/5-3 - 447/99-5, Inclusive); 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1240Registration50,623<ol class='lowerAlpha'><li>18 years of age if an unarmed employee.</li><li>21 years of age if an armed employee.</li></ol>
Have completed, within 30 days of employment, a 20-hour Basic Training Course;Armed employees are required to complete an additional 20-hour Firearm Training Course before armed employment begins and possess a firearm control card.
No exam requiredNo requirementMust not have been declared incompetent by any court by reason of mental, physical defect or disease.Must be livescan printed for ISP and FBI using vendor designated by ISP.Have been honorably discharged from the U.S. Armed Services, if applicable.Must noLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$55.00Three yearsNo
243RR#
  
Registered ServicepersonDepartment of Agriculture217.785.8301www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who sells, installs, services, reconditions and/or repairs weighing or measuring devices used in trade or commerce.
Ill. Weights and Measures Act, 225 ILCS 470Registration1,025No requirement
No requirement
WrittenGiven upon request at the Springfield officeNone70% or betterNo limitsNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00One yearNo
244RR#
  
Remittance AgentSecretary of State217.782.7817www.sos.state.il.us
Any person who holds themself out to the public as being engaged in, or who engages in, accepting money for remittance to the State of Illinois or any of its instrumentalities or political subdivisions or to any of their officials for the payment of vehicle taxes or vehicle license or registration fees.
625 ILCS 5/3 - 900License980No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00One year (January 1 - December 31)No
245RR#
  
Rental Boat Owner/OperatorDepartment of Natural Resources217.785.3429www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person engaged in the renting of boats for hire must obtain a rental license.
Article VII of ch. 625 of the ILCSLicense65No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00 - $38.00 (depending on boat length)One year (March 1 - April 30)No
246RR#
  
RepairerSecretary of State217.782.7817www.sos.state.il.us
Any person in the business of returning a vehicle, other than a vehicle for which a salvage certificate has been issued, back to its original or operating condition by restoring, mending, straightening, replacing, altering, or painting its essential parts.
625 ILCS 5/5 - 301License2,721No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00, $2.00 ID badgeOne year (January 1 - December 31)No
247RR#
  
Respiratory Care PractitionerIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who is engaged in the practice of cardiorespiratory care, with the training and skill to administer such care. Capable of giving information to a licensed physician on technical aspects of safe and effective administration of cardiorespiratory care. Capable of working with patients in unsupervised situations that require great judgment. Must also be capable of supervising, directing, or teaching unskilled personnel in proper administration of cardiorespiratory care.
The Respiratory Care Practice Act, 225 ILCS 2002, 106/1 - 106/185, InclusiveLicense5,93518
Verification of successful completion of approved respiratory therapy program.
National Board of Respiratory Care, Inc., Executive Office; 18000 W. 105th Street, Olathe, Kansas 66061-7543, 888.341.4811Written/clinical simulationDaily basis (except major holidays) via computer testing sites throughout the U.S.$250.00 - certified respiratory therapist, $390.00 - registered respiratory therapistPass/fail standard as set by the National Board for Respiratory CareYes, unlimited24 hours of approved continuing education every renewal periodNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00 initial application, $50.00 per year-temporary license$20.00 plus all lapsed fees if expired under five years, Restoration is $300.00 if expired over five years.Two years (All licenses expire October 31 of odd numbered years.)Yes.Submit certification of licensure from all jurisdictions in which the applicant is licensed to practice;Complete work history;Verification of education;Proof of passage of the Registered Therapist Examination of the National Board of Respiratory Care
248RR#
  
Roofing ContractorIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual whose services are unlimited in the roofing trade and who has experience, knowledge and skill to construct, reconstruct, alter, maintain and repair roofs in a manner that complies with all plans, specifications, and applicable codes, laws and regulations.
225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 335/1 - 335/12, Inclusive 68 IL Adm. Code Part 1460License3,205No requirement
Must provide proof of:Acceptable limits of insurance coverage as specified in the Rule;Worker's Compensation Insurance covering employees or Certificate of Approval as a Self Insurer. (If an out-of-state applicant, worker's compensation must have 'All-State's Endorsement' clause or indicate claims from injuries in Illinois covered by Illinois benefits schedule.)
Exam required for the qualifying party<ol class='lowerAlpha'><li>Residential;</li><li>Commercial and Industrial;</li><li>Residential, Commercial and Industrial.</li></ol>Roofing Contractor Exam administered by Continental Testing Services.$216.3070%No requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$125.00$20.00 plus payment of all lapsed renewal fees, not to exceed $250.00Two yearsNo
249RR#
  
School AdministratorState Board of Education217.557.6763www.isbe.net
An individual who serves as a principal of a school or administrator, business official, director of special education or superintendent of a district in grades K-12 in public school programs.
Section 5/21-7.1, 5/21-5d of the School Code/23 Ill. Adm. Code 25.313, 25.314, 25.315, 25.335, 25.345, and 25.360Certification7,40319
Master's degree (superintendent requires MA degree plus 30 semester hours beyond);Completion of an approved program in one of the four (4) administrative areas in a recognized institution of higher education.
Illinois Certification Testing System: basic skills and content-area testsWrittenSeven times per year$60.00 per test and $26.00 registration feeScore of 240 or higher for basic skills and content-areaUnlimitedYes. Those serving as active administrators must participate annually in the local district Administrator Continuing Professional Education Plan to keep their certificate valid.Must be a U.S. citizen or have filed a Declaration of Intent to become a citizen and be legally present and employable.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00Five years (must be renewed every five years)Yes. Out-of-state certification will be acceptable toward issuance of a provisional administrative certificate allowing a person time to take the Illinois exams and complete any necessary coursework.
250SS#
  
School Service PersonnelState Board of Education217.557.6763www.isbe.net
An individual who provides school social work, school nurse, school counselor or school psychologist services to children in K-12 in public school programs.
Section 21-25 of the School Code/23 IL. Adm. Code 25.210, 25.220, 25.230, and 25.240Certification11,96519
Master's degree (school nurse requires a B.S. degree);Completion of an approved program in one of the four school services personnel areas in a recognized institution of higher education.
Illinois Certification Testing System: basic skills and subject matter knowledge testsWrittenwww.icts.nesinc.comBased upon scale 0-300, passing 240 or aboveNo requirementMust be a U.S. citizen or have filed a Declaration of Intent to become a citizen.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00Five years (must be renewed every five years)Yes. Out-of-state certification will be acceptable toward issuance of a provisional administrative certificate allowing a person time to take the Illinois exams and complete any necessary coursework.
251SS#
  
School-Age Worker (Day Care Center)Department of Children and Family Services217.785.2688www.state.il.us/dcfs
An individual responsible for planning and supervision of a group of school-age children and any additional staff assigned to assist with the group of children.
Rule 407: Licensing Standards for Day Care CentersApproval of employment at a licensed facility.Unknown at this time19
A high school diploma or equivalency certificate;Must meet one of following requirements:Thirty semester hours of credits from an accredited college or university with six semester or equivalent quarter hours in courses related to school-age childcare, child care, child development, elementary education, physical education, camping, recreation or related fields.1,560 clock hours of experience in a related to school-age child care, child development, elementaryrecreational program or licensed day care center serving school-age children or a license-exempt school-age program operated by a public or private school and six semester hours of credit from an accredited college or university education, physical education, recreation, camping or other related fields.A high school diploma or equivalency certificate plus 3,120 clock hours of experience in a recreational program, kindergarten, or licensed day care center serving school-age children or a license-exempt school-age child care program operated by a public or private school.
No exam requiredIn-service training, 15 clock hours per yearNo requirementReview of qualifications/transcripts and history of employmentLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No
252SS#
  
Scrap ProcessorSecretary of State217.782.7817www.sos.state.il.us
Any person in the business of purchasing a vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl for processing into a form other than a vehicle, junk vehicle or vehicle cowl for remelting purposes only. Utilizes machinery and equipment for processing or manufacturing ferrous or nonferrous metallic scrap into prepared grades.
625 ILCS 5/5 - 301License20No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00, $2.00 ID badgeOne year (January 1 - December 31)No
253SS#
  
Securities DealerSecretary of State217.785.4929www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/securities/home.html
Any person who engages either directly or indirectly as an agent, broker or principal in the business of offering, selling, buying and selling or otherwise dealing or trading in securities.
Ill. Securities Law of 1953 (815 ILCS 5/1)Registration2,55018
Understanding of laws and regulations of the Securities and Exchange Commission, Financial Industry Regulatory Authority and the securities laws and rules of each state where registered.
Series 24 - General Securities Principal Examination; and,Series 63 - Uniform Securities Agent State Law Examination.ComputerExams administered thru Pearson Professional Centers and Prometric Testing Centers. Hours may vary.Series 24-$105.00, Series 63-$96.0070%Three timesNo requirementNo requirementThe entity must meet minimum net capital requirements and have an exam-qualified principal.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$600.00Calendar yearNo
254SS#
  
Securities SalespersonSecretary of State217.782.2256www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/securities/home.html
An individual employed by a dealer or issuer to offer, purchase or sell securities. A securities salesperson must be registered with the Secretary of State before he or she may offer, purchase or sell securities on behalf of a securities dealer, issuer or controlling person.
Illinois Securities Law of 1953 (815 ILCS 5/8)Registration162,00018
No requirement
Series 63, Series 66, and Series 7 or other authorized exam depending on the type of securities activity to be conducted.ComputerExams administered thru Pearson Professional Centers and Prometric Testing Centers. Hours may vary.Series 63-$96.00, Series 66-$128.00, Series 7-$265.0070%Three timesNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$150.00Calendar yearNo
255SS#
  
Seed BrokerDepartment of Agriculture217.782.3817www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who, for a commission or other compensation, is engaged in selling or negotiating the sale of agricultural, vegetable and/or lawn seed belonging to others for resale.
Illinois Seed Law, 505 ILCS 110Permit11No requirement
No requirement
No requirementNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00One year (July - June fiscal year)No
256SS#
  
Seed Dealer, RetailDepartment of Agriculture217.782.3817www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who sells agricultural, vegetable and/or lawn seed to consumers.
Illinois Seed Law, 505 ILCS 110Permit842No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$10.00One year (July - June fiscal year)No
257SS#
  
Seed Dealer, WholesaleDepartment of Agriculture217.782.3817www.agr.state.il.us
A person who sells agricultural, vegetable, and/or lawn seed for resale.
Illinois Seed Law, 505 ILCS 110Permit127No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$30.00One year (July - June fiscal year)No
258SS#
  
Seed MerchantDepartment of Agriculture217.782.3817www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who is a wholesale/retail seed dealer. Buys agricultural, vegetable and/or lawn seed from producers. Re-labels and repackages seed and sells to retail establishment and consumers.
Illinois Seed Law, 505 ILCS 110Permit235No requirement
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$40.00One year (July - June fiscal year)No
259SS#
  
Sewage Disposal System Pumping Contractor, PrivateDepartment of Public Health217.782.5830www.agr.state.il.us
An individual who pumps, hauls and disposes of septage from private sewage disposal systems.
Private Sewage Disposal Licensing Act, 225 ILCS 225; Private Sewage Disposal Code 77 Ill. Adm. Code 905License717No requirement
Knowledge of the Private Sewage Disposal Code and IEPA's Guide to the EPA 503 Rule
Private Sewage Disposal Plumping Contractor ExaminationWrittenUsually monthly or at least twice per year$25.0070%No restrictionsNo requirementNo requirementLicensed Illinois Plumbers are exempt from the license/renewal fee. Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00$50.00$20.00One yearNo
260SS#
  
Sewage System Installation Contractor, PrivateDepartment of Public Health217.782.5830www.idph.state.il.us
An individual who designs, installs, operates, maintains, repairs and services private sewage disposal systems.
Private Sewage Disposal Licensing Act, 225 ILCS 225; Private Sewage Disposal Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 905License1,840No requirement
Knowledge of the Private Sewage Disposal Code
Private Sewage Disposal Installation Contractor ExaminationWrittenUsually monthly or at least twice per year$25.0070%No restrictionsNo requirementNo requirementLicensed Illinois plumbers are exempt from the license/renewal fee. Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00$50.00$20.00One yearNo
261SS#
  
Shaft and Slope ExaminerDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual who examines and inspects the initial construction or major construction of shaft and slope mine work pertaining to the health and safety of shaft and slope workers. Responsible for the varied on-shift and pre-shift inspections.
62 Ill. Adm. Code 220.190(w)CertificationMust be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.
Two years of shaft and slope underground construction experience;One year of credits toward a degree in civil or mining engineering;Completed first aid course.
Shaft and Slope ExaminerWritten/oralEvery 6 monthsNone75%6 monthsNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No expirationNo. A temporary certificate will be issued to any individual who documents two years of surface mining experience. The applicant must be approved by the resident state mine inspector and must successfully pass an examination administered by the Office of
262SS#
  
Shaft and Slope SupervisorDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us\
An individual who supervises the construction work activities during initial or major shaft and slope mine construction. Must be present in shaft and slope work areas at all times when work is in progress.
62 Ill. Adm. Code 220.190(y)CertificationMust be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.
Three years of practical underground experience in shaft and slope underground construction;Degree in civil or mining engineering and 18 months experience in shaft, slope and underground construction;Completed a course in first aid;Certificate of competency as a shaft and slope examiner.
Shaft and Slope SupervisorWritten/oralEvery 6 monthsNone75%6 monthsNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No expirationNo. A temporary certificate will be issued to any individual who documents two years of surface mining experience. The applicant must be approved by the resident state mine inspector and must successfully pass an examination administered by the Office of
263SS#
  
Shaft and Slope WorkerDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
An individual who is involved with initial or major shaft and slope work during mine construction.
62 Ill. Adm. Code 220.190(v)CertificationMust be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.
Six months of experience working in shaft and slope construction;Completed a course in first aid and modified mine rescue methods;Appear before Miner's Examining Board and be orally examined as to their competency and qualifications.
Shaft and Slope WorkerWritten/oralEvery monthNone ($2.00 charge for duplicate shaft and slope worker certificate)75%MonthlyNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No expirationNo. A temporary certificate will be issued to any individual who documents two years of surface mining experience. The applicant must be approved by the resident state mine inspector and must successfully pass an examination administered by the Office of
264SS#
  
Shorthand Reporter, CertifiedIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who provides reporting services by means of manual or mechanical shorthand writing of grand jury, court or court-related proceedings in pre-trial examinations, examination, depositions, motions and related proceedings of like character or in proceedings of an administrative agency that is subject to judicial review.
225 Illinois Complied Statutes 415/5 - 415/28, Inclusive 682 Adm. Cod Part 1200License2,038No requirement
High school diploma or equivalent
Shorthand Reporter Examination. Exam given by the Continental Testing Services, Inc. An applicant who submits an official copy of a Registered Merit Reporter Certificate or a Registered Professional Reporter Certificate by examination issued by the NationWritten/performance (hands-on)April, August, December$211.1575%Yes. Second and third retakes shall cover only those portions where a score of 75% was not achieved. The fourth examination retakes will cover the entire examination and shall be considered to be the same as the first.10 hoursNoneLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$25.00 by examination; $75.00 by endorsement$10.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $150.00Two yearsYes.Proof of current licensure from the state in which applicant presently practices;Proof of high school graduation or its equivalent;Proof of successful completion of an examination from the state of original licensure;May be required to appear for an o
265SS#
  
Shorthand Reporter, Restricted (Limited)IDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who is licensed, upon the written request of the Director of the Administrative Offices of the Illinois Courts, and appointed, in counties of less than 100,000 people, to engage in reporting only those court proceedings to which he/she may be assigned by the chief judge of his/her circuit.
225 Illinois Complied Statutes 415/1 - 415/28, Inclusive 68IL Adm. Code Part 1200License13No requirement
High school diploma or equivalent;Proof of achieving an 'A' proficiency rating from the exam issued under the Court Reporters Act.
No exam requiredProficiencyThe Chief Circuit Judge must submit a written request for a restricted certificate to the Court Reporting Services, 325 West Adams Street, Room 140, Springfield, IL 62704. Enclose the four page application, supplemental documents and fee.No requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$35.00 non-examinationTwo yearsNo
266SS#
  
Social WorkerIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person who is engaged in social services to individuals, social group work, community organizations for social welfare, social work research, social welfare administration or social work education.
The Clinical Social Work and Social Work Practice Act (225 ILCS 1996 20/1 - 20/37, Inclusive); 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1470License3,865No requirement
Graduate from an approved master's degree program of social work; or,Graduate from an approved baccalaureate degree program of social work, and verification of three (3) years of supervised professional experience subsequent to receipt of the degree.
American Association of the State Social Work Boards (AASSWB) Exam - Intermediate Exam. Given by the Assessment Systems, Inc.; 718 Arch Street; Philadelphia, PA 19106; (215) 592-8900.ComputerizedAny time based on candidate's request$110.00Scaled scoreYes30 hours of continuing education required during the pre-renewal period - effective November 1993.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00 by acceptance of examination; $200.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $110.00 if less than five years; $200.00 if lapsed more than five yearsTwo years (All licenses expire on November 30 of each odd numbered year.)Yes.Applicants must show proof of approved educational requirements and successful completion of the AASSWB exam;Those with a baccalaureate degree must submit verification of completion of three (3) years of supervised experience subsequent to receipt of
267SS#
  
Social Worker, ClinicalIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
A person who provides mental health services for the evaluation, treatment, and prevention of mental and emotional disorders in individuals, families and groups based on knowledge and theory of psychosocial development, behavior psychopathology, unconscious motivation, interpersonal relationships, and environmental stress. Treatment includes individual, marital, family and group psychotherapy.
The Clinical Social Work and Social Work Practice Act (225 ILCS 1996 20/1 - 20/37, Inclusive); 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1470License10,318No requirement
a. Graduate from an approved master's degree program of social work and verification of completion of 3,000 hours of satisfactory supervised clinical professional experience as set forth in Section 1470 of the rules; or, b. Graduate from an approved doctorate degree program in social work and verification of completion of 2,000 hours of satisfactory supervised clinical professional experience as set forth by the rules.
Association of the Social Work Boards (ASWB) Exam - Clinical Exam. Given by the ASWB Registration Center; P.O. Box 1508; Culpepper, VA 22701.ComputerizedAny time based on candidate's request$110.00Scaled score30 hours of continuing education required during pre-renewal period - effective November 1993.No requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$50.00 by acceptance of examination; $200.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal fees if less than five years, not to exceed $110.00. If lapsed more than five years there is a $200.00 fee.Two years (All licenses expire on November 30 of each odd numbered year.)Yes. a. Must show proof of approved education requirements; b. Must show proof of successful completion of the AASSWB exam; c. Must submit verification of completion of 3,000 hours of satisfactory supervised clinical professional experience subsequent to
268SS#
  
Solid Waste Site Operator (Class A , Class B and Special Waste Endorsement)Environmental Protection Agency217.785.9407www.epa.state.il.us
An individual who is on the operational staff of a landfill, involved in the operation and maintenance of a non-hazardous sanitary landfill.
P.A. 86-1386/68 Ill. Adm. Code 870Certification90418
Statute requires a combination of 'study, training, and landfill experience';Class A - two years of landfill experience with high school or equivalent or 15 years of experience with grammar school;Class B - six months of experience with high school or 5 years of experience with grammar school.
Landfill Operator Certification ExamWrittenQuarterly$400.00 - Class A, $200.00 - Class B, $100.00 - Special Waste Endorsement70%Three times in three yearsNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$100.00See examination feesThree yearsNo
269SS#
  
Speech-Language PathologistIDFPR - Division of Professional Regulation217.782.8556www.idfpr.com
An individual who is trained to and who engages in speech-language pathology through the application of non-medical methods and procedures for the identification, measurement, testing, appraisal, prediction, habilitation, rehabilitation, and modification related to communication development, disorder, or disabilities of speech language, voice, swallowing, and other speech, language and voice related disorders.
The Illinois Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1991, ch. 111, par. 7901 - 7934) 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1465License6,68521
Have received a master's degree in speech-language pathology from an approved program;Proof of successful completion of the national exam by submitting verification of the National Examination in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (PRAXIS) in the form of original grade results from PRAXIS; or submit a copy of certification from the American Speech-Language Hearing Association;Show proof of the equivalent of nine (9) months of full time supervised professional experience.
National Examination in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (PRAXIS). Given by the Educational Testing Service; P.O. Box 911; Princeton, New Jersey 08541; (609) 771-7395.Written/nationalScore of 60020 hoursNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$90.00 by acceptance of examination; $100.00 by endorsement$20.00 plus all lapsed renewal feesTwo years (All licenses expire October 31 of each odd numbered year.)Yes. In addition to the age, citizenship, education and supervised professional experience requirements, the applicant must show proof of current licensure from the jurisdiction in which the applicant is presently practicing.
270SS#
  
StarterRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
A person whose duty is to get the horses away to a fair start in a race and to keep records of horses handled, by which assistant, and the equipment used if other than an ordinary lead strap. Gives all orders necessary to obtain a fair start.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License516
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$47.00 (No license fee, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
271SS#
  
Starter's Assistant (Assistant Starter)Racing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
A person who keeps records of horses handled, by which assistant, and the equipment used if other than the ordinary lead strap. Assists the starter with getting the horses away to a fair start.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License216
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$47.00 (No license fee, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
272SS#
  
State Mine Inspector (Coal Mine)Department of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
A person who performs technical and safety inspections of coal mines. Enforces compliance with the Coal Mining Act. Advises and discusses health and safety issues with mine operators. Assists mine operators and labor regarding safety matters.
225 ILCS 705/4.01 (The Coal Mining Act)Certification30 (Must be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.)
Ten years practical mining experience of which at least two years have been in the state of Illinois;Must have Mine Manager's Certificate of Competency;Four years of high school or equivalent.
State Mine InspectorWritten/oralEvery 6 monthsNone80%6 monthsNo requirementU.S. citizen and Illinois residentLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Two years (unless actively employed as a state mine inspector)No. A temporary certificate will be issued to any individual who documents two years of surface mining experience. The applicant must be approved by the resident state mine inspector and must successfully pass an examination administered by the Office of
273SS#
  
State Mine Inspector (Metal Mine)Department of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
A person who performs technical and safety inspection of metal/nonmetal mines. Enforces compliance with the 'Laws and Regulations Governing the Operation of Metal Mines'. Advises and discusses health and safety issues with mine operators. Assists mine operators and labor regarding safety matters.
225 ILCS 710/2.01 (Fluorspar and Underground Limestone Act)CertificationUnknown30 (Must be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.)
Resident of the state for at least one year;Practically engaged in metalliferous or mineral mining for a sufficient number of years to be familiar with mining operations above and below ground;Pass an examination.
Metal Mine InspectorWritten and OralEvery 6 monthsNone80%AnnuallyNo requirementU.S. citizen and Illinois residentLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.Two years (unless actively employed as a mine inspector)No. A temporary certificate will be issued to any individual who documents two years of surface mining experience. The applicant must be approved by the resident state mine inspector and must successfully pass an examination administered by the Office of
274SS#
  
StewardRacing Board312.814.2600www.state.il.us/agency/irb
A person who is a judge of all matters of fact with respect to the conduct of a race meeting. Stewards have control over all other officials of the meeting and of all owners, trainers, jockeys, grooms and all other persons attendant on horses. The association steward is a racing official (whose duty relates to the actual running of the race) employed by the organization licensee and approved by the board after being hired by track management.
Section 15 authorized by Sect. 9 (b) of the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975 (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989 ch. 8 par. 37-15 and 37-9 (b))License416
No requirement
No exam requiredNo requirementMust be a United States citizen, a permanent resident alien, or the holder of a temporary or permanent work permit.Licensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.$72.00 ($25.00 license, $45.00 fingerprint fee (FBI/ISP), $2.00 ID badge)One yearNo. An occupation license issued at one race meeting in the State of Illinois shall be valid at any other Illinois race meeting regulated by the board that year.
275SS#
  
Storage Certificate HolderDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.9976www.dnr.state.il.us
Any person who stores explosive materials in Illinois is required to obtain a magazine storage certificate.
225 ILCS 210/2001, 62 Ill. Adm. Code 200 (Illinois Explosives Act)CertificateApproximately 900
(Note: Certificates are usually issued to companies.)Magazine site must comply with the American Table of Distances for Storage of explosive Materials.Magazine must meet construction specifications as indicated in the Act and regulations.The designated magazine keeper must meet the same requirements as an applicant for an explosives license, except that no examination is required.
Certificate requirements are subject to change.One year. (Certificate expires on the last day of February.)None
276SS#
  
Surface Mine SupervisorDepartment of Natural Resources217.782.6791www.dnr.state.il.us
A person who supervises all work activities in the following surface mining areas: overburden, drilling and shooting, pit coal loading and reclamation. This individual is directly responsible for the surface work activities at a coal mine.
225 ILCS 705/38.3 (The Coal Mining Act)CertificationUnknownMust be 18 years old to work in or around any mine area.
Two years of surface mining; and,Written and oral examination in the following four categories: Overburden Stripping, Drilling and Shooting, Pit Coal Loading, and Reclamation with passing grade on each category. Applicant will be certified as surface mine supervisor only in those categories he or she passes.
Surface Mine SupervisorWritten and OralEvery 6 monthsNone75%Every 6 monthsNo requirementU.S. citizenLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.No expirationNo. A temporary certificate will be issued to any individual who documents two years of surface mining experience. The applicant must be approved by the resident state mine inspector and must successfully pass an examination administered by the Office of
277SS#
  
Swimming Pool OperatorDepartment of Public Health217.782.5830www.idph.state.il.us
A person who manages and operates public swimming pools.
Swimming Pool and Bathing Beach Act, 210 ILCS 125; Swimming Pool and Bathing Beach Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 820Certification2,450No requirement
Knowledge of swimming pool and bathing beach code.
Voluntary Swimming Pool Operation ExamWrittenUpon requestNone75%No restrictionsNo requirementNo requirementLicensure requirements, licensure fees, examination fees and exam administration are subject to change.One-time certificationNo
278SS#